Dynamic Warm-Up (Pre-Workout)
Use dynamic drills, not long static holds, right before activity. Note the honest evidence: a warm-up prepares you to perform, but stretching's effect on lowering injury risk is limited and inconsistent: do this to move well, not as injury insurance.
- SR08.1: “The […] claim in this corpus is comparative: dynamic stretching in warm-up does not carry the acute power/speed penalty attributed to prolonged static stretching.”
The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.
- 1High Knees / Butt Kicks (Dynamic Warm-Up)20–30s each x 2 roundsGeneral pulse-raiser; stay light and controlled.Slot: pre-activity preparationNamed by a Round-2 reviewAmount from the reviewObserved in 3 papers · 2–10 sets
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationFoam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationHold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPNF stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStatic stretchingCompared in the review39 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStrap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedVibration-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 2Front-to-Back Leg Swings10–12 swings per sideGrow the arc gradually.Slot: pre-activity preparationNamed by a Round-2 reviewAmount from the reviewObserved in 7 papers · 2–15 reps
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Hold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPNF stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review39 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Strap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedVibration-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 3Lateral (Side-to-Side) Leg Swings10–12 swings per sideOpens the hips in the frontal plane.Slot: joint-specific ROMNamed by a Round-2 reviewAmount from the reviewObserved in 7 papers · 2–15 reps
8 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review36 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Vibration-assistedCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedWall-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
- 4Arm Circles10–15 each directionForward then reverse.Slot: pre-activity preparationNamed by a Round-2 reviewAmount from the reviewObserved in 7 papers · 2–15 reps
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Hold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPNF stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review39 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Strap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedVibration-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 5Walking Lunges (Dynamic)8–10 per sideTall torso, controlled descent.Slot: pre-activity preparationNamed by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 7 papers · 2–15 repsthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no reps for this.
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Hold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPNF stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review39 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Strap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedVibration-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 6World's Greatest Stretch5–6 per sideHits hips, hamstrings, and T-spine in one drill.Slot: standalone mobility sessionNamed by a Round-2 reviewAmount from the reviewObserved in 7 papers · 2–15 reps
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Hold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPilatesCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review14 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Strap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedYoga for flexibilityCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Safety, and where each line comes from22 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent
Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.
Who should modify or avoid this
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Control range early; do not force cold end-range.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Anyone about to train or play sport.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Hypermobility, a recent injury or surgery, or a bone-density condition changes what is appropriate here.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.
Prerequisites
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: mat, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.
Hazards and adverse events
- Product safeguard (app-authored)High Knees / Butt Kicks (Dynamic Warm-Up): Low-impact march option if joints are sensitive; warm up first.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Front-to-Back Leg Swings: Stay controlled; do not force end-range with momentum.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral (Side-to-Side) Leg Swings: Keep the pelvis stable; avoid twisting the low back.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Arm Circles: Keep circles smooth; ease off with shoulder impingement pain.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Walking Lunges (Dynamic): Keep the front knee tracking over the foot; control the descent.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)World's Greatest Stretch: Move under control; keep the front knee stable during the rotation.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.
Progression and regression
- Product safeguard (app-authored)High Knees / Butt Kicks (Dynamic Warm-Up): regress with March instead of jog; Reduce the tempo and progress with Increase the pace; Travel forward instead of in place.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Front-to-Back Leg Swings: regress with Reduce the swing height; Slow the tempo and progress with Increase the arc; Remove the hand support.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral (Side-to-Side) Leg Swings: regress with Smaller arc; Slower tempo and progress with Increase the swing range; Add a light hip rotation.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Arm Circles: regress with Smaller circles; One arm at a time and progress with Larger circles; Add light weights or increase speed slightly.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Walking Lunges (Dynamic): regress with Shorten the step; Hold onto support and lunge in place and progress with Add an overhead reach; Add a trunk rotation over the front leg.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)World's Greatest Stretch: regress with Drop the rear knee to the floor; Reduce the rotation range and progress with Add a hamstring rock-back after the rotation; Flow continuously side to side.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.
Stop conditions
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel sharp pain, numbness, tingling or a pulling sensation in a joint rather than a muscle; stretch to mild tension, never through pain.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.
When to seek supervision or clearance
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Sharp or radiating pain during stretching, stop and consult a clinician.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Sudden loss of range of motion or joint instability, seek a physical therapist.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Numbness, tingling, or a recent injury, get medical clearance first.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have a joint that dislocates, a recent injury or surgery, osteoporosis, or nerve symptoms in a limb.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
Dynamic drills are the modality the underlying finding is about: across a systematic review spanning about 125 acute-stretching studies, two further reviews, and a network meta-analysis of warm-up methods on lower-limb explosive strength, dynamic stretching in a warm-up did not carry the acute power and speed penalty attributed to prolonged static holds. That result is comparative - which kind of stretching, not how many minutes of it - and the same finding notes that once a full task-specific warm-up is in place, the incremental effect of the stretching component narrows. The 8 minutes and this particular set of drills are a design choice, not a research-backed number, and the review summary this routine was written from speaks to preserved power and speed, not to preventing injury.
- Open with the pulse-raiser: light high knees and butt kicks on the balls of the feet, staying controlled. March instead of jogging if your joints are sensitive.
- Leg swings start small and grow: hold a wall, let the arc build across the set, and stop short of throwing the leg into end range on momentum. On the side-to-side version keep the pelvis stable so the swing isn't coming from the low back.
- Arm circles go small to large, forward then reverse; ease off if you get pinching in the shoulder.
- Walking lunges and the World's Greatest Stretch are the range-builders - tall torso, controlled descent, front knee tracking over the foot, and deliberate through the rotation rather than fast.
- Control the range early and don't push cold end-range; the later drills should be bigger than the first ones.
- A rushed two-minute version is a partial warm-up, not the full sequence.
What the evidence says
This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.flexibility.static-vs-dynamic) studied: dynamic stretching and static stretching in a warm-up, with explosive performance such as sprint and jump as the outcomes. Those sources are three systematic reviews (Behm 2016, Yamaguchi 2014 with 137 studies, Opplert 2018), a meta-analysis of 35 studies (Li 2023), and randomised and non-randomised trials. Their conclusions are not yet recorded in this library, so this entry states no effect of a dynamic warm-up on performance and no comparison with static stretching. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.flexibility.static-vs-dynamic).
- Agreement
- Direction recorded for 0 of 11 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (11)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = not reported participants across 137 studies
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = [not reported] participants across 35 studies
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text