Wellness Routines
← Routines
5 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 1 systematic review
Strength Training · 65 min slot · 3-4x/week

Maximal-Strength (1RM) Focus

A heavy, low-rep session built around the squat, bench and deadlift at ~80-95% 1RM, ~1-3 reps from failure, with longer rest for full recovery. Duration is a default you can adjust. Caution: heavy loading demands solid technique and a thorough warm-up; use spotters, safety pins and conservative progression, and avoid grinding failure reps on barbell lifts.

How often: 1–4 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (4 of 7 sources named by SR02.2 state one) · planning default: 3-4x/week · the review report’s bottom line: 3×/week (most common protocols, as reported)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Barbell Back Squat
    5 sets x 3-5 reps, ~3-5 min rest
    Heavy main lift; brace and use safeties.
    Slot: squat / knee-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 90 s rest
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for squat / knee-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    12 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Smith machine exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Barbell Bench Press
    3 sets x 6 reps, ~2 min rest
    Heavy; use a spotter or pins.
    Slot: horizontal push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewFrom the findingObserved in 5 papers · 2–4 setsObserved in 3 papers · 6–12 repsObserved in 2 papers · 60–180 s rest
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Push-up
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Conventional Deadlift
    4 sets x 2-4 reps, ~3-5 min rest
    Heavy hinge; neutral spine, reset each rep.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 3 papers · 2–4 sets1 paper reports 6–10 reps1 paper reports 60–120 s rest
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Barbell Overhead Press
    3 sets x 4-6 reps, ~2-3 min rest
    Accessory press.
    Slot: vertical push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 3 sets1 paper reports 6–15 reps1 paper reports 180 s rest
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for vertical push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Overhead press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Barbell Bent-Over Row
    3 sets x 6-8 reps, ~2 min rest
    Back accessory.
    Slot: horizontal pull
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal pull. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bent-over row
    Described in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Inverted row
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Plank
    2 sets x 30-60 sec, ~2 min rest
    Bracing carryover.
    Slot: anti-extension & anti-rotation core
    Named by a Round-2 reviewFrom the finding1 paper reports 45 min
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for anti-extension & anti-rotation core. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
2 reported by the review's sources20 product safeguard (app-authored)4 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with a history of bone, muscle, or articular injury
    SR02.2 · canon row 107, contraindications field · Effects of Resistance Training Performed with Different Loads in Untrained and Trained Male Adult Individuals on Maximal Strength and Muscle Hypertrophy: A Systematic Review · studied: WHAT: Resistance training with low, moderate, and high loads. HOW: Supervised in a controlled environment. WHERE: Laboratory or gym setting. WHEN: Not specified. RESOURCES NEEDED: Resistance training equipment, professional guidance…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heavy loading demands solid technique and safety setups; not the entry point for beginners.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Experienced lifters pursuing peak strength or strength sport.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for advanced level. Equipment: barbell, bodyweight. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Reported by the review's sourcesOnly 2 out of 21 studies reported mild adverse effects (minor tendonitis and 2 minor injuries).
    SR02.2 · canon row 300, adverse events field · Strength and Hypertrophy Adaptations Between Low- vs. High-Load Resistance Training: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis · studied: WHAT: Experimental trials involving low-load (≤60% 1RM) and high-load (>60% 1RM) resistance training protocols with sets performed to momentary muscular failure. HOW: Studies were conducted in various settings, likely including gyms or…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Back Squat: Use safety pins or a rack; keep the spine neutral.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bench Press: Use a spotter or safety pins when training near failure.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Conventional Deadlift: Keep a neutral spine; brace hard and avoid rounding the lower back.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Overhead Press: Keep ribs down and avoid overarching the lower back.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bent-Over Row: Keep the spine neutral; avoid rounding under load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Back Squat: regress with Goblet Squat; Leg Press; Bodyweight Squat and progress with Front Squat; Pause Squat; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bench Press: regress with Dumbbell Bench Press; Machine Chest Press; Push-Up and progress with Close-Grip Bench Press; Pause Bench Press; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Conventional Deadlift: regress with Trap-Bar Deadlift; Romanian Deadlift; Kettlebell Deadlift and progress with Deficit Deadlift; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Overhead Press: regress with Dumbbell Shoulder Press; Machine Shoulder Press and progress with Push Press; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bent-Over Row: regress with Seated Cable Row; One-Arm Dumbbell Row and progress with Pendlay Row; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Plank: regress with Knee Plank; Incline Plank and progress with Long-Lever Plank; Weighted Plank; RKC Plank.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sharp or persistent joint pain under heavy load
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Exertional chest pain, dizziness or breathlessness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Progression is driven by adding load over time, often guided by autoregulation.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.rep-ranges) studied: training load and its effect on strength and hypertrophy. Lopez 2020 (meta-analysis) reports greater strength gains with high-load than low-load training (SMD 0.60 to 0.63) and no difference in hypertrophy across loads performed to volitional failure; Lácio 2021 (systematic review) reports gains in maximal strength more pronounced with high and moderate loads than with low loads; Schoenfeld 2017 (meta-analysis) reports greater 1RM gains with high-load training and similar hypertrophy with high and low loads when effort is high; Lixandrão 2018 (meta-analysis) concludes that maximum muscle strength may be optimized by high-load training, and that high-load training and low-load training with blood-flow restriction seem equally effective in increasing muscle mass. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.rep-ranges).

