Wellness Routines
← Routines
11 sources: 3 meta-analyses, 1 non-randomised trial, 5 randomised controlled trials, 2 with design not recorded
Neuromotor (Balance/Agility/Coordination) · 15–25 min · 2-3x/week, 6+ weeks

Athlete Agility & Neuromuscular Performance

A performance-oriented session blending ladder/cone agility, reactive drills, and landing stabilization for healthy athletes. Warm up fully; emphasize quality of movement over volume.

How often: 2–5 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (6 of 12 sources named by SR10.4 state one) · planning default: 2-3x/week, 6+ weeks · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3 sessions per week (modal prescription)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Agility Ladder: Two Feet In Each
    3 passes
    Warm-up footwork.
    Slot: pre-activity preparation
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states sets, which this step does not carry; the routine's reps is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    39 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Carioca (Grapevine Run)
    2 lengths each way
    Hip mobility and coordination.
    Slot: agility / change of direction
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states sets, which this step does not carry; the routine's reps is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for agility / change of direction that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  3. 3
    Cone T-Drill
    5 reps
    Sharp cuts; full recovery.
    Slot: agility / change of direction
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states sets, which this step does not carry; the routine's reps is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for agility / change of direction that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  4. 4
    Shuttle Run (Line Touches)
    5 x line touches
    Controlled deceleration into turns.
    Slot: agility / change of direction
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states sets, which this step does not carry; the finding states reps, which this step does not carry; the finding states no count for this.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for agility / change of direction that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  5. 5
    Hop-and-Stick (Landing Stabilization)
    6 reps x 2 per leg
    Stick single-leg landings; non-slip ground.
    Slot: reactive / perturbation
    Scaffold: app-designed stepMeets the finding's dose
    10 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for reactive / perturbation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Perturbation training
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Reactive balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Single-Leg Deadlift Reach
    8 reps x 2 per leg
    Proprioceptive control; flat back.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepMeets the finding's dose
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  7. 7
    Reactive Stepping Drill
    8 cued steps x 2
    Add a partner reaction cue.
    Slot: reactive / perturbation
    Scaffold: app-designed stepMeets the finding's dose
    10 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for reactive / perturbation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Perturbation training
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Reactive balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
2 reported by the review's sources22 product safeguard (app-authored)4 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesRelative: individuals with certain health conditions or those not properly evaluated and cleared by a medical professional
    SR10.4 · canon row 3173, contraindications field · Efectividad en programas preventivos de lesiones deportivas músculo esqueléticas en adultos sedentarios que inician actividad física. / Effectiveness in preventive programs of skeletal muscle injuries in sedentary adults who initiate a sports activity. · studied: - Type: Joint mobility exercises, eccentric exercises, proprioceptive training - How: Training plans with a frequency of three to five days per week, low to medium intensity - Where: Various settings, likely requiring access to basic…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Warm up first; progress speed and impact gradually.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Studied in athletes, young adults and older adults; use slower versions for older adults.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for adults who can stand unaided. A recent fall, a balance or vision condition, or a fear of falling changes what is appropriate here and calls for support within reach.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for advanced level. Equipment: agility-ladder, cones, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Reported by the review's sourcesOne adverse event due to dizziness; severity not detailed.
    SR10.4 · canon row 3163, adverse events field · Agility-based exercise training compared to traditional strength and balance training in older adults: a pilot randomized trial · studied: - Type: Agility-based training (AGI) and traditional strength and balance training (TSB) - Equipment/Methods: Modular agility course for AGI; conventional body weight exercises for TSB - Setting: Local gym - Timing: Three sessions per…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Agility Ladder: Two Feet In Each: Fall risk: quick footwork can catch the rungs—keep speed matched to skill; not for those with poor foot clearance.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Carioca (Grapevine Run): Fall risk: crossing feet can trip—learn slowly on flat ground before adding speed.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cone T-Drill: Fall risk: hard cuts stress knees and ankles—warm up thoroughly; not for those with fall risk or joint instability.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Shuttle Run (Line Touches): Fall risk: rapid stops and turns—use flat, non-slip ground; not appropriate for fall-risk populations.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Hop-and-Stick (Landing Stabilization): Fall risk: impact and single-leg landing—use on non-slip flat ground; not for acute joint issues or high fall risk.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Single-Leg Deadlift Reach: Fall risk: hip-hinge on one leg is demanding—stand beside a counter and progress slowly.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Reactive Stepping Drill: Fall risk: rapid stepping under surprise—supervise, clear the area, and stop if fatigued.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Agility Ladder: Two Feet In Each: regress with Walk the pattern slowly; Use floor marks instead of a ladder; Fewer passes and progress with Increase speed; Add a lateral or in-out pattern; Add a reaction cue at the end.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Carioca (Grapevine Run): regress with Slow grapevine walk; Shorter distance; Front-cross only and progress with Increase speed; Exaggerate hip rotation; Add arm drive.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cone T-Drill: regress with Walk/jog the pattern; Smaller T; Fewer reps and progress with Faster efforts; Add a ball catch at cones; React to which side is called.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Shuttle Run (Line Touches): regress with Jog the shuttle; Shorter distance; Fewer touches and progress with Faster efforts; Longer distance; React to a called marker.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Hop-and-Stick (Landing Stabilization): regress with Step instead of hop; Two-foot landing; Shorter hop and progress with Longer/higher hop; Single-leg landing; Land onto a foam pad.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Single-Leg Deadlift Reach: regress with Fingertip support; Kickstand (toe of back foot down); Small range and progress with Reach to a target; Add a light weight; Eyes on the floor.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Reactive Stepping Drill: regress with Anticipated cues; Support within reach; Slower cadence and progress with Random multidirectional cues; From narrow stance; Add a cognitive cue.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you lose balance without support to hand, feel dizzy or lightheaded, or cannot recover a stumble in one step; sit down and rest before continuing.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Joint pain or instability during cutting; recent lower-limb injury
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have fallen in the past year, have a condition affecting balance or vision, or feel unsteady on your feet; do the first sessions with someone present.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Emphasize clean deceleration and landing technique, and progress from planned patterns to reactive cues.
2–3×/week, 15–25 min with full recovery between efforts, ≥6 weeks
The evidence behind this practice doesn't establish a dose-response relationship, so this specific frequency and duration is a reasonable design choice, not a research-backed number.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

Ladder and cone drills train fast, accurate foot placement and change-of-direction control, components of agility that carry over to sport and, in modified forms, to functional mobility. Multimodal agility-like training improves function and mobility.

