Wellness Routines
← Routines
5 sources: 2 meta-analyses, 1 non-randomised trial, 2 randomised controlled trials
Neuromotor (Balance/Agility/Coordination) · 15 min slot · 3x/week

Beginner Supported Balance

A gentle entry routine for those new to balance work or feeling unsteady. Every drill is done with a stable support within arm's reach.

How often: 1–3 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (4 of 5 sources named by SR09.4 state one) · planning default: 3x/week · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3 sessions/week (the report's bottom-line parameter set)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Feet-Together Stand
    20s hold x 3
    One hand resting on counter; progress to fingertips only.
    Slot: static balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states no sets or duration for this.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  2. 2
    Staggered Stance Hold
    20s hold x 2 per side
    Keep support handy; swap lead foot.
    Slot: static balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states no sets or duration for this.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for static balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Dance for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  3. 3
    Lateral Weight Shifts
    10 shifts x 2
    Small, controlled shifts side to side.
    Slot: dynamic balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states no sets for this.
    10 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for dynamic balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Agility drills
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Proprioceptive training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    13 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tandem stance / walking
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Sit-to-Stand
    8 reps x 2
    Use a sturdy, non-rolling chair against a wall.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states no sets or reps for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Heel Raises (Calf Raises)
    10 reps x 2
    Fingertips on chair; lower slowly.
    Slot: strength-for-balance
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states no sets or reps for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for strength-for-balance. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
2 reported by the review's sources21 product safeguard (app-authored)4 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Cognitive problems, inability to provide informed consent, certain medical conditions (e.g., osteoporosis, severe cardiopulmonary disease), use of certain medications
    SR09.4 · canon row 2738, contraindications field · The effect of perturbation-based balance training on balance control and fear of falling in older adults: a single-blind randomised controlled trial · studied: WHAT: Perturbation-based balance training (PBT) consisting of three 30-minute sessions over three weeks. Specific exercises include unilateral treadmill belt accelerations and decelerations, platform perturbations, gait adaptability…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Begin beside a solid support; progress stance only when steady.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ideal entry point for older and unsteady adults.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for adults who can stand unaided. A recent fall, a balance or vision condition, or a fear of falling changes what is appropriate here and calls for support within reach.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: chair, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Reported by the review's sourcesOne training-related adverse event was reported, but details are not provided.
    SR09.4 · canon row 2738, adverse events field · The effect of perturbation-based balance training on balance control and fear of falling in older adults: a single-blind randomised controlled trial · studied: WHAT: Perturbation-based balance training (PBT) consisting of three 30-minute sessions over three weeks. Specific exercises include unilateral treadmill belt accelerations and decelerations, platform perturbations, gait adaptability…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Feet-Together Stand: Fall risk: keep a chair or counter within arm's reach; progress only when a stance feels secure.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Staggered Stance Hold: Fall risk: keep support nearby; a good bridge stance before tandem work.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral Weight Shifts: Fall risk: keep support in reach; a gentle entry drill to single-leg loading.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sit-to-Stand: Fall risk: use a stable, non-rolling chair against a wall; key strength driver for standing balance.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heel Raises (Calf Raises): Fall risk: rising onto toes reduces base—keep light support until steady.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Feet-Together Stand: regress with Stand near a counter and rest one hand on it; Widen stance slightly if unsteady; Reduce hold time to 10s and progress with Close eyes; Stand on a foam pad; Add slow head turns.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Staggered Stance Hold: regress with Hand on counter; Shorten the stagger; Hold 10s and progress with Eyes closed; Shift more weight to the front leg; Foam pad.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Lateral Weight Shifts: regress with Hold a counter; Smaller shifts; Feet wider and progress with Lift the unloaded foot briefly; Eyes closed; Add reach to the loaded side.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sit-to-Stand: regress with Push off the armrests or thighs; Use a higher/firmer seat; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Slow 3-second lowering; Single-leg-assisted stand.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Heel Raises (Calf Raises): regress with Two-hand support; Smaller range; Fewer reps and progress with No hands; Single-leg heel raise; Eyes closed at top.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you lose balance without support to hand, feel dizzy or lightheaded, or cannot recover a stumble in one step; sit down and rest before continuing.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Two or more falls in the past 12 months, or any fall with injury
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dizziness, lightheadedness, or fainting during standing or movement
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)New or worsening unsteadiness, neurological symptoms, or numbness in the feet
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fear of falling severe enough to restrict daily activity
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have fallen in the past year, have a condition affecting balance or vision, or feel unsteady on your feet; do the first sessions with someone present.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • This foundational series narrows the base of support in stages, feet apart, feet together, semi-tandem, tandem, then single-leg, each held for timed intervals near support.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

