PNF Contract-Relax (Partner-Free)
PNF (contract-relax) can produce strong acute range gains. Use submaximal contractions and never hold your breath. All drills here are self-administered with a strap or floor, no partner needed.
The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.
- 1PNF Hamstring Contract-Relax (Strap)3–4 contract-relax cycles per side (5–10s push each)Ease into new range after each contraction.Slot: joint-specific ROMNamed by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states no duration for this.
8 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review36 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Vibration-assistedCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedWall-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
- 2PNF Hip Flexor Contract-Relax3–4 cycles per sidePress the down knee into the floor.Slot: joint-specific ROMNamed by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 4 papers · 2–12 repsthe finding states no reps for this.
8 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review36 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Vibration-assistedCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedWall-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
- 3PNF Calf Contract-Relax (Strap)3–4 cycles per sideStraight knee for gastroc, bent for soleus.Slot: joint-specific ROMNamed by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 4 papers · 2–12 repsthe finding states no reps for this.
8 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review36 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Vibration-assistedCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedWall-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
- 4PNF Chest / Pec Contract-Relax (Doorway)3–4 cyclesSubmaximal press into the doorframe.Slot: joint-specific ROMNamed by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 4 papers · 2–12 repsthe finding states no reps for this.
8 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for joint-specific ROM. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review18 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Dynamic warm-upCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Foam rollingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review7 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Static stretchingCompared in the review36 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Vibration-assistedCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedWall-assistedCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Safety, and where each line comes from18 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent
Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.
Who should modify or avoid this
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Contract at moderate, not maximal, effort; avoid with acute strains.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Adults comfortable with a slightly more involved technique.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Hypermobility, a recent injury or surgery, or a bone-density condition changes what is appropriate here.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.
Prerequisites
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: mat, none, strap. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.
Hazards and adverse events
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Hamstring Contract-Relax (Strap): Use submaximal contractions; avoid breath-holding and straining.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Hip Flexor Contract-Relax: Keep contractions gentle; pad the down knee.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Calf Contract-Relax (Strap): Submaximal contractions; ease off with Achilles pain.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Chest / Pec Contract-Relax (Doorway): Submaximal effort only; gentle with unstable shoulders.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.
Progression and regression
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Hamstring Contract-Relax (Strap): regress with Lower the contraction effort; Keep a slight knee bend and progress with Add an antagonist contraction (contract-relax-antagonist-contract); Increase range gained per cycle.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Hip Flexor Contract-Relax: regress with Reduce the contraction effort; Smaller range gains and progress with Add posterior pelvic tilt at the new range; Add an overhead reach.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Calf Contract-Relax (Strap): regress with Bend the knee to bias the soleus; Reduce contraction effort and progress with Keep the knee straight for the gastroc; Increase range gained per cycle.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)PNF Chest / Pec Contract-Relax (Doorway): regress with Lower the arm height; Reduce contraction effort and progress with Raise the arm angle each cycle; Single-arm version.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.
Stop conditions
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel sharp pain, numbness, tingling or a pulling sensation in a joint rather than a muscle; stretch to mild tension, never through pain.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.
When to seek supervision or clearance
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Sharp or radiating pain during stretching, stop and consult a clinician.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Sudden loss of range of motion or joint instability, seek a physical therapist.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Numbness, tingling, or a recent injury, get medical clearance first.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have a joint that dislocates, a recent injury or surgery, osteoporosis, or nerve symptoms in a limb.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
- Contract the target muscle, then relax and stretch further, repeating a few cycles.
What the evidence says
This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.flexibility.foam-rolling-smr-mechanisms) studied: PNF stretching compared with dynamic stretching, foam rolling and post-activation strategies before activity. Those sources are two meta-analyses (Dutta 2023, 8 studies and 174 participants; Yu 2024, 19 studies), a systematic review (Anderson 2020) and five randomised trials, among them Deguzman 2018 (dynamic stretching, PNF and foam rolling) and Malek 2024 (dynamic stretching and PNF for sprint and jump). Their conclusions are not yet recorded in this library, so this entry states no effect of PNF and no comparison with the other methods. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.flexibility.foam-rolling-smr-mechanisms).
- Agreement
- Direction recorded for 0 of 8 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (8)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review with meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = not reported participants across 19 studies
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 174 participants across 8 studies
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text