Wellness Routines
← Routines
4 meta-analyses
Strength Training · 10–20 min · 1-2x/week

Time-Efficient Minimal-Dose

A minimal-dose full-body session: one hard set per compound exercise taken close to failure. Great for busy weeks. The 15-minute default is a floor you can expand.

How often: 1–3 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (4 of 5 sources named by SR01.1 state one) · planning default: 1-2x/week · the review report’s bottom line: as little as 1 session/week produces gains
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Goblet Squat
    1 hard set x 8-12 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Take it close to failure.
    Slot: squat / knee-dominant
    Scaffold: app-designed stepMeets the finding's dose
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for squat / knee-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    12 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Smith machine exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Dumbbell Bench Press
    3 hard sets x 6 reps, ~1 min rest
    Close to failure.
    Slot: horizontal push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 5 papers · 2–4 setsObserved in 3 papers · 6–12 repsObserved in 2 papers · 60–180 s rest
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Push-up
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    One-Arm Dumbbell Row
    1 hard set x 10-12/arm, ~60 sec rest
    Close to failure.
    Slot: horizontal pull
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)Meets the finding's dose
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal pull. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bent-over row
    Described in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Inverted row
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Romanian Deadlift
    1 hard set x 10-12 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Close to failure.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Machine Shoulder Press
    1 hard set x 10-12 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Close to failure.
    Slot: vertical push
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)Meets the finding's dose
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for vertical push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Overhead press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Plank
    1 set x max hold
    Brace hard.
    Slot: anti-extension & anti-rotation core
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for anti-extension & anti-rotation core. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
Muscle mapping: app-authoredThis session’s volume: SR01.P1 states ≥1 sets per muscle group per week, across every session in the week. This session contributes 1 for quadriceps, 2 for gluteals, 1 for core, 3 for pectorals, 4 for triceps, 4 for deltoids, 1 for latissimus dorsi, 1 for rhomboids, 1 for biceps, 1 for hamstrings, 1 for erector spinae, 1 for rectus abdominis, 1 for transverse abdominis and 1 for obliques. One session is not a week: the comparison against that figure is made on the programme page and in the planner, where the week's sessions are known. Counted this way: every set counted in full toward each muscle the catalogue names as primary; secondary muscles are not recorded anywhere in the records and are not counted. The finding states no rule for counting a set that trains more than one muscle, so the outcome could differ under another. Under a direct-only count — sets from a step whose slot names the muscle, which in the slot vocabulary is the isolation slot alone — this session contributes nothing. The muscle mapping is app-authored: every exercise in the catalogue carries evidence_source component_library, and no review states one.
Sets per muscle group, and the steps behind each
  • quadriceps · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Goblet Squat 1 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • gluteals · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Goblet Squat 1 (squat / knee-dominant), Romanian Deadlift 1 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • core · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Goblet Squat 1 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • pectorals · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Dumbbell Bench Press 3 (horizontal push)
  • triceps · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Dumbbell Bench Press 3 (horizontal push), Machine Shoulder Press 1 (vertical push)
  • deltoids · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Dumbbell Bench Press 3 (horizontal push), Machine Shoulder Press 1 (vertical push)
  • latissimus dorsi · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): One-Arm Dumbbell Row 1 (horizontal pull)
  • rhomboids · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): One-Arm Dumbbell Row 1 (horizontal pull)
  • biceps · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): One-Arm Dumbbell Row 1 (horizontal pull)
  • hamstrings · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Romanian Deadlift 1 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • erector spinae · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Romanian Deadlift 1 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • rectus abdominis · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Plank 1 (anti-extension & anti-rotation core)
  • transverse abdominis · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Plank 1 (anti-extension & anti-rotation core)
  • obliques · 1 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Plank 1 (anti-extension & anti-rotation core)
  • SR01.P1: “Frequency: As little as 1 session/week produces gains, particularly in novices and older adults (Behm et al. 2023, narrative/[…]; Pearson et al. 2025, 1x/week improved QoL, function and strength in older adults; Murphy et al. 2018, one set to failure/week increased strength).”
  • […] marks our own earlier grade or verdict wording, removed from the quotation.
Safety, and where each line comes from
15 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Time-pressed beginners and anyone needing the lowest-barrier entry point.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: barbell, bodyweight, dumbbell, machine. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Romanian Deadlift: Stop lowering when the back can no longer stay flat.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Goblet Squat: regress with Bodyweight Squat; Box Squat and progress with Barbell Back Squat; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dumbbell Bench Press: regress with Machine Chest Press; Push-Up and progress with Incline Dumbbell Press; Barbell Bench Press.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)One-Arm Dumbbell Row: regress with Seated Cable Row; Band Row and progress with Heavier load; Barbell Row.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Romanian Deadlift: regress with Dumbbell Romanian Deadlift; Kettlebell Deadlift and progress with Deficit RDL; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Machine Shoulder Press: regress with Lighter load; Band Overhead Press and progress with Dumbbell Shoulder Press; Barbell Overhead Press.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Plank: regress with Knee Plank; Incline Plank and progress with Long-Lever Plank; Weighted Plank; RKC Plank.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Persistent joint pain beyond normal soreness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Exertional chest pain, dizziness or breathlessness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Time-efficient training deliberately strips resistance work to the essentials: a few compound exercises, often a single hard set each, once or twice a week.
1-2 sessions per week · hard single sets taken close to failure · 1 set of 5-6 compound exercises · 10-20 min per session
The research observed benefit across this range but hasn't pinned down the minimum amount that still works. A shorter session may still help; it just isn't validated as enough on its own.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.minimum-effective-dose) studied: resistance-training prescriptions and their effect on strength and muscle. Edouard 2023 (meta-analysis) concludes that as soon as individuals start training at a certain minimum dosage regularly, it is effective at improving muscle structure and function; Currier 2023 (meta-analysis) concludes that all resistance-training prescriptions can raise muscle strength and mass in healthy adults, with higher loads favouring strength and multiple sets favouring hypertrophy; Lyristakis 2024 (meta-analysis) concludes that training volume and duration should be prioritised for developing strength. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.minimum-effective-dose).

