Wellness Routines
← Routines
9 sources: 6 meta-analyses, 3 randomised controlled trials
Cardio & Endurance · 20–30 min · 3x/week

Beginner Walk-Jog

A gentle walk-jog structure that gradually shifts toward more jogging each week. Low barrier to entry and progressive. Default 28 min; add jog time as it gets easier.

How often: 2–5 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (6 of 9 sources named by SR04.1 state one) · planning default: 3x/week · the review report’s bottom line: 2–5 sessions/week (most interventions)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Brisk Walk
    5 min brisk walk warm-up
    Loosen up and raise the heart rate.
    Slot: pre-activity preparation
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    39 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Walk-Jog Intervals
    8 rounds of 1 min easy jog @ RPE 6 / 1.5 min walk
    Lengthen jog segments weekly as you adapt.
    Slot: short interval
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling; the finding states no bouts or intensity for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for short interval. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Cycling
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    HIIT (generic)
    Compared in the review
    41 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tabata
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Walking
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Brisk Walk
    5 min walk cool-down
    Finish comfortable, not exhausted.
    Slot: post-activity
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    5 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
1 reported by the review's sources14 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with cardiovascular disease
    SR04.1 · canon row 808, contraindications field · Mechanisms of adaptations in cardiorespiratory fitness with exercise prescriptions differing in volume and intensity in middle-age men · studied: WHAT: Specific exercises included low volume/moderate intensity, low volume/vigorous intensity, and high volume/vigorous intensity. Protocols involved bicycle ergometer tests and echocardiography for maximal cardiac output determination.…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Progress slowly; expect and allow recovery between sessions
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Previously inactive adults starting out
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. A heart, lung or metabolic condition, or medication that affects heart rate, changes what is appropriate here.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: Choose even surfaces and supportive footwear; slow down if dizzy or short of breath.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Walk-Jog Intervals: Progress jog volume gradually to protect shins, knees, and Achilles.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: regress with Casual-pace walk; Shorter intervals with seated rest and progress with Incline walk; Nordic walking; Walk-jog intervals.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Walk-Jog Intervals: regress with Shorter jog / longer walk ratio; All-walking intervals (fast/slow) and progress with Lengthen jog segments; Continuous easy run.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel chest pain or pressure, faintness, unusual breathlessness for the effort, palpitations, or pain in a joint that changes how you move.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest pain, pressure, or unusual shortness of breath during exertion
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fainting, dizziness, or palpitations with exercise
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Known or suspected cardiovascular, metabolic, or renal disease without medical clearance
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart or lung condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, diabetes on medication, or symptoms on exertion; start at a lower intensity than the routine states if you are new to exercise.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it

This 28-minute walk-jog ladder - 8 rounds of 1 minute jogging to 1.5 minutes walking, three times a week, with jog segments lengthening as you adapt - is one product-designed way to carry out what the review summary this routine was written from reports: that structured aerobic training reliably raises cardiorespiratory fitness. That finding pools syntheses across thousands of participants, including one covering 160 studies and 7,487 people and another of 11,458, with concordant trials typically reporting 10-21% VO2max gains over 8-24 weeks; it does not separately validate this particular walk-to-jog ratio or weekly progression, so those numbers are a design choice for easing in rather than a tested format.

  • Set the jog segments by effort, not pace: RPE 6, controlled and still conversational at first, with the walking portion genuinely easy at RPE 3-4.
  • Start with more walking than jogging and lengthen the jog segments a little each week. That gradual step-up is what protects shins, knees, and Achilles.
  • Supportive shoes and even surfaces; slow down if you feel dizzy or short of breath. The 5-minute brisk walks at each end ease you in and out, and are not part of the working segments.
  • Allow recovery between sessions - three non-consecutive days is easier to sustain than three in a row.
  • If a week's jog segments still feel hard, repeat that week instead of advancing. Stop and get checked for chest pain or pressure, unusual breathlessness, fainting, or palpitations.
20–30 min mixed walk/jog, 3×/week, progressing weekly
This routine's specific parameters are a practical implementation of the practice's general finding; the finding itself doesn't validate this exact protocol.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.cardio.vo2max-aerobic-adaptation) studied: structured aerobic training and cardiorespiratory fitness, measured as VO2max, in healthy adults including sedentary and older adults. Lin 2015 (meta-analysis, 160 studies, 7487 participants) reports that exercise training significantly improved cardiorespiratory fitness and some cardiovascular biomarkers in adults without cardiovascular disease. Huang 2016 (meta-analysis, 2102 participants) reports a significant increase of 3.78 mL/kg/min in VO2max in healthy sedentary older adults. Branch 2000 (randomised trial) reports a 17% improvement in VO2max with moderate-intensity training and 21% with vigorous training in young women, and concludes that moderate-intensity training elicited significant improvement in cardiorespiratory fitness. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.cardio.vo2max-aerobic-adaptation).