Key sources
randomised controlled trialBalance Training Enhances Vestibular Function and Reduces Overactive Proprioceptive Feedback in ElderlyI. K. Wiesmeier, Daniela Dalin, A. Wehrle et al. (2017) · Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience · 10.3389/fnagi.2017.00273 · full text
non-randomised trialENHANCING BALANCE AND NEUROMUSCULAR COORDINATION THROUGH AGILITY TRAINING IN YOUNG ADULTSMazahir Zia (2024) · Journal of Population Therapeutics & Clinical Pharmacology · 10.53555/thrrce42 · abstract only
meta-analysisImpact of ageing, fall history and exercise on postural reflexes following unpredictable perturbations: A systematic review and meta-analyses.S. Phu, DL. Sturnieks, S. Lord, Y. Okubo (2022) · Mechanisms of Ageing and Development · 10.1016/j.mad.2022.111634 · abstract only
Each source is shown by its own study design.
11 sources: 3 meta-analyses, 1 non-randomised trial, 5 randomised controlled trials, 2 with design not recorded
Agreement
Direction recorded for 1 of 11 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
Authors
Sources share authors: Eric Lichtenstein (first author of 2 sources); L. Donath (senior author of 2 sources).
How the sources were read
Some sources are based on abstracts, not full texts.
What each source measured and concluded (11)
randomised controlled trial · 2017
Wiesmeier et al. (2017) — Balance Training Enhances Vestibular Function and Reduces Overactive Proprioceptive Feedback in Elderly
What it measured
Postural control (spontaneous sway and postural reactions), TUG, FRT
How it measured it
Laboratory tests (force transducing platform, tilting platform), validated clinical tests (TUG, FRT)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
non-randomised trial · 2024
Zia (2024) — ENHANCING BALANCE AND NEUROMUSCULAR COORDINATION THROUGH AGILITY TRAINING IN YOUNG ADULTS
What it measured
Balance (Stork Stand Balance Test) and neuromuscular coordination (McDonald Soccer Test)
How it was read
based on the abstract, not the full text
meta-analysis · 2022
Phu et al. (2022) — Impact of ageing, fall history and exercise on postural reflexes following unpredictable perturbations: A systematic review and meta-analyses.
What it measured
Muscle onset latency (postural reflexes) following unpredictable perturbations
How it was read
based on the abstract, not the full text
What the review says it includes
Systematic review and meta-analyses
Studies and participants, as stated
N=1257 across 37 articles
randomised controlled trial · 2023
Lichtenstein et al. (2023) — Agility training to integratively promote neuromuscular, cardiorespiratory and cognitive function in healthy older adults: a one-year randomized-controlled trial
What it measured
Neuromuscular, cognitive, and cardiovascular performance measures.
How it measured it
Objective tests for strength, power, balance, gait speed, aerobic capacity, and cognitive performance.
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2021
Morat et al. (2021) — Effects of multimodal agility-like exercise training compared to inactive controls and alternative training on physical performance in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis
What it measured
Physical performance (strength, gait, balance, mobility, endurance).
How it measured it
Standardized mean differences (SMD).
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
Meta-analysis of 20 trials
Studies and participants, as stated
N=1632 participants across 20 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
High study heterogeneity.
Heterogeneity, as stated
Heterogeneous control conditions.
randomised controlled trial · 2019
Lichtenstein et al. (2019) — Agility-based exercise training compared to traditional strength and balance training in older adults: a pilot randomized trial
What it measured
Static and dynamic balance, lower limb and trunk strength and rate of torque development, endurance.
How it measured it
Single leg eyes open stand, Y-balance test, reactive balance, plantar flexion and dorsal extension strength, trunk flexion and extension strength, rate of torque development, six-minute walk test.
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2019
Zouhal et al. (2019) — Effects of Neuromuscular Training on Agility Performance in Elite Soccer Players
What it measured
Agility performance measured by movement time (MT).
How it measured it
Reactive agility test involving 180-degree body rotations followed by a 5-m linear sprint (objective).
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2007
Westlake et al. (2007) — Sensory-Specific Balance Training in Older Adults: Effect on Proprioceptive Reintegration and Cognitive Demands
What it measured
Center-of-pressure (COP) velocity change score after proprioceptive perturbation
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
design not recorded · 2010
Keogh et al. (2010) — Strength and coordination training are both effective in reducing the postural tremor amplitude of older adults.
What it measured
Postural tremor amplitude and upper limb muscle coactivation after 6-week training
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
design not recorded · 2001
Carroll et al. (2001) — Resistance training enhances the stability of sensorimotor coordination
What it measured
Stability of movement coordination (synchronize/syncopate finger movements) and muscle recruitment
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
meta-analysis · 2025
Saini et al. (2025) — Ascertaining the Effectiveness of Coordination Training Interventions in Enhancing Sports Performance: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis
What it measured
Sports performance and motor coordination
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
What the review says it includes
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
11 studies
Athlete Agility & Neuromuscular Performance