Wellness Routines
← Routines
14 sources: 10 meta-analyses, 1 randomised controlled trial, 3 systematic reviews
Neuromotor (Balance/Agility/Coordination) · 45–60 min · 2-3x/week, 12+ weeks

Tai Chi-Inspired Balance Flow

A flowing sequence inspired by Tai Chi, one of the approaches to balance and fall prevention in older adults that the cited reviews study. Movements are slow, soft, and continuous.

How often: 1–7 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (13 of 16 sources named by SR09.2 state one) · planning default: 2-3x/week, 12+ weeks · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3 sessions/week (the report's bottom-line parameter set)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Tai Chi Weight Shift
    8-10 shifts x 2
    Knees soft; coordinate with breathing.
    Slot: dynamic balance
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets for this.
    10 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for dynamic balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Agility drills
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    13 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Tai Chi Cloud Hands
    60-90s continuous
    Link arm circles to weight shifts.
    Slot: coordination / cross-body sequencing
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for coordination / cross-body sequencing that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  3. 3
    Tai Chi Golden Rooster (Single-Leg Stand)
    5 lifts x 2 per side
    Keep a chair nearby; rise slowly.
    Slot: static balance
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)Amount from the review
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  4. 4
    Lateral Weight Shifts
    10 shifts x 2
    Smooth transitions.
    Slot: dynamic balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets for this.
    10 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for dynamic balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Agility drills
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    13 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Single-Leg Stand
    20s hold x 2 per leg
    Support within reach.
    Slot: static balance
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling; the finding states no sets for this.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
Safety, and where each line comes from
3 reported by the review's sources21 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: neurological diseases, uncontrolled cardiovascular and respiratory conditions, musculoskeletal diseases or surgeries, on medication affecting balance Relative: low or high uncontrolled blood pressure
    SR09.2 · canon row 2639, contraindications field · Balance Enhancement in Older Adults: Is Functional-Task Training Better Than Resistance Training in Enhancing Balance in Older Adults? · studied: WHAT: Functional-task training (FTT) and resistance training (RT) exercises. HOW: Supervised sessions with structured warm-up, core exercises, and cool-down; exercises were progressively increased in complexity and intensity.…
  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with neurological conditions (e.g., stroke, Parkinson's disease)
    SR09.2 · canon row 2683, contraindications field · Interventions for addressing low balance confidence in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis. · studied: - WHAT: Specific exercises included strengthening, functional balance training, and task-specific exercises. Tai Chi was a separate category with varying durations. Multifactorial interventions included home assessments, environmental…
  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with serious acute or chronic conditions such as stroke, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, inner ear infections, Meniere's disease, cognitive impairments, osteoporosis, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis, severe psychiatric disorders, or those unable to cooperate
    SR09.2 · canon row 2742, contraindications field · Effectiveness of Tai Chi exercise on balance, falls, and motor function in older adults: a meta-analysis · studied: The intervention involves Tai Chi exercises, sometimes combined with non-impactful activities like painting or singing. Participants are older adults aged 60 and above who have not practiced Tai Chi in the past year. The control group…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Reduce stance depth for painful knees/hips; use a chair nearby if unsteady.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Suitable for most older and deconditioned adults.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for adults who can stand unaided. A recent fall, a balance or vision condition, or a fear of falling changes what is appropriate here and calls for support within reach.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tai Chi Weight Shift: Fall risk: gentle and controlled—keep support nearby for beginners; strong evidence base for older adults.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tai Chi Cloud Hands: Fall risk: coordinating arms and legs divides attention—keep support nearby for beginners.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tai Chi Golden Rooster (Single-Leg Stand): Fall risk: single-leg hold—keep a chair or wall within reach.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral Weight Shifts: Fall risk: keep support in reach; a gentle entry drill to single-leg loading.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Single-Leg Stand: Fall risk: high—keep firm support within reach; strong predictor of fall risk, progress gradually.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events for this practice. Some of them report adverse events for other interventions the same review pooled, which are not shown here because they are not about this practice.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tai Chi Weight Shift: regress with Fingertip support; Smaller shift; Feet wider and progress with Lift the unweighted heel/foot; Slower and lower; Add arm 'cloud hands'.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tai Chi Cloud Hands: regress with Reduce range; Feet stay planted; Slower tempo and progress with Add stepping side to side; Deeper stance; Continuous flow with turns.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tai Chi Golden Rooster (Single-Leg Stand): regress with Fingertip support; Lift knee only slightly; Hold briefly and progress with Longer holds; Eyes on a fixed point then closed; Add arm movement.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral Weight Shifts: regress with Hold a counter; Smaller shifts; Feet wider and progress with Lift the unloaded foot briefly; Eyes closed; Add reach to the loaded side.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Single-Leg Stand: regress with Hold a chair back or counter; Keep toe of lifted foot lightly touching floor (kickstand); Hold 10s and progress with Eyes closed; Stand on foam pad; Add arm reaches or ball toss (dual-task).
