Sprint-Interval (Low-Volume)
A handful of ~20-30 s all-out sprints with generous recovery. Very low total time for a strong stimulus. All-out effort; screen cardiovascular risk and warm up thoroughly. Default 20 min.
The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.
- 1Stationary Bike (Steady)5 min easy spin warm-up with 2 brief accelerationsPrime the legs before going all-out.Slot: pre-activity preparationNamed by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states bouts, which this step does not carry; the finding states no duration for this.
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationFoam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationHold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPNF stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStatic stretchingCompared in the review39 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStrap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedVibration-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 2Sprint Interval Block (Wingate-Style)4-6 x 20-30 s all-out @ RPE 10, 2-4 min easy betweenBike sprints or hill sprints are ideal low-injury options.Slot: sprint intervalNamed by a Round-2 review (by reading)Meets the finding's dose
6 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for sprint interval. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
CyclingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
HIIT (generic)Compared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Nordic walkingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Sprint interval training (SIT)Compared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
SwimmingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
WalkingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
- 3Stationary Bike (Steady)5 min very easy spin cool-downKeep spinning easy until recovered.Slot: low-intensity / base volumeNamed by a Round-2 review (by reading)Amount from the review
3 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for low-intensity / base volume. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
CyclingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationSwimmingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationWalkingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration
Safety, and where each line comes from15 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent
Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.
Who should modify or avoid this
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Not appropriate for many deconditioned or clinical individuals without clearanceFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Adults accustomed to vigorous exercise, cleared for maximal effortFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. A heart, lung or metabolic condition, or medication that affects heart rate, changes what is appropriate here.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.
Prerequisites
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for advanced level. Equipment: bike, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.
Hazards and adverse events
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stationary Bike (Steady): Adjust bike fit to avoid knee or saddle discomfort.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Sprint Interval Block (Wingate-Style): All-out effort; warm up thoroughly and screen for cardiovascular risk first.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.
Progression and regression
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stationary Bike (Steady): regress with Lower resistance; Shorter duration with breaks and progress with Longer duration; Stationary cycling intervals.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Sprint Interval Block (Wingate-Style): regress with Shorter 10-15 s sprints; Longer recovery, fewer reps and progress with More sprints (up to 6); Increase resistance/hill steepness.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.
Stop conditions
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel chest pain or pressure, faintness, unusual breathlessness for the effort, palpitations, or pain in a joint that changes how you move.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.
When to seek supervision or clearance
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest pain, pressure, or unusual shortness of breath during exertionFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Fainting, dizziness, or palpitations with exerciseFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Known or suspected cardiovascular, metabolic, or renal disease without medical clearanceFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Musculoskeletal or cardiovascular condition aggravated by maximal effortFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart or lung condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, diabetes on medication, or symptoms on exertion; start at a lower intensity than the routine states if you are new to exercise.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
The review summary this routine was written from reports that interval work delivers comparable benefit in substantially less time: low-volume interval training repeatedly matched moderate continuous and higher-volume interval training for fitness and cardiometabolic outcomes, and sprint interval training improved VO2max and aerobic and anaerobic performance off very short all-out efforts. The most eye-catching minimal-dose numbers in that same finding - as few as two or three 20-30 second sprints - come from a narrative review (Metcalfe 2024), which concludes "There is convincing evidence that REHIT can enhance VO 2 max in a variety of populations and to a similar extent as other high-volume SIT protocols" and adds that more research is needed to confirm its efficacy for other health parameters. The 4-6 sprints two or three times a week shown here is a practical implementation rather than a dose the review summary this routine was written from pins down. Treat it as a fitness stimulus, not a fat-loss shortcut; body-composition change from this work is small.
- All-out means RPE 10 for the whole 20-30 seconds, against real resistance or at full running speed - not a hard-but-steady effort.
- Take the full 2-4 minutes easy between sprints. The long recovery is what keeps each sprint near-maximal; cutting it short just makes every sprint after it worse.
- Warm up thoroughly first - five easy minutes plus a couple of brief accelerations - so you are not going maximal on cold legs.
- Bike sprints or hill sprints are alternatives to flat full-speed running, and a bike lets you add resistance rather than speed as you progress.
- This is maximal effort and is not appropriate for many deconditioned or clinical people without clearance. Screen for cardiovascular risk first, and stop for chest pain or pressure, unusual shortness of breath, dizziness, or palpitations.
- Starting with 2-3 sprints of 20-30 seconds matches the sprint count of REHIT, for which Metcalfe 2024 (narrative review) concludes "There is convincing evidence that REHIT can enhance VO 2 max in a variety of populations"; shorter 10-15 second sprints are a lighter version, and the same review reports that reducing sprint duration from 20 to 10 seconds diminishes improvements in VO2 max.
What the evidence says
This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.cardio.sprint-interval-training-physiology) studied: sprint interval training and low-volume HIIT, with VO2max, aerobic and anaerobic performance and cardiometabolic markers as the outcomes. Boullosa 2022 (meta-analysis, 18 studies, 438 participants) reports a very high effectiveness of short sprint interval protocols for improving VO2max, aerobic and anaerobic performance in physically active young healthy adults and athletes. Weston 2014 (meta-analysis) reports that low-volume HIT produces moderate improvements in aerobic power in active non-athletic and sedentary subjects. Metcalfe 2024 (narrative review) reports convincing evidence that reduced-exertion HIIT, two or three 20-30-second all-out sprints in a 10-minute session, can enhance VO2max to a similar extent as high-volume SIT protocols. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.cardio.sprint-interval-training-physiology).
- Agreement
- The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 3 of 6 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (6)
- What it measured
- Maximal oxygen uptake (VO2 max)
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Aerobic power (maximum oxygen consumption [VO2max]) and sprint fitness (peak and mean power in a 30-s Wingate test).
- How it measured it
- Incremental tests for VO2max and the 30-s Wingate test for sprint power; validated measurement tools.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF), systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, mean arterial pressure, MetS z-score, fat mass, fat mass percentage, waist circumference.
- How it measured it
- Standardized mean differences (SMD) with 95% confidence intervals.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 849 participants across 21 studies
- What it measured
- Maximal oxygen consumption (V̇O2max), aerobic performance, and anaerobic performance.
- How it measured it
- Laboratory tests such as graded exercise tests and Wingate tests.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis, systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 438 participants across 18 studies
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- LIMITATIONS: Heterogeneity of studies in terms of sample characteristics, training history, exercise modes, and performance outcomes measures; limited applicability to populations other than healthy active adults and athletes.
- What it measured
- cardiorespiratory fitness, glucose control, blood pressure, cardiac function
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Aerobic capacity, skeletal muscle oxidative capacity, exercise tolerance, markers of disease risk
- How it was read
- read in full text