Wellness Routines
← Routines
12 sources: 2 meta-analyses, 10 randomised controlled trials
Strength Training · 30 min slot · 2-4x/week

Bodyweight-Only Circuit

An equipment-free full-body session; progress by moving to harder variations as reps get easy, taking sets near failure. Duration is a default, not a cap.

How often: 2–4 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (10 of 13 sources named by SR03.1 state one) · planning default: 2-4x/week · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3 sessions/week (the report's bottom-line prescription)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Bodyweight Squat
    3 sets x 15-25 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Progress to split squats when easy.
    Slot: squat / knee-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for squat / knee-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    12 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Smith machine exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Push-Up
    3 sets x 8-20 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Use incline or knees to regress.
    Slot: horizontal push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 20 reps1 paper reports 30 s rest
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Push-up
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Inverted Row
    3 sets x 8-15 reps, ~75 sec rest
    Use a table edge or low bar.
    Slot: horizontal pull
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal pull. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bent-over row
    Described in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Inverted row
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Reverse Lunge
    2 sets x 10-15/leg, ~60 sec rest
    Unilateral legs.
    Slot: single-leg / lunge
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for single-leg / lunge. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Step-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Pike Push-Up
    2 sets x 8-15 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Vertical push.
    Slot: vertical push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 20 reps1 paper reports 30 s rest
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for vertical push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Overhead press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Glute Bridge
    2 sets x 15-25 reps, ~45 sec rest
    Hip hinge; single-leg to progress.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states %1RM, which this step does not carry; the routine's sets is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling; the routine's reps is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling; the finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no rest for this.
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  7. 7
    Plank
    2 sets x 30-60 sec, ~45 sec rest
    Core.
    Slot: anti-extension & anti-rotation core
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 45 min
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for anti-extension & anti-rotation core. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
1 reported by the review's sources16 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with certain health conditions, taking anabolic steroids Relative: Individuals with a BMI > 29 or specific medical conditions
    SR03.1 · canon row 726, contraindications field · Effect of Progressive Calisthenic Push-up Training on Muscle Strength and Thickness · studied: WHAT: The study involved two groups: PUSH (progressive calisthenic push-up training) and BENCH (standard free weight bench press training). The PUSH group performed progressive push-up exercises with varying difficulty levels, while the…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Advanced lower-body overload may require added load or single-leg variations.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Anyone starting out or training without equipment.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: bodyweight, dumbbell. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Bodyweight Squat: regress with Box Squat / Sit-to-Stand; Assisted Squat (hold support) and progress with Goblet Squat; Bulgarian Split Squat; Jump Squat.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Push-Up: regress with Incline (hands elevated) Push-Up; Knee Push-Up and progress with Decline Push-Up; Weighted Push-Up; Archer Push-Up.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Inverted Row: regress with Bar raised higher (more upright); Band Row and progress with Feet-elevated Inverted Row; Weighted Inverted Row.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Reverse Lunge: regress with Bodyweight Reverse Lunge; Split Squat and progress with Heavier load; Deficit Reverse Lunge.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Pike Push-Up: regress with Incline Pike Push-Up; Seated Band Overhead Press and progress with Elevated (feet-raised) Pike Push-Up; Handstand Push-Up.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Glute Bridge: regress with Feet closer / smaller range and progress with Barbell Hip Thrust; Single-Leg Glute Bridge.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Plank: regress with Knee Plank; Incline Plank and progress with Long-Lever Plank; Weighted Plank; RKC Plank.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Joint pain that persists beyond normal soreness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Inability to perform basic patterns without pain
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Bodyweight training uses your own mass as the load through movements like push-ups, squats, lunges, rows and planks.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.bodyweight-vs-external-load) studied: bodyweight and other non-weight training compared with traditional external-load training. Kotarsky 2017 (randomised trial) reports that progressive calisthenic push-up training raised upper-body strength similarly to free-weight bench press; Kikuchi 2017 (randomised trial) concludes that push-ups at a load similar to 40% of bench-press 1RM were comparably effective for hypertrophy and strength over an 8-week period; Wei 2023 (randomised trial) reports that bodyweight and barbell back squat training both improved strength and muscle mass in sedentary young women, with the barbell condition also lowering body fat; Grgic 2020 (meta-analysis) reports no significant difference in muscle-fibre hypertrophy between low- and high-load training performed to failure, with more research needed. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.bodyweight-vs-external-load).