Key sources
meta-analysisResistance training prescription for muscle strength and hypertrophy in healthy adults: a systematic review and Bayesian network meta-analysisB. Currier, Jonathan C. Mcleod, L. Banfield et al. (2023) · British Journal of Sports Medicine · 10.1136/bjsports-2023-106807 · full text
Type not recordedOptimizing Resistance Training Prescription For Strength: A Systematic Review, Bayesian Network Meta-analysis, And Network Meta-regressionBrad S. Currier, Jonathan C. Mcleod, Alysha C D'Souza et al. (2023) · Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise · 10.1249/01.mss.0000984812.68604.8d · full text
meta-analysisTHE INFLUENCE OF RESISTANCE TRAINING VARIABLES ON MUSCLE STRENGTH: A SYSTEMATIC REVIEW AND META-ANALYSISMr. Philip Lyristakis, Daniel W T Wundersitz, Dr. Stephen Cousins, Dr. Emma Zadow, Associate Professor Brett Gordon (2024) · Journal of Clinical Exercise Physiology · 10.31189/2165-7629-13-s2.462 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
4 meta-analyses
Agreement
consistent for this claim. Direction recorded for 3 of 4 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (4)
meta-analysis · 2023
Currier et al. (2023) — Resistance training prescription for muscle strength and hypertrophy in healthy adults: a systematic review and Bayesian network meta-analysis
What it measured
Muscle strength and hypertrophy.
How it measured it
Muscle strength: 1RM test, isometric maximum voluntary contraction, isokinetic maximum voluntary contraction. Muscle hypertrophy: Ultrasonography, MRI, CT, bioelectrical impedance, dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry, hydrostatic weighing, air displacement plethysmography, microscopy.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 8,461 participants across 192 studies
meta-analysis · 2024
Lyristakis et al. (2024) — THE INFLUENCE OF RESISTANCE TRAINING VARIABLES ON MUSCLE STRENGTH: A SYSTEMATIC REVIEW AND META-ANALYSIS
What it measured
Muscle strength (chest and quadriceps)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2015
Borde et al. (2015) — Dose–Response Relationships of Resistance Training in Healthy Old Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Muscle strength (via 1RM and MVC) and muscle morphology (via MRI, CT, DEXA, ultrasound, or BOD POD).
How it measured it
Validated measures such as 1RM and MVC for strength; MRI, CT, DEXA, ultrasound, or BOD POD for muscle morphology.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 819 participants across 25 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Considerable large heterogeneity (I2 = 80%)
meta-analysis · 2023
Edouard et al. (2023) — Just start and keep training! What is the best resistance training prescription for strength and hypertrophy?
What it measured
Muscle strength, hypertrophy, and physical function.
How it measured it
Systematic review and Bayesian network meta-analysis of existing studies.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
Its conclusion, in its own words
“It is highly encouraging to see that as soon as individuals start training at a certain minimum dosage regularly, it is effective at improving muscle structure and function.”
How it was read
read in full text
Time-Efficient Minimal-Dose