Wellness Routines
← Routines
4 meta-analyses
Strength Training · 25–40 min · 2-3x/week

Full-Body Beginner

A simple full-body session hitting every major pattern once. Keep 2-3 reps in reserve while you learn the movements, and add a little load or a rep each week. Duration shown is a default; you can pick any length.

How often: 1–3 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (4 of 5 sources named by SR01.1 state one) · planning default: 2-3x/week · the review report’s bottom line: as little as 1 session/week produces gains
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Goblet Squat
    2 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest
    Squat pattern; keep the chest tall.
    Slot: squat / knee-dominant
    Scaffold: app-designed stepMeets the finding's dose
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for squat / knee-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    12 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Smith machine exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Dumbbell Bench Press
    3 sets x 6 reps, ~1 min rest
    Horizontal push.
    Slot: horizontal push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 5 papers · 2–4 setsObserved in 3 papers · 6–12 repsObserved in 2 papers · 60–180 s rest
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Push-up
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Seated Cable Row
    2 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest
    Horizontal pull.
    Slot: horizontal pull
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 90 s rest
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal pull. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bent-over row
    Described in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Inverted row
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Romanian Deadlift
    2 sets x 8-12 reps, ~2 min rest
    Hip hinge; stop when the back can't stay flat.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Machine Shoulder Press
    2 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest
    Vertical push.
    Slot: vertical push
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)Meets the finding's dose
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for vertical push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Overhead press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Plank
    2 sets x 20-40 sec, ~60 sec rest
    Core brace.
    Slot: anti-extension & anti-rotation core
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 45 min
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for anti-extension & anti-rotation core. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
Muscle mapping: app-authoredThis session’s volume: SR01.P3 states ≥4 sets per muscle group per week, across every session in the week. This session contributes 2 for quadriceps, 4 for gluteals, 2 for core, 3 for pectorals, 5 for triceps, 5 for deltoids, 2 for latissimus dorsi, 2 for rhomboids, 2 for trapezius, 2 for biceps, 2 for hamstrings, 2 for erector spinae, 2 for rectus abdominis, 2 for transverse abdominis and 2 for obliques. One session is not a week: the comparison against that figure is made on the programme page and in the planner, where the week's sessions are known. Counted this way: every set counted in full toward each muscle the catalogue names as primary; secondary muscles are not recorded anywhere in the records and are not counted. The finding states no rule for counting a set that trains more than one muscle, so the outcome could differ under another. Under a direct-only count — sets from a step whose slot names the muscle, which in the slot vocabulary is the isolation slot alone — this session contributes nothing. The muscle mapping is app-authored: every exercise in the catalogue carries evidence_source component_library, and no review states one.
Sets per muscle group, and the steps behind each
  • quadriceps · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Goblet Squat 2 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • gluteals · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Goblet Squat 2 (squat / knee-dominant), Romanian Deadlift 2 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • core · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Goblet Squat 2 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • pectorals · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Dumbbell Bench Press 3 (horizontal push)
  • triceps · 5 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Dumbbell Bench Press 3 (horizontal push), Machine Shoulder Press 2 (vertical push)
  • deltoids · 5 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Dumbbell Bench Press 3 (horizontal push), Machine Shoulder Press 2 (vertical push)
  • latissimus dorsi · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Seated Cable Row 2 (horizontal pull)
  • rhomboids · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Seated Cable Row 2 (horizontal pull)
  • trapezius · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Seated Cable Row 2 (horizontal pull)
  • biceps · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Seated Cable Row 2 (horizontal pull)
  • hamstrings · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Romanian Deadlift 2 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • erector spinae · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Romanian Deadlift 2 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • rectus abdominis · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Plank 2 (anti-extension & anti-rotation core)
  • transverse abdominis · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Plank 2 (anti-extension & anti-rotation core)
  • obliques · 2 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Plank 2 (anti-extension & anti-rotation core)
  • SR01.P3: “Volume: A practical minimum of >=4 hard sets per muscle per week yields substantial hypertrophy in ~15-20 min sessions (Mang 2026, […]); optimization ranges cluster at ~10 sets/week minimum (Bernardez-Vazquez et al. 2022) up to 12-20 sets/week for trained lifters (Baz-Valle et al. 2022), with diminishing returns thereafter (Hamaide et al. 2025) and a disputed counterproductive ceiling >15 sets (Barbalho et al. 2019).”
  • […] marks our own earlier grade or verdict wording, removed from the quotation.
Safety, and where each line comes from
16 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Prioritize technique over load early; deconditioned individuals start at the low end.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Anyone new to resistance training.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: barbell, bodyweight, dumbbell, machine. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Romanian Deadlift: Stop lowering when the back can no longer stay flat.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Goblet Squat: regress with Bodyweight Squat; Box Squat and progress with Barbell Back Squat; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dumbbell Bench Press: regress with Machine Chest Press; Push-Up and progress with Incline Dumbbell Press; Barbell Bench Press.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Cable Row: regress with Band Row; Lighter load and progress with Heavier load; Barbell Row.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Romanian Deadlift: regress with Dumbbell Romanian Deadlift; Kettlebell Deadlift and progress with Deficit RDL; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Machine Shoulder Press: regress with Lighter load; Band Overhead Press and progress with Dumbbell Shoulder Press; Barbell Overhead Press.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Plank: regress with Knee Plank; Incline Plank and progress with Long-Lever Plank; Weighted Plank; RKC Plank.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Persistent joint pain beyond normal soreness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Exertional chest pain, dizziness or breathlessness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • The priorities are learning the technique of each movement, showing up consistently, and nudging load or reps upward as movements become easy.
2-3 sessions per week · moderate, leave 2-3 reps in reserve while learning form · 1-2 sets of 8-12 reps per major muscle group · 25-40 min per session
The evidence behind this practice doesn't establish a dose-response relationship, so this specific frequency and duration is a reasonable design choice, not a research-backed number.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.minimum-effective-dose) studied: resistance-training prescriptions and their effect on strength and muscle. Currier 2023 (meta-analysis) reports that any resistance-training prescription benefited muscle strength and hypertrophy, with higher loads favouring strength and multiple sets favouring hypertrophy; Edouard 2023 (meta-analysis) concludes that as soon as individuals start training at a certain minimum dosage regularly, it is effective at improving muscle structure and function; Borde 2015 (meta-analysis) reports improved muscle strength with resistance training in healthy older adults (SMD 1.57). The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.minimum-effective-dose).