It is an equipment-free way to start. Be aware that one high-quality pooled analysis found exercise improved balance overall yet not static balance specifically; treat this series as an on-ramp to task-specific work rather than as the training itself.

Key sources
meta-analysisSpecificity of Balance Training in Healthy Individuals: A Systematic Review and Meta-AnalysisJakob Kümmel, A. Kramer, L. Giboin, M. Gruber (2016) · Sports Medicine · 10.1007/s40279-016-0515-z · full text
non-randomised trialSix weeks of balance or power training induce no generalizable improvements in balance performance in healthy young adultsL. Giboin, M. Gruber, A. Kramer (2019) · BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation · 10.1186/s13102-019-0146-4 · full text
meta-analysisEffectiveness of Different Training Modalities on Static Balance in Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-AnalysisNoé Labata-Lezáun, Sergi Rodríguez-Rodríguez, Carlos López-de-Celis et al. (2023) · Life · 10.3390/life13051193 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
5 sources: 2 meta-analyses, 1 non-randomised trial, 2 randomised controlled trials
Agreement
Not computed: the review summary this entry was written from says “conflicts”, “Convergence”, and all 3 sources that state a direction at this claim report no effect. Direction recorded for 3 of 5 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (5)
meta-analysis · 2016
Kümmel et al. (2016) — Specificity of Balance Training in Healthy Individuals: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Balance performance in trained and non-trained tasks.
How it measured it
Time at stability during stance on different surfaces and estimates of center of pressure movement on a force platform; validated using the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) scale.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 102 participants across 6 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
LIMITATIONS: The study is limited by the small number of studies included in the meta-analysis, moderate heterogeneity in some categories due to task and method diversity, and only considering English-language published studies.
non-randomised trial · 2019
Giboin et al. (2019) — Six weeks of balance or power training induce no generalizable improvements in balance performance in healthy young adults
What it measured
Balance performance in two untrained balance tasks (tilt-board and sensoboard), peak power in countermovement jumps.
How it measured it
Balance tasks: specific tasks with hands on hips, performance estimated with a stopwatch; Peak power: force plate (Leonardo Mechanograph GRFP) during countermovement jumps.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
No effect
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2023
Labata-Lezáun et al. (2023) — Effectiveness of Different Training Modalities on Static Balance in Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Static balance
How it measured it
One-legged stance test, Berg balance scale, Romberg test, short physical performance battery (balance test); validated tools
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
No effect
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 335 participants across 8 studies
randomised controlled trial · 2024
Sievänen et al. (2024) — Effect of 10-Week Whole-Body Vibration Training on Falls and Physical Performance in Older Adults: A Blinded, Randomized, Controlled Clinical Trial with 1-Year Follow-Up
What it measured
Number of falls, physical functioning (via SPPB), fear of falling (via Falls Efficacy Scale International), daily physical activity (via hip-worn triaxial accelerometer).
How it measured it
Falls: self-report diary verified by telephone calls; Physical functioning: SPPB; Fear of falling: Falls Efficacy Scale International; Daily physical activity: hip-worn triaxial accelerometer.
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2023
Gerards et al. (2023) — The effect of perturbation-based balance training on balance control and fear of falling in older adults: a single-blind randomised controlled trial
What it measured
Balance control via Mini-BESTest. 2. HOW was it measured? Validated measurement tool (Mini-BESTest). 3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Fear of falling via FES-I. 4. COMPARED TO: Compared to usual care alone.
How it measured it
Validated measurement tool (Mini-BESTest). 3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Fear of falling via FES-I. 4. COMPARED TO: Compared to usual care alone.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
No effect
How it was read
read in full text
Beginner Supported Balance