Wellness Routines
← Routines
5 meta-analyses
Neuromotor (Balance/Agility/Coordination) · 30–45 min · 3x/week, 12+ weeks

Older-Adult Fall-Prevention (Multicomponent)

A multicomponent routine combining strength, static and dynamic balance, and gait; Sherrington 2016 (meta-analysis) reports a 21% reduction in falls with exercise in community-dwelling older people (pooled rate ratio 0.79) and concludes that "Exercise programmes that challenge balance and are of a higher dose have larger effects." Keep a sturdy chair/counter within reach for every item and progress gradually; plan for supervision early on.

How often: 1–5 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (2 of 5 sources named by SR09.1 state one) · planning default: 3x/week, 12+ weeks · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3 sessions/week (the report's bottom-line parameter set)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Sit-to-Stand
    10 reps x 2
    Sturdy chair against a wall.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets or reps for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Mini Squat
    10 reps x 2
    Fingertip support as needed.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets or reps for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Heel Raises (Calf Raises)
    12 reps x 2
    Support; progress to single-leg.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets or reps for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Semi-Tandem Stance
    20s hold x 2 per side
    Support nearby.
    Slot: static balance
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionBelow the finding’s stated duration ≥180 per week (this routine’s is 90–135); session length (batch 27's derivation) and frequency are not this batch's to change.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  5. 5
    Single-Leg Stand
    10-20s hold x 3 per leg
    Chair within reach; monitor fatigue.
    Slot: static balance
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionBelow the finding’s stated duration ≥180 per week (this routine’s is 90–135); session length (batch 27's derivation) and frequency are not this batch's to change.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  6. 6
    Tandem Walk (Heel-to-Toe Walking)
    10 steps x 2
    Along a wall; clear the path.
    Slot: gait and stepping
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets for this.
    7 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for gait and stepping. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Perturbation training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  7. 7
    Step-Up
    8 reps x 2 per leg
    Use a rail; stable low step.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states no sets or reps for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
1 reported by the review's sources25 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesRelative: High-risk individuals should avoid brisk walking programs; modifications are needed for residential care settings and those with cognitive impairment
    SR09.1 · canon row 2685, contraindications field · Exercise to prevent falls in older adults: an updated meta-analysis and best practice recommendations. · studied: WHAT: Balance training with a moderate or high challenge to balance, including reducing base of support, movement of center of gravity, and reducing need for upper limb support. Walking training may be included but not brisk walking for…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Start supported; add challenge only when the current level is steady; consider initial professional guidance.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for community-dwelling older adults, including fall-risk individuals.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for adults who can stand unaided. A recent fall, a balance or vision condition, or a fear of falling changes what is appropriate here and calls for support within reach.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: chair, none, step. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sit-to-Stand: Fall risk: use a stable, non-rolling chair against a wall; key strength driver for standing balance.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Mini Squat: Fall risk: keep support handy; a gentler alternative to sit-to-stand.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heel Raises (Calf Raises): Fall risk: rising onto toes reduces base—keep light support until steady.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Semi-Tandem Stance: Fall risk: stand beside a stable support; unilateral setup shifts weight—recover before repeating.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Single-Leg Stand: Fall risk: high—keep firm support within reach; strong predictor of fall risk, progress gradually.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tandem Walk (Heel-to-Toe Walking): Fall risk: perform along a wall or rail; older adults should have a spotter until confident.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Step-Up: Fall risk: use a rail on stairs; ensure the step is stable and non-slip.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sit-to-Stand: regress with Push off the armrests or thighs; Use a higher/firmer seat; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Slow 3-second lowering; Single-leg-assisted stand.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Mini Squat: regress with Hold support; Shallower depth; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Deeper range; Tempo lowering.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heel Raises (Calf Raises): regress with Two-hand support; Smaller range; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Single-leg heel raise; Eyes closed at top.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Semi-Tandem Stance: regress with Fingertip support on a wall or rail; Shorten the offset toward feet-together; Hold 10s and progress with Eyes closed; Foam pad; Reach arms overhead.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Single-Leg Stand: regress with Hold a chair back or counter; Keep toe of lifted foot lightly touching floor (kickstand); Hold 10s and progress with Eyes closed; Stand on foam pad; Add arm reaches or ball toss (dual-task).
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Tandem Walk (Heel-to-Toe Walking): regress with Walk beside a wall/counter for fingertip support; Allow a small gap between steps; Shorten distance and progress with Eyes forward with head turns; Walk on a line/tape; Carry a tray (dual-task).
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Step-Up: regress with Hold a rail; Lower step height; Fewer reps and progress with Higher step; Slow lowering; Add knee drive at the top.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you lose balance without support to hand, feel dizzy or lightheaded, or cannot recover a stumble in one step; sit down and rest before continuing.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Two or more falls in the past 12 months, or any fall with injury
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dizziness, lightheadedness, or fainting during standing or movement
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)New or worsening unsteadiness, neurological symptoms, or numbness in the feet
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fear of falling severe enough to restrict daily activity
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have fallen in the past year, have a condition affecting balance or vision, or feel unsteady on your feet; do the first sessions with someone present.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • It is designed for gradual progression with support available.
3×/week, 30–45 min balance+strength plus walking, ≥12 weeks, ongoing
The research observed benefit across this range but hasn't pinned down the minimum amount that still works. A shorter session may still help; it just isn't validated as enough on its own.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.neuromotor.concept-dose-response) studied: exercise as a single intervention and falls in community-dwelling older people. Sherrington 2016 (meta-analysis, 88 studies, 19,478 participants) reports a 21% reduction in falls and concludes that exercise as a single intervention can prevent falls, with larger effects from programmes that challenge balance and are of a higher dose. Sherrington 2011 (meta-analysis, 54 studies) reports a 16% reduction in falls and differential effects for programmes with balance training, a higher exercise dose and no walking training, with a higher dose of exercise associated with greater effects on reducing falls. Chen 2023 (meta-analysis, 24 studies, 4,497 participants) reports that Tai Chi significantly reduced fall risk and improved balance, including Timed Up and Go. Pillay 2024 (meta-analysis, 219 studies, 167,864 participants) reports that evidence is most certain for benefit, at least over 1 to 2 years, from supervised, long-duration balance and resistance training and group Tai Chi. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.neuromotor.concept-dose-response).

