Wellness Routines
← Routines
10 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 3 randomised controlled trials, 3 systematic reviews
Flexibility · 18 min slot · 3–4x per week

Hips & Hamstrings Deep Focus

A longer session for people specifically working on tight hips and hamstrings. Roll first to warm the tissue, then hold, then mobilize.

How often: 2–7 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (5 of 10 sources named by SR07.1 state one) · planning default: 3–4x per week · the review report’s bottom line: 2–5 sessions/week (chronic ROM gains, across included studies)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Foam Roll Hamstrings
    30–60s per area
    Warm-up pass before stretching.
    Slot: pre-activity preparation
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    39 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Foam Roll / Ball Release Glutes
    30–60s per side
    Cross the ankle over the knee.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Seated Forward Fold (Hamstring Stretch)
    hold 30–45s x 2
    Hinge from the hips.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch
    hold 30–45s x 2 per side
    Tuck the pelvis.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Seated Piriformis / Glute Stretch
    hold 30s x 2 per side
    Deep glute stretch.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    90/90 Hip Switches
    8–10 switches
    Finish with active hip control.
    Slot: post-activity
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states sets, which this step does not carry; the finding states no reps for this.
    5 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
22 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cushion the knee; avoid forcing painful ranges.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Anyone with sitting-related hip tightness.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Hypermobility, a recent injury or surgery, or a bone-density condition changes what is appropriate here.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: foam-roller, mat, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Foam Roll Hamstrings: Keep pressure moderate; avoid rolling behind the knee joint.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Foam Roll / Ball Release Glutes: Avoid direct pressure on the tailbone or sciatic-nerve tingling.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Forward Fold (Hamstring Stretch): Ease off with acute lower-back pain or sciatica; avoid forcing a rounded-spine bounce.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch: Cushion the down knee; keep the front knee tracking over the foot.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Piriformis / Glute Stretch: Move from the hips, not by rounding the low back hard.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)90/90 Hip Switches: Move within a comfortable range; keep the low back tall.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Foam Roll Hamstrings: regress with Keep both legs on the roller for less pressure; Support more weight on the hands and progress with Cross one ankle over to load a single hamstring; Add a knee flex/extend.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Foam Roll / Ball Release Glutes: regress with Keep both feet down for less pressure; Use a softer ball and progress with Use a firmer ball for pinpoint pressure; Increase the lean.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Forward Fold (Hamstring Stretch): regress with Bend the knees slightly; Sit on a cushion to tilt the pelvis forward; Loop a strap around the feet and hold that instead and progress with Reach for the soles of the feet; Add a gentle active contraction (PNF); Single-leg seated fold for more range.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch: regress with Pad the down knee; Reduce the forward shift and progress with Reach the same-side arm overhead; Add a slight trunk rotation away from the down leg.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Piriformis / Glute Stretch: regress with Reduce the forward lean; Perform in a chair and progress with Deepen the hinge; Gently press the top knee down.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)90/90 Hip Switches: regress with Use the hands for support; Reduce the range of the switch and progress with Lift the hands off the floor; Add a forward lean over the front shin.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel sharp pain, numbness, tingling or a pulling sensation in a joint rather than a muscle; stretch to mild tension, never through pain.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sharp or radiating pain during stretching, stop and consult a clinician.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sudden loss of range of motion or joint instability, seek a physical therapist.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Numbness, tingling, or a recent injury, get medical clearance first.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have a joint that dislocates, a recent injury or surgery, osteoporosis, or nerve symptoms in a limb.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Combine static hip-flexor stretches (e.g., half-kneeling) with active hip mobility drills.
hold 30–45s per side plus active drills, 3–4×/week
The evidence behind this practice doesn't establish a dose-response relationship, so this specific frequency and duration is a reasonable design choice, not a research-backed number.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry studied: static stretching and joint range of motion across joints and muscle groups; none of them singles out the hip flexors. Those sources are seven syntheses, among them Behm 2023 (systematic review and meta-analysis, 47 studies, 1658 participants) and Konrad 2023 (meta-analysis), and three randomised trials (Fukaya 2020, Nakamura 2021, Kataura 2017). Their conclusions are not yet recorded in this library, so this entry states no effect of this routine on hip range of motion. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry on static stretching and range of motion this practice links to.

Key sources
meta-analysisAcute Effects of Various Stretching Techniques on Range of Motion: A Systematic Review with Meta-AnalysisD. Behm, S. Alizadeh, A. Daneshjoo et al. (2023) · Sports Medicine - Open · 10.1186/s40798-023-00652-x · full text
meta-analysisInfluence of static stretching on hamstring flexibility in healthy young adults: Systematic review and meta-analysisD. M. Medeiros, Anelize Cini, G. Sbruzzi, C. Lima (2016) · Physiotherapy Theory and Practice · 10.1080/09593985.2016.1204401 · full text
systematic reviewThe effects of hamstring stretching on range of motion: a systematic literature review.L. Decoster, J. Cleland, C. Altieri, P. Russell (2005) · Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy · 10.2519/jospt.2005.35.6.377 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
10 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 3 randomised controlled trials, 3 systematic reviews
Agreement
Direction recorded for 0 of 10 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
Authors
Sources share authors: D. Medeiros (first author of 2 sources); A. Konrad (senior author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (10)
meta-analysis · 2023
Behm et al. (2023) — Acute Effects of Various Stretching Techniques on Range of Motion: A Systematic Review with Meta-Analysis
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1658 participants across 47 studies
meta-analysis · 2016
Medeiros et al. (2016) — Influence of static stretching on hamstring flexibility in healthy young adults: Systematic review and meta-analysis
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2005
Decoster et al. (2005) — The effects of hamstring stretching on range of motion: a systematic literature review.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
Systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1338 participants across 28 studies
meta-analysis · 2018
Medeiros et al. (2018) — Chronic effect of different types of stretching on ankle dorsiflexion range of motion: Systematic review and meta-analysis.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 659 participants across 20 studies
systematic review · 2006
Radford et al. (2006) — Does stretching increase ankle dorsiflexion range of motion? A systematic review
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 161 participants across 5 studies
meta-analysis · 2023
Konrad et al. (2023) — Chronic effects of stretching on range of motion with consideration of potential moderating variables: A systematic review with meta-analysis
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2018
Thomas et al. (2018) — The Relation Between Stretching Typology and Stretching Duration: The Effects on Range of Motion
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2021
Nakamura et al. (2021) — Comparison Between High- and Low-Intensity Static Stretching Training Program on Active and Passive Properties of Plantar Flexors
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2020
Fukaya et al. (2020) — Effects of Static Stretching With High-Intensity and Short-Duration or Low-Intensity and Long-Duration on Range of Motion and Muscle Stiffness
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2017
Kataura et al. (2017) — Acute Effects of the Different Intensity of Static Stretching on Flexibility and Isometric Muscle Force
How it was read
read in full text
Hips & Hamstrings Deep Focus