Key sources
meta-analysisResistance Training Load Effects on Muscle Hypertrophy and Strength Gain: Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysisP. Lopez, R. Radaelli, D. Taaffe et al. (2020) · Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise · 10.1249/mss.0000000000002585 · full text
systematic reviewEffects of Resistance Training Performed with Different Loads in Untrained and Trained Male Adult Individuals on Maximal Strength and Muscle Hypertrophy: A Systematic ReviewMarcio Lácio, J. Vieira, R. Trybulski et al. (2021) · International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health · 10.3390/ijerph182111237 · full text
Type not recordedOptimizing Resistance Training Prescription For Strength: A Systematic Review, Bayesian Network Meta-analysis, And Network Meta-regressionBrad S. Currier, Jonathan C. Mcleod, Alysha C D'Souza et al. (2023) · Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise · 10.1249/01.mss.0000984812.68604.8d · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
5 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 1 systematic review
Agreement
The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 2 of 5 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (5)
meta-analysis · 2020
Lopez et al. (2020) — Resistance Training Load Effects on Muscle Hypertrophy and Strength Gain: Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis
What it measured
Muscle hypertrophy and muscle strength.
How it measured it
Muscle hypertrophy was measured as a measure of muscle mass or size, and muscle strength was measured using 1-RM tests. The measurement tools were likely validated.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 747 participants across 28 studies
systematic review · 2021
Lácio et al. (2021) — Effects of Resistance Training Performed with Different Loads in Untrained and Trained Male Adult Individuals on Maximal Strength and Muscle Hypertrophy: A Systematic Review
What it measured
1. Maximal strength via 1RM and MVIC; Muscle hypertrophy via cross-sectional area, muscle thickness, or skeletal muscle fiber size. 2. Measured using validated methods: ultrasound, biopsy, MRI. 3. No explicit secondary outcomes mentioned. 4. Compared to different load magnitudes (low, moderate, high loads) in resistance training.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 563 participants across 23 studies.
meta-analysis · 2017
Schoenfeld et al. (2017) — Strength and Hypertrophy Adaptations Between Low- vs. High-Load Resistance Training: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis
What it measured
Changes in strength and hypertrophy.
How it measured it
Various methods for assessing strength (e.g., 1RM, isometric strength) and hypertrophy (e.g., direct measures of muscle size).
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = [not reported] participants across 21 studies
meta-analysis · 2025
Eyipınar et al. (2025) — HYPERTROPHIC RESPONSE OF LOWER EXTREMITY MUSCLES TO DIFFERENT RESISTANCE TRAINING INTENSITIES: A META-ANALYSIS AND META-REGRESSION
What it measured
Muscle hypertrophy of the quadriceps femoris muscle.
How it measured it
Ultrasonography, which is considered the gold standard for determining muscle thickness and hypertrophy.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 519 participants across 22 studies
meta-analysis · 2018
Lixandrão et al. (2018) — Magnitude of Muscle Strength and Mass Adaptations Between High-Load Resistance Training Versus Low-Load Resistance Training Associated with Blood-Flow Restriction: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Muscle strength and muscle hypertrophy
How it measured it
Laboratory tests or standardized assessments (validation not explicitly mentioned)
How it was read
read in full text
Maximal-Strength (1RM) Focus