Key sources
meta-analysisResistance training prescription for muscle strength and hypertrophy in healthy adults: a systematic review and Bayesian network meta-analysisB. Currier, Jonathan C. Mcleod, L. Banfield et al. (2023) · British Journal of Sports Medicine · 10.1136/bjsports-2023-106807 · full text
Type not recordedOptimizing Resistance Training Prescription For Strength: A Systematic Review, Bayesian Network Meta-analysis, And Network Meta-regressionBrad S. Currier, Jonathan C. Mcleod, Alysha C D'Souza et al. (2023) · Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise · 10.1249/01.mss.0000984812.68604.8d · full text
meta-analysisTHE INFLUENCE OF RESISTANCE TRAINING VARIABLES ON MUSCLE STRENGTH: A SYSTEMATIC REVIEW AND META-ANALYSISMr. Philip Lyristakis, Daniel W T Wundersitz, Dr. Stephen Cousins, Dr. Emma Zadow, Associate Professor Brett Gordon (2024) · Journal of Clinical Exercise Physiology · 10.31189/2165-7629-13-s2.462 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
4 meta-analyses
Agreement
consistent for this claim. Direction recorded for 3 of 4 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (4)
meta-analysis · 2023
Currier et al. (2023) — Resistance training prescription for muscle strength and hypertrophy in healthy adults: a systematic review and Bayesian network meta-analysis
What it measured
Muscle strength and hypertrophy.
How it measured it
Muscle strength: 1RM test, isometric maximum voluntary contraction, isokinetic maximum voluntary contraction. Muscle hypertrophy: Ultrasonography, MRI, CT, bioelectrical impedance, dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry, hydrostatic weighing, air displacement plethysmography, microscopy.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 8,461 participants across 192 studies
meta-analysis · 2024
Lyristakis et al. (2024) — THE INFLUENCE OF RESISTANCE TRAINING VARIABLES ON MUSCLE STRENGTH: A SYSTEMATIC REVIEW AND META-ANALYSIS
What it measured
Muscle strength (chest and quadriceps)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2015
Borde et al. (2015) — Dose–Response Relationships of Resistance Training in Healthy Old Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Muscle strength (via 1RM and MVC) and muscle morphology (via MRI, CT, DEXA, ultrasound, or BOD POD).
How it measured it
Validated measures such as 1RM and MVC for strength; MRI, CT, DEXA, ultrasound, or BOD POD for muscle morphology.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 819 participants across 25 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Considerable large heterogeneity (I2 = 80%)
meta-analysis · 2023
Edouard et al. (2023) — Just start and keep training! What is the best resistance training prescription for strength and hypertrophy?
What it measured
Muscle strength, hypertrophy, and physical function.
How it measured it
Systematic review and Bayesian network meta-analysis of existing studies.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
Its conclusion, in its own words
“It is highly encouraging to see that as soon as individuals start training at a certain minimum dosage regularly, it is effective at improving muscle structure and function.”
How it was read
read in full text
Full-Body Beginner