Wellness Routines
← Routines
Research gap
Neuromotor (Balance/Agility/Coordination) · 20 min slot · 3x/week, 12+ weeks

Chair-Based Balance (Frailer Adults)

A seated and seated-to-standing routine for frailer, deconditioned, or higher-fall-risk adults who need substantial support. All items are performed at or near a sturdy chair; this routine is designed to be done with supervision.

How often: 3x/week, 12+ weeks · planning default, not from the research
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.
Not yet in the evidence base — this is a reasonable way to work toward the goal, not a recommendation a review has confirmed. See “Evidence status” below for what a review would need to confirm.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Sit-to-Stand
    5-8 reps x 2
    Push off armrests as needed; the core strength item.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Toe Raises (Tibialis Raises)
    10 reps x 2 (seated or standing)
    Hold chair; keep knees soft.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Heel Raises (Calf Raises)
    10 reps x 2 (seated or standing)
    Two-hand support if standing.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Lateral Weight Shifts
    8 shifts x 2 (standing at chair)
    Both hands on chair back.
    Slot: dynamic balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    10 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for dynamic balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Agility drills
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    13 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Staggered Stance Hold
    15s hold x 2 per side
    Hand on chair; small stagger.
    Slot: static balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
Safety, and where each line comes from
21 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Progress to standing only with support present; consider professional guidance for frailty.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for frailer, deconditioned, or very fall-risk older adults.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for adults who can stand unaided. A recent fall, a balance or vision condition, or a fear of falling changes what is appropriate here and calls for support within reach.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: chair, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sit-to-Stand: Fall risk: use a stable, non-rolling chair against a wall; key strength driver for standing balance.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Toe Raises (Tibialis Raises): Fall risk: shifting weight to heels can tip you backward—keep support behind or beside you.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heel Raises (Calf Raises): Fall risk: rising onto toes reduces base—keep light support until steady.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral Weight Shifts: Fall risk: keep support in reach; a gentle entry drill to single-leg loading.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Staggered Stance Hold: Fall risk: keep support nearby; a good bridge stance before tandem work.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sit-to-Stand: regress with Push off the armrests or thighs; Use a higher/firmer seat; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Slow 3-second lowering; Single-leg-assisted stand.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Toe Raises (Tibialis Raises): regress with Two-hand support; Smaller lift; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Hold at top; Combine with heel raises (rocking).
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heel Raises (Calf Raises): regress with Two-hand support; Smaller range; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Single-leg heel raise; Eyes closed at top.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral Weight Shifts: regress with Hold a counter; Smaller shifts; Feet wider and progress with Lift the unloaded foot briefly; Eyes closed; Add reach to the loaded side.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Staggered Stance Hold: regress with Hand on counter; Shorten the stagger; Hold 10s and progress with Eyes closed; Shift more weight to the front leg; Foam pad.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you lose balance without support to hand, feel dizzy or lightheaded, or cannot recover a stumble in one step; sit down and rest before continuing.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Two or more falls in the past 12 months, or any fall with injury
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dizziness, lightheadedness, or fainting during standing or movement
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)New or worsening unsteadiness, neurological symptoms, or numbness in the feet
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fear of falling severe enough to restrict daily activity
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have fallen in the past year, have a condition affecting balance or vision, or feel unsteady on your feet; do the first sessions with someone present.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Use a sturdy chair with armrests that can't roll or slide, backed against a wall, and have someone nearby if you're unsteady.
  • Sit-to-stand is the anchor: sit tall at the front of the seat with feet under the knees, lean forward slightly and drive up through the heels, then lower with control instead of dropping. Push off the armrests, or use a higher and firmer seat, for as many reps as you need.
  • Toe raises tip you backward and heel raises tip you forward, so keep support beside or behind you for both, and do them seated first if the standing versions feel unsteady.
  • Weight shifts: both hands on the chair back, move your weight fully onto one foot and let the other lighten without stepping. Smooth and controlled, not swaying.
  • Staggered stance: half a stride forward, hips square, torso tall, weight split roughly evenly, one hand staying on the chair. Ten seconds is a fine hold to start from before building to fifteen.
  • Progress in that order - seated, then standing with support, then brief holds without hands - and only let go once the supported version is comfortable. If you've fallen in the past year, feel lightheaded on standing, or notice new unsteadiness or numbness in the feet, get that looked at before progressing.
Evidence status
Not yet in the evidence base

No internal review in this library has asked this specific practice’s question yet, so there are no cited studies here. It’s included as a way to work toward the goal — not because a review has confirmed it works as described.

What a review would need to answer: Does chair-based or seated-to-standing exercise improve balance in frail older adults?

Chair-Based Balance (Frailer Adults)