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you lose balance without support to hand, feel dizzy or lightheaded, or cannot recover a stumble in one step; sit down and rest before continuing.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Two or more falls in the past 12 months, or any fall with injury
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dizziness, lightheadedness, or fainting during standing or movement
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)New or worsening unsteadiness, neurological symptoms, or numbness in the feet
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fear of falling severe enough to restrict daily activity
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have fallen in the past year, have a condition affecting balance or vision, or feel unsteady on your feet; do the first sessions with someone present.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it

Tai Chi is one of the balance modalities the underlying finding names; its unifying signal is that balance interventions work to the degree they specifically challenge postural control, which is what the slow weight shifts and single-leg holds above are doing. That is about the practice generally, not about this 30-minute session two to three times a week - no dose-response is established here, so the length and frequency shown are a design choice, not a research-backed number.

  • Keep a chair or wall within arm's reach for the whole sequence, and especially for the single-leg items.
  • Move slowly and continuously with the knees soft, transferring weight fully onto one leg before the next shift, and let the breathing follow the movement rather than holding it.
  • Cloud hands links arms to legs: circle the hands in front of the body in time with the side-to-side shift. Coordinating both divides your attention, so keep the feet planted and the tempo slow until it feels automatic.
  • Golden Rooster and the single-leg stand: rise slowly, standing knee soft, hips level. Use fingertip support or leave the lifted toe lightly touching the floor as a kickstand rather than skipping the item - 20 seconds is a target, not a requirement.
  • Shallow the stances if knees or hips are painful. Depth is optional; control is not.
  • Progress by holding longer, then narrowing your support, then fixing the gaze and eventually closing the eyes - and only with firm support in reach. Progress by control, not by speed.
2–3×/week, 45–60 min, ≥12–24 weeks
The evidence behind this practice doesn't establish a dose-response relationship, so this specific frequency and duration is a reasonable design choice, not a research-backed number.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.neuromotor.balance-modality-specificity) studied: balance training in older adults across several modalities, Tai Chi among them. Chen 2023 (meta-analysis, 24 studies, 4,497 participants) reports that Tai Chi significantly reduced fall risk (RR 0.76) and improved balance in older adults, whether healthy or at high risk of falling, with effectiveness increasing with exercise duration and frequency. Li 2024 (meta-analysis, 22 studies, 2,170 participants) reports that Tai Chi effectively enhances balance and physical function in older adults, with notable potential for fall risk reduction. Rand 2011 (meta-analysis, 24 studies, 2,154 participants) concludes that “Tai chi interventions are the most beneficial in increasing the balance confidence of older adults” (SMD 0.48). Guo 2024 (meta-analysis) reports that Tai Chi, yoga and resistance training three to four times a week for 50-60 minutes over 12 weeks significantly enhance balance and motor function. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.neuromotor.balance-modality-specificity).

