Wellness Routines
← Routines
10 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 3 randomised controlled trials, 3 systematic reviews
Flexibility · 10 min slot · after most training sessions

Static Stretch Cool-Down (Post-Workout)

Static holds go after training, not before power work. This routine is about flexibility and a calm-down, not soreness prevention: none of the cited rows records a conclusion that stretching lowers DOMS.

How often: 2–7 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (5 of 10 sources named by SR07.1 state one) · planning default: after most training sessions · the review report’s bottom line: 2–5 sessions/week (chronic ROM gains, across included studies)
When: after training · planning default, not from the research
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Seated Forward Fold (Hamstring Stretch)
    hold 30s x 2
    Long spine, hinge from hips.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Standing Quadriceps Stretch
    hold 30s x 2 per side
    Tuck the pelvis for more front-thigh stretch.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch
    hold 30s x 2 per side
    Pad the down knee.
    Slot: post-activity
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    5 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Standing Calf Stretch (Gastrocnemius)
    hold 30s x 2 per side
    Rear heel stays down.
    Slot: post-activity
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    5 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Doorway Chest / Pec Stretch
    hold 30s x 2
    Gentle lean, no shoulder pain.
    Slot: post-activity
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    5 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Supine Spinal Twist
    hold 30s x 2 per side
    Keep both shoulders down.
    Slot: joint-specific ROM
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 min
    8 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    36 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Wall-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
22 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Avoid stretching into sharp pain; ease off if hypermobile.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Nearly all adults seeking greater flexibility.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Hypermobility, a recent injury or surgery, or a bone-density condition changes what is appropriate here.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: mat, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Forward Fold (Hamstring Stretch): Ease off with acute lower-back pain or sciatica; avoid forcing a rounded-spine bounce.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Quadriceps Stretch: Avoid yanking the knee into deep flexion if it is painful.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch: Cushion the down knee; keep the front knee tracking over the foot.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Calf Stretch (Gastrocnemius): Keep the rear heel planted; ease off with Achilles pain.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Doorway Chest / Pec Stretch: Avoid overstretching if you have shoulder instability; keep it gentle.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Supine Spinal Twist: Move gently with disc-related back issues; keep it pain-free.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Seated Forward Fold (Hamstring Stretch): regress with Bend the knees slightly; Sit on a cushion to tilt the pelvis forward; Loop a strap around the feet and hold that instead and progress with Reach for the soles of the feet; Add a gentle active contraction (PNF); Single-leg seated fold for more range.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Quadriceps Stretch: regress with Hold a wall for balance; Use a strap around the ankle if you can't reach and progress with Perform kneeling with rear foot elevated (couch stretch); Add posterior pelvic tilt.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Kneeling Hip Flexor Stretch: regress with Pad the down knee; Reduce the forward shift and progress with Reach the same-side arm overhead; Add a slight trunk rotation away from the down leg.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Calf Stretch (Gastrocnemius): regress with Shorten the stance; Reduce the lean and progress with Step the rear foot further back; Use a slant board or step edge.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Doorway Chest / Pec Stretch: regress with Lower the arm height; Reduce the forward lean and progress with Raise the elbows to bias the lower pec fibers; Single-arm version for a deeper stretch.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Supine Spinal Twist: regress with Place a cushion under the crossed knee; Reduce how far the knee travels and progress with Straighten the top leg for more leverage; Add gentle overpressure on the knee.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel sharp pain, numbness, tingling or a pulling sensation in a joint rather than a muscle; stretch to mild tension, never through pain.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sharp or radiating pain during stretching, stop and consult a clinician.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sudden loss of range of motion or joint instability, seek a physical therapist.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Numbness, tingling, or a recent injury, get medical clearance first.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have a joint that dislocates, a recent injury or surgery, osteoporosis, or nerve symptoms in a limb.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Do it after activity or as a standalone session.
hold 30–60s per muscle, 2–3×/week per muscle group
The research observed benefit across this range but hasn't pinned down the minimum amount that still works. A shorter session may still help; it just isn't validated as enough on its own.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry studied: static stretching and joint range of motion, in single sessions and over training periods, including a review of stretching type and duration (Thomas 2018) and a meta-analysis of chronic effects and their moderators (Konrad 2023). Those sources are seven syntheses and three randomised trials (Fukaya 2020, Nakamura 2021, Kataura 2017). Their conclusions are not yet recorded in this library, so this entry states no effect of this routine on range of motion. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry on static stretching and range of motion this practice links to.

Key sources
meta-analysisAcute Effects of Various Stretching Techniques on Range of Motion: A Systematic Review with Meta-AnalysisD. Behm, S. Alizadeh, A. Daneshjoo et al. (2023) · Sports Medicine - Open · 10.1186/s40798-023-00652-x · full text
meta-analysisInfluence of static stretching on hamstring flexibility in healthy young adults: Systematic review and meta-analysisD. M. Medeiros, Anelize Cini, G. Sbruzzi, C. Lima (2016) · Physiotherapy Theory and Practice · 10.1080/09593985.2016.1204401 · full text
systematic reviewThe effects of hamstring stretching on range of motion: a systematic literature review.L. Decoster, J. Cleland, C. Altieri, P. Russell (2005) · Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy · 10.2519/jospt.2005.35.6.377 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
10 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 3 randomised controlled trials, 3 systematic reviews
Agreement
Direction recorded for 0 of 10 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
Authors
Sources share authors: D. Medeiros (first author of 2 sources); A. Konrad (senior author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (10)
meta-analysis · 2023
Behm et al. (2023) — Acute Effects of Various Stretching Techniques on Range of Motion: A Systematic Review with Meta-Analysis
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1658 participants across 47 studies
meta-analysis · 2016
Medeiros et al. (2016) — Influence of static stretching on hamstring flexibility in healthy young adults: Systematic review and meta-analysis
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2005
Decoster et al. (2005) — The effects of hamstring stretching on range of motion: a systematic literature review.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
Systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1338 participants across 28 studies
meta-analysis · 2018
Medeiros et al. (2018) — Chronic effect of different types of stretching on ankle dorsiflexion range of motion: Systematic review and meta-analysis.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 659 participants across 20 studies
systematic review · 2006
Radford et al. (2006) — Does stretching increase ankle dorsiflexion range of motion? A systematic review
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 161 participants across 5 studies
meta-analysis · 2023
Konrad et al. (2023) — Chronic effects of stretching on range of motion with consideration of potential moderating variables: A systematic review with meta-analysis
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2018
Thomas et al. (2018) — The Relation Between Stretching Typology and Stretching Duration: The Effects on Range of Motion
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2021
Nakamura et al. (2021) — Comparison Between High- and Low-Intensity Static Stretching Training Program on Active and Passive Properties of Plantar Flexors
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2020
Fukaya et al. (2020) — Effects of Static Stretching With High-Intensity and Short-Duration or Low-Intensity and Long-Duration on Range of Motion and Muscle Stiffness
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2017
Kataura et al. (2017) — Acute Effects of the Different Intensity of Static Stretching on Flexibility and Isometric Muscle Force
How it was read
read in full text
Static Stretch Cool-Down (Post-Workout)