30/30 Short Intervals
Short 30-second hard bouts alternated with equal easy recovery. Accessible high-intensity work that fits a tight schedule. Default 30 min including warm-up and cool-down.
The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.
- 1Brisk Walk6 min warm-up building to moderateInclude a couple of brief pickups.Slot: pre-activity preparationNamed by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states bouts, which this step does not carry; the finding states no duration for this.
9 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review6 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationFoam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationHold-relaxCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedPNF stretchingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStatic stretchingCompared in the review39 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStrap-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedVibration-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 230/30 Interval Block10-12 x 30 s hard @ RPE 8 / 30 s easyBike, rower, run, or jump rope all work.Slot: short intervalNamed by a Round-2 review (by reading)Meets the finding's dose
4 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for short interval. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
CyclingCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
HIIT (generic)Compared in the review41 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
WalkingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in work and recovery bouts and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
- 3Brisk Walk6 min easy cool-downEase effort down steadily.Slot: post-activityNamed by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states bouts, which this step does not carry; the finding states no duration for this.
5 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStatic stretchingCompared in the review8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
Safety, and where each line comes from14 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent
Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.
Who should modify or avoid this
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Build an aerobic base before frequent high-intensity sessionsFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Adults cleared for vigorous effortFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. A heart, lung or metabolic condition, or medication that affects heart rate, changes what is appropriate here.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.
Prerequisites
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.
Hazards and adverse events
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: Choose even surfaces and supportive footwear; slow down if dizzy or short of breath.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)30/30 Interval Block: Warm up first; keep form crisp as fatigue builds.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.
Progression and regression
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: regress with Casual-pace walk; Shorter intervals with seated rest and progress with Incline walk; Nordic walking; Walk-jog intervals.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)30/30 Interval Block: regress with 30 s hard / 60 s easy; Fewer reps and progress with More reps or multiple sets; Longer 60/60 intervals.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.
Stop conditions
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel chest pain or pressure, faintness, unusual breathlessness for the effort, palpitations, or pain in a joint that changes how you move.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.
When to seek supervision or clearance
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest pain, pressure, or unusual shortness of breath during exertionFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Fainting, dizziness, or palpitations with exerciseFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Known or suspected cardiovascular, metabolic, or renal disease without medical clearanceFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart or lung condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, diabetes on medication, or symptoms on exertion; start at a lower intensity than the routine states if you are new to exercise.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
This 30-seconds-hard / 30-seconds-easy structure, for 10-12 rounds, is one product-designed way to carry out interval training. The underlying finding is that interval training raises VO2max - usually matching or exceeding steady continuous training - but it doesn't separately validate this specific 30/30 format; that's a design choice built on the broader finding, not a tested protocol in its own right.
- Any steady aerobic mode works for the hard/easy blocks: bike, rower, running, jump rope.
- Hard means RPE 8 - breathing hard, short sentences only. Easy means recovered enough to go again, not a full stop.
- Build an aerobic base with easier sessions before doing this often; no cited source here tests high-intensity work started without that base.
- Fewer rounds than shown is a reasonable way to start, but isn't shown to deliver the same benefit as the full set - a shorter version is a lighter version; benefit at a shorter dose is not established here.
What the evidence says
This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.cardio.hiit-cardiorespiratory-fitness) studied: interval training and cardiorespiratory fitness against moderate continuous training and non-exercise control; none of them evaluates short intervals as a distinct format. Poon 2024 (umbrella review, 24 reviews, 12,967 participants) reports that systematic reviews consistently support the effect of HIIT on enhancing cardiorespiratory fitness in adults compared with non-exercise control and MICT. Milanović 2015 (meta-analysis, 28 studies, 723 participants) reports large improvements in VO2max from both endurance training and HIT, with the gains greater following HIT. Rugbeer 2021 (meta-analysis, 26 studies, 784 participants) reports that MICT was significantly better at improving cardiorespiratory fitness than SIT in overweight or obese persons, with no significant difference between MICT and HIIT. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.cardio.hiit-cardiorespiratory-fitness).
- Agreement
- Direction recorded for 1 of 6 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
- Authors
- Sources share authors: E. Poon (first author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (6)
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (VO2 peak)
- How it measured it
- Gas analysis (validated method)
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 398 participants across 15 studies
- What it measured
- Maximal oxygen uptake (VO2max)
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test (validated method)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis, systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 723 participants across 28 studies
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (VO2max), maximal heart rate, ventilation maximal power output, physical performance (6MWT, METs, peak power output, time up and go test), blood pressure (SBP, DBP).
- How it measured it
- Laboratory tests for VO2max; validated methods for other outcomes.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 1973 participants across 30 studies
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF) as indicated by VO 2 max (or VO 2 peak).
- How it measured it
- Determined using an incremental exercise test to exhaustion.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- umbrella review (review of reviews)
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 12,967 participants across 24 studies
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF) and body fat percentage.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis, systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 784 participants across 26 studies
- What it measured
- Maximal oxygen uptake (VO2max)
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test (validated method)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 429 participants across 14 studies