Key sources
randomised controlled trialModerate Intensity Exercise Training Improves Cardiorespiratory Fitness in WomenPh. J. DAVID BRANCH, Ph. RUSSELL R. PATE, Ph.D SHARON P. BOURQUE (2000) · Journal of Womens Health & Gender-Based Medicine · 10.1089/152460900318984 · full text
meta-analysisMeta-Analysis of Fitness Outcomes From Motivational Physical Activity InterventionsJ. Chase, V. Conn (2013) · Nursing Research · 10.1097/nnr.0b013e3182a0395c · full text
randomised controlled trialEffect of intensity of aerobic training on VO2max.S. E. Gormley, D. Swain, Renee High et al. (2008) · Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise · 10.1249/mss.0b013e31816c4839 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
9 sources: 6 meta-analyses, 3 randomised controlled trials
Agreement
The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 8 of 9 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (9)
randomised controlled trial · 2000
BRANCH et al. (2000) — Moderate Intensity Exercise Training Improves Cardiorespiratory Fitness in Women
What it measured
Maximal oxygen consumption (Vo2max) and time to exhaustion.
How it measured it
Laboratory test using a cycle ergometer during graded maximal exercise.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2013
Chase et al. (2013) — Meta-Analysis of Fitness Outcomes From Motivational Physical Activity Interventions
What it measured
Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF) via maximum oxygen uptake (VO2 max).
How it measured it
Direct measurement: oxygen consumption during exercise to exhaustion or near exhaustion; Indirect measurement: estimated or predicted by other means such as spirometry.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 11,458 participants across an unspecified number of studies
randomised controlled trial · 2008
Gormley et al. (2008) — Effect of intensity of aerobic training on VO2max.
What it measured
VO2max, resting HR, resting BP, cognitive function via RAVLT and SPST, hippocampal volume and integrity via MRI.
How it measured it
VO2max: continuous incremental exercise test with breath-by-breath gas exchange analysis; Cognitive function: RAVLT and SPST; Hippocampal volume and integrity: MRI.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2024
Lin et al. (2024) — Mechanisms of adaptations in cardiorespiratory fitness with exercise prescriptions differing in volume and intensity in middle-age men
What it measured
Maximal oxygen uptake (VO2max), maximal cardiac output (Qmax), and maximal arterial-venous oxygen difference (a-vO2diff).
How it measured it
VO2max was measured using a graded maximal bicycle ergometer test with breath-by-breath analysis. Qmax and a-vO2diff were calculated using echocardiography and the Fick equation.
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2019
Burn et al. (2019) — Effects of Workplace-Based Physical Activity Interventions on Cardiorespiratory Fitness: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Controlled Trials
What it measured
Cardiorespiratory fitness via VO2peak.\n2. HOW was it measured: Submaximal estimates (step tests, submaximal cycle ergometer tests, treadmill walking tests).\n3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Not mentioned.\n4. COMPARED TO: Non-active control groups or usual activity.
How it measured it
Submaximal estimates (step tests, submaximal cycle ergometer tests, treadmill walking tests).\n3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Not mentioned.\n4. COMPARED TO: Non-active control groups or usual activity.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 733 participants across 12 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Inability to meta-analyze a broad range of outcomes due to heterogeneity and low reporting numbers.
meta-analysis · 2015
Lin et al. (2015) — Effects of Exercise Training on Cardiorespiratory Fitness and Biomarkers of Cardiometabolic Health: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials
What it measured
Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF), specifically absolute and relative maximal oxygen uptake, and various circulating biomarkers related to cardiovascular health.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 7487 participants across 160 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Inability to perform dose-response analyses due to heterogeneity in exercise programs.
meta-analysis · 2016
Huang et al. (2016) — Dose–response relationship of cardiorespiratory fitness adaptation to controlled endurance training in sedentary older adults
What it measured
Maximal oxygen consumption (VO2max)
How it measured it
Laboratory test (validated method)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 2102 participants across an unspecified number of studies
meta-analysis · 2025
López-González et al. (2025) — Effect of exercise interventions on oxygen uptake in healthy older adults: A network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
What it measured
Oxygen consumption via VO₂ peak.
How it measured it
Laboratory test (VO₂ peak test), which is a validated measure.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2025
Azimkhani et al. (2025) — The Effect of Aerobic, Resistance, and Combined Exercise Training on Cardiorespiratory Fitness in Healthy People Aged 60 years and Over: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials
What it measured
Maximal/peak oxygen uptake (VO2max/peak) and the 6-min walk distance (6-MWD)
How it measured it
Laboratory test for VO2max/peak; 6-MWD measured by having participants walk as far as possible in six minutes
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 3152 participants across 51 studies
Beginner Walk-Jog