Key sources
randomised controlled trialEffect of Progressive Calisthenic Push-up Training on Muscle Strength and ThicknessChristopher J Kotarsky, B. Christensen, Jason Miller, K. Hackney (2017) · Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research · 10.1519/jsc.0000000000002345 · full text
randomised controlled trialLow-load bench press and push-up induce similar muscle hypertrophy and strength gainN. Kikuchi, K. Nakazato (2017) · Journal of Exercise Science & Fitness · 10.1016/j.jesf.2017.06.003 · full text
randomised controlled trialBench Press and Push-up at Comparable Levels of Muscle Activity Results in Similar Strength GainsJ. Calatayud, S. Borreani, J. Colado, Fernando Martín, V. Tella, L. Andersen (2015) · Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research · 10.1519/jsc.0000000000000589 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
12 sources: 2 meta-analyses, 10 randomised controlled trials
Agreement
The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 7 of 12 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (12)
randomised controlled trial · 2017
Kotarsky et al. (2017) — Effect of Progressive Calisthenic Push-up Training on Muscle Strength and Thickness
What it measured
Maximal strength via 1RM bench press and push-up progression, muscle thickness via ultrasound, power via seated medicine ball put.
How it measured it
Validated protocols for 1RM bench press (NSCA), ultrasound for muscle thickness (Yasuda et al.), seated medicine ball put (Clemons et al.).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2017
Kikuchi et al. (2017) — Low-load bench press and push-up induce similar muscle hypertrophy and strength gain
What it measured
Muscle thickness at three sites (biceps, triceps, and pectoralis major), bench-press 1RM.
How it measured it
Standard exercise science methods (pre-post design).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2015
Calatayud et al. (2015) — Bench Press and Push-up at Comparable Levels of Muscle Activity Results in Similar Strength Gains
What it measured
Muscle strength gains via 6RM and 1RM tests for bench press and push-up exercises.
How it measured it
Electromyography (EMG) for muscle activity; 6RM and 1RM tests for strength gains. The EMG is a validated tool.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2023
Wei et al. (2023) — Effects of progressive body-weight versus barbell back squat training on strength, hypertrophy and body fat among sedentary young women
What it measured
Muscle strength (isokinetic knee extensor and flexor muscle peak torque), muscle hypertrophy (thickness of gluteus maximus, rectus femoris, and gastrocnemius muscles), and body fat percentage.
How it measured it
Muscle strength: dynamometer; Muscle thickness: B-mode ultrasound device; Body fat percentage: InBody 770 device.
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2022
Zuo et al. (2022) — Functional and Traditional Resistance Training Are Equally Effective in Increasing Upper and Lower Limb Muscular Endurance and Performance Variables in Untrained Young Men
What it measured
Muscular endurance (reps of bench press and leg flexion) and physical performance tests (sprint performance, pull-ups, throwing ability, and jumping ability).
How it measured it
Laboratory tests using standardized equipment (e.g., Quattro Jump System, photocells) and following guidelines from the American College of Sports Medicine.
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2019
Resende-Neto et al. (2019) — Effects of functional and traditional training in body composition and muscle strength components in older women: A randomized controlled trial.
What it measured
Maximal dynamic strength via 1RM test, muscular power using 50% of maximum load, isometric strength via hand and lumbar dynamometers.
How it measured it
Laboratory tests using validated methods (1RM test, linear encoder, dynamometers).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2010
Thorborg et al. (2010) — Hip abduction strength training in the clinical setting: With or without external loading?
What it measured
Hip abduction strength (isometric and eccentric)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2025
Terrazas et al. (2025) — Manual resistance training and resistance training elicit neuromuscular strength adaptations but not body composition changes in an 8- week exercise intervention.
What it measured
Body composition via Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry; Muscular strength via Isokinetic Knee Extension/Flexion, Isometric Bench Press, Isometric Mid-thigh Pull, One-Repetition Maximum (1RM) Bench Press, and 1RM Leg Press.
How it measured it
Validated methods: Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry for body composition; Isokinetic and isometric tests for muscular strength.
Its conclusion, in its own words
“An 8-week MRT or WRT intervention increases muscle strength without changes in body composition.”
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2023
Dorgo et al. (2023) — Effects of manual resistance versus weight resistance training on body composition and strength in young adults after a 14-week intervention.
What it measured
Changes in body composition (lean mass, fat mass) and muscular fitness (strength, endurance).
How it measured it
Body composition was assessed using Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry (DEXA), a validated method.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2020
Grgic (2020) — The Effects of Low-Load Vs. High-Load Resistance Training on Muscle Fiber Hypertrophy: A Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Muscle fiber hypertrophy (type I and type II).
How it measured it
Muscle biopsy samples.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 120 participants across 5 studies with 10 study groups
meta-analysis · 2022
Liu et al. (2022) — Effects of Different Resistance Exercise Forms on Body Composition and Muscle Strength in Overweight and/or Obese Individuals: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Body fat (BF), fat-free mass (FFM), skeletal muscle content (SMC), muscle strength (MS), and body mass index (BMI).
How it measured it
Through changes in these indicators as reported in the included studies, likely using anthropometric measurements or laboratory tests.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 669 participants across 15 studies
randomised controlled trial · 2024
Govindasamy et al. (2024) — The effects of kettlebell training versus resistance training using the own body mass on physical fitness and physiological adaptations in obese adults: a randomized controlled trial
What it measured
Physical fitness variables (cardiovascular fitness via 12-Minute Cooper run test, muscular endurance via push-up and sit-up tests, flexibility via sit-and-reach test), physiological measures (vital capacity, resting and maximum heart rate, mean arterial blood pressure, breath holding time, respiratory rate), biochemical variables (high and low density lipoprotein, total cholesterol, triglycerides).
How it measured it
Standardized tests and equipment (12-Minute Cooper run test, push-up and sit-up tests, sit-and-reach test, short-range radio telemetry, CSMI Spirometrics instrument, automated biochemical analyzer).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
Bodyweight-Only Circuit