Key sources
randomised controlled trialBalance Enhancement in Older Adults: Is Functional-Task Training Better Than Resistance Training in Enhancing Balance in Older Adults?R. Mohammed, S. Shahanawaz, Pallavi Dangat, G. Bhatnagar, Shyam Jungade (2021) · Cureus · 10.7759/cureus.19364 · full text
meta-analysisVirtual reality therapy for rehabilitation of balance in the elderly: a systematic review and META-analysisJ. S. C. de Amorim, Renata Cristine Leite, Renata Brizola, Cristhiane Yumi Yonamine (2018) · Advances in Rheumatology · 10.1186/s42358-018-0013-0 · full text
PreprintInfluence of reactive balance training program characteristics on reactive balance control and fall risk: a systematic review and meta-analysisH. Nachmani, L. Langer, A. J. Devasahayam, A. Mansfield (2025) · medRxiv · 10.1101/2025.08.01.25332828 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
14 sources: 10 meta-analyses, 1 randomised controlled trial, 3 systematic reviews
Agreement
The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 7 of 14 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
A source states a certainty rating for 1 outcome.
Authors
Sources share authors: Mohammad Khan (first author of 2 sources); Stanley Winser (senior author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (14)
randomised controlled trial · 2021
Mohammed et al. (2021) — Balance Enhancement in Older Adults: Is Functional-Task Training Better Than Resistance Training in Enhancing Balance in Older Adults?
What it measured
Balance performance (static and dynamic balance, mobility)
How it measured it
Berg Balance Scale (BBS), Timed Up and Go (TUG) test (validated tools)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2018
Amorim et al. (2018) — Virtual reality therapy for rehabilitation of balance in the elderly: a systematic review and META-analysis
What it measured
1. Balance was measured using the Berg Balance Scale and Timed Up and Go (TUG) test, both validated tools. 2. These measurements were conducted using validated clinical assessment tools. 3. Secondary outcomes included mobility, flexibility, gait, and fall reduction. 4. Compared to control groups or other interventions.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = not reported participants across 10 studies
meta-analysis · 2023
Chen et al. (2023) — Tai Chi for fall prevention and balance improvement in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
What it measured
Number of fallers, number of falls, balance assessment indicators (TUG, FRT, SLB, BBS, SPPB, FES, gait speed).
How it measured it
Standardized tests (TUG, FRT, SLB, BBS, SPPB, FES, gait speed assessment).
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 4,497 participants across 24 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Potential heterogeneity across studies
meta-analysis · 2025
Zhang et al. (2025) — Effects of different exercise modalities on balance performance in healthy older adults: a systematic review and network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
What it measured
Berg Balance Scale (BBS), Timed Up and Go Test (TUG), gait speed (GS), and one-leg stance with eyes open (OLSEO).
How it measured it
Validated clinical scales and tests: BBS, TUG, OLSEO, and GS.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and network meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 5,114 participants across 93 studies
meta-analysis · 2011
Rand et al. (2011) — Interventions for addressing low balance confidence in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
What it measured
Balance confidence (BC) in older adults.
How it measured it
Validated scales: Activities-specific Balance Confidence (ABC) Scale, Falls Efficacy Scale (FES), Modified Falls Efficacy Scale (MFES).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 2,154 participants across 24 studies
systematic review · 2017
Gerards et al. (2017) — Perturbation‐based balance training for falls reduction among older adults: Current evidence and implications for clinical practice
What it measured
Falls incidence
How it measured it
Prospective monitoring or retrospective reporting
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2016
Okubo et al. (2016) — Step training improves reaction time, gait and balance and reduces falls in older people: a systematic review and meta-analysis
What it measured
Number of falls during follow-up and the proportion of fallers.
How it measured it
Monthly fall diaries supplemented by follow-up telephone calls or face-to-face interviews.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
Its conclusion, in its own words
“The findings indicate that both reactive and volitional stepping interventions reduce falls among older adults by approximately 50%.”
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 660 participants across 7 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Substantial heterogeneity within the training programs which limited subgroup analyses.
meta-analysis · 2025
Khan et al. (2025) — Effectiveness of dual-task exercise in improving balance and preventing falls among older adults: systematic review with meta-analysis and meta-regression
What it measured
Dynamic balance via Berg Balance Scale (BBS) and Fullerton Advanced Balance (FAB), functional mobility via Timed Up and Go (TUG), and fall frequency via self-report.