Key sources
meta-analysisExercise to prevent falls in older adults: an updated meta-analysis and best practice recommendations.C. Sherrington, A. Tiedemann, N. Fairhall, J. Close., S. Lord (2011) · New South Wales Public Health Bulletin · 10.1071/nb10056 · full text
meta-analysisTai Chi for fall prevention and balance improvement in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trialsWeidong Chen, Min Li, Hai Li, Yanzhao Lin, Zhoushan Feng (2023) · Frontiers in Public Health · 10.3389/fpubh.2023.1236050 · full text
meta-analysisFalls prevention interventions for community-dwelling older adults: systematic review and meta-analysis of benefits, harms, and patient values and preferencesJ. Pillay, L. Gaudet, S. Saba et al. (2024) · Systematic Reviews · 10.1186/s13643-024-02681-3 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
5 meta-analyses
Agreement
consistent for this claim. Direction recorded for 2 of 5 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
Authors
Sources share authors: C. Sherrington (first author of 2 sources); S. Lord (senior author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (5)
meta-analysis · 2011
Sherrington et al. (2011) — Exercise to prevent falls in older adults: an updated meta-analysis and best practice recommendations.
What it measured
Rate of falls
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review with meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = not reported participants across 54 studies
meta-analysis · 2023
Chen et al. (2023) — Tai Chi for fall prevention and balance improvement in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
What it measured
Number of fallers, number of falls, balance assessment indicators (TUG, FRT, SLB, BBS, SPPB, FES, gait speed).
How it measured it
Standardized tests (TUG, FRT, SLB, BBS, SPPB, FES, gait speed assessment).
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 4,497 participants across 24 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Potential heterogeneity across studies
meta-analysis · 2024
Pillay et al. (2024) — Falls prevention interventions for community-dwelling older adults: systematic review and meta-analysis of benefits, harms, and patient values and preferences
What it measured
Number of fallers, falls, injurious fallers, fractures, hip fractures, residential status/institutionalization, health-related quality of life (HRQoL), functional status.
How it measured it
EQ-5D utility measurement for HRQoL; other outcomes likely measured through trial data, but specific tools not detailed.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review with meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 167,864 participants across 219 studies
meta-analysis · 2016
Sherrington et al. (2016) — Exercise to prevent falls in older adults: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis
What it measured
Rate of falls in older adults.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review with meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 19,478 participants across 88 studies
meta-analysis · 2025
Zhang et al. (2025) — Effects of different exercise modalities on balance performance in healthy older adults: a systematic review and network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
What it measured
Berg Balance Scale (BBS), Timed Up and Go Test (TUG), gait speed (GS), and one-leg stance with eyes open (OLSEO).
How it measured it
Validated clinical scales and tests: BBS, TUG, OLSEO, and GS.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and network meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 5,114 participants across 93 studies
Older-Adult Fall-Prevention (Multicomponent)