How it measured it
BBS and FAB are validated tools for dynamic balance, TUG is a validated measure for functional mobility, and fall frequency was measured through self-reported diaries and questionnaires.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review with meta-analysis and meta-regression
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 2782 participants across 44 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
High heterogeneity among studies
meta-analysis · 2021
Chen et al. (2021) — Comparison between the effects of exergame intervention and traditional physical training on improving balance and fall prevention in healthy older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis
What it measured
1. Primary outcomes: Falls (number of fallers, number of falls, fall efficacy via FES-I, Icon-FES, short FES-I); Balance control (static balance via BBS, Tinetti balance Assessment, OLS, FRT, postural sway path length and mean sway speed; dynamic balance via TUG). 2. Measurement tools: Validated scales (FES-I, Icon-FES, short FES-I), standardized tests (BBS, Tinetti, OLS, FRT, TUG). 3. Secondary outcomes: Postural control, dynamic balance improvements. 4. Compared to: Traditional physical training (PT).
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 845 participants across 20 studies.
Heterogeneity, as stated
LIMITATIONS: Small number of eligible RCTs, publication bias, heterogeneity in intervention protocols, lack of characterization of long-term effects and optimal intervention duration.
systematic review · 2020
Varela-Vásquez et al. (2020) — Dual-task exercises in older adults: A structured review of current literature
What it measured
1. Primary outcomes: Balance and walking speed. 2. Measurement tools: Time Up and Go (TUG), Berg Balance Scale (BBS), Balance Evaluation System Test (BEST) - all validated. 3. Secondary outcomes: Static and dynamic equilibrium, gait performance, stride, cadence. 4. Compared to: Control groups (single-task training or no intervention), fixed vs. variable priority dual-task training.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review
Heterogeneity, as stated
LIMITATIONS: Heterogeneity in exercises, lack of specification in secondary task difficulty, small sample sizes in some studies, and issues with transferability.
systematic review · 2022
Khan et al. (2022) — A Systematic Review Exploring the Theories Underlying the Improvement of Balance and Reduction in Falls Following Dual-Task Training among Older Adults
What it measured
Balance and falls
How it measured it
Validated scales like Berg Balance Scale (BBS), Timed Up and Go (TUG), and others; falls evaluated using number, percentage, and incidence rate ratio
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review
Heterogeneity, as stated
Heterogeneity in participant characteristics and study methods.
meta-analysis · 2024
Guo et al. (2024) — Effects of different exercise types on balance function in healthy older adults and Parkinson’s patients: a systematic review
What it measured
Balance function using the Berg Balance Scale (BBS) and the Timed Up and Go test (TUG).
How it measured it
Validated tools: BBS and TUG.
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2024
Li et al. (2024) — Effectiveness of Tai Chi exercise on balance, falls, and motor function in older adults: a meta-analysis
What it measured
Balance, fall risk, and physical function via BBS, TUG, OLS-C, FES, FOF, SPPB.
How it measured it
Validated scales and tests such as BBS, TUG, OLS-C.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 2,170 participants across 22 studies
meta-analysis · 2024
Cieślik et al. (2024) — Balance Board or Motion Capture? A Meta-Analysis Exploring the Effectiveness of Commercially Available Virtual Reality Exergaming in Enhancing Balance and Functional Mobility Among the Elderly
What it measured
Balance and functional mobility
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1457 participants across 28 studies
Certainty ratings the sources state (1)
Khan et al. (2025), for its own outcome
Rating, as the source states it
very low to moderate
Framework
not named by the source
Applies to
AUTHOR CONCLUSION: "There is very low to moderate quality evidence for the use of DT training as a single intervention to improve dynamic balance and functional mobility and reduce falls in older adults."
Stated by
Khan et al. (2025)
Tai Chi-Inspired Balance Flow