Wellness Routines
← Routines
5 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 1 systematic review
Cardio & Endurance · 75 min slot · 1-2x/week

Long Slow Distance

One longer easy-pace session (RPE 3-4) to build endurance and volume. Keep it truly easy so it stays sustainable. Default 75 min; scale to your training level.

How often: 2–5.6 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (5 of 5 sources named by SR06.1 state one) · planning default: 1-2x/week · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3+ sessions/week (the report's bottom-line prescription)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Easy Run (Zone 2)
    10 min very easy warm-up
    Start slower than goal pace.
    Slot: pre-activity preparation
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for pre-activity preparation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    10 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    40 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic warm-up
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    39 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Vibration-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Easy Run (Zone 2)
    55 min continuous at easy Zone 2 pace
    Cycling or Nordic walking are low-impact substitutes.
    Slot: low-intensity / base volume
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for low-intensity / base volume. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Cycling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Swimming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Walking
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Brisk Walk
    10 min walk cool-down
    Refuel and hydrate afterward.
    Slot: post-activity
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe routine's duration is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    5 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
1 reported by the review's sources14 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fuel and hydrate
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Adults building endurance
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. A heart, lung or metabolic condition, or medication that affects heart rate, changes what is appropriate here.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Reported by the review's sourcesLikely adverse responders were observed in elderly participants and those with coronary artery disease or metabolic syndrome.
    SR06.1 · canon row 1420, adverse events field · A Multi-Center Comparison of O2peak Trainability Between Interval Training and Moderate Intensity Continuous Training · studied: WHAT: High-volume HIIT involves more than 15 minutes of high-intensity efforts per session (e.g., 4 × 4-minute intervals at 90% peak heart rate). Low-volume HIIT/SIT involves less than 15 minutes of high-intensity efforts (e.g., 6 ×…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Easy Run (Zone 2): If pace forces mouth-gulping breaths, slow down; build weekly mileage gradually.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: Choose even surfaces and supportive footwear; slow down if dizzy or short of breath.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Easy Run (Zone 2): regress with Walk-jog intervals; Shorter distance and progress with Long slow distance run; Tempo run.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: regress with Casual-pace walk; Shorter intervals with seated rest and progress with Incline walk; Nordic walking; Walk-jog intervals.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel chest pain or pressure, faintness, unusual breathlessness for the effort, palpitations, or pain in a joint that changes how you move.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest pain, pressure, or unusual shortness of breath during exertion
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fainting, dizziness, or palpitations with exercise
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Known or suspected cardiovascular, metabolic, or renal disease without medical clearance
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart or lung condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, diabetes on medication, or symptoms on exertion; start at a lower intensity than the routine states if you are new to exercise.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it

The review summary this routine was written from reports that cardiorespiratory fitness improves with aerobic training across the whole low-to-high intensity band - endurance training raised VO2max by roughly 4.9 mL/kg/min against about 5.5 for interval formats, a real but modest gap - while higher-volume or higher-intensity work tends to produce somewhat larger peak gains, making easy extended work a dependable route rather than the fastest one. The 75 minutes shown here, 55 of them continuous at easy pace between a warm-up and a walk, is a practical implementation of that general result; the review summary this routine was written from does not validate this particular length or the once-or-twice-weekly frequency.

  • Easy means conversational: RPE 3-4, roughly 60-70% HRmax, able to speak a full sentence. If the pace forces mouth-gulping breaths, slow down - staying easy is the point of the session.
  • Start the first 10 minutes slower than goal pace, then hold the pace steady rather than letting it drift faster as you warm up.
  • Long durations raise overuse-injury risk, so extend the session by roughly 10% a week instead of jumping distance, and keep the intensity easy while you do.
  • Cycling or Nordic walking substitute directly if you want the duration without the impact.
  • Fuel and hydrate for a session this long, and finish with the 10-minute walk rather than stopping cold.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.cardio.intensity-zones) studied: aerobic training at different intensities, low-intensity endurance training among them, with cardiorespiratory fitness as the outcome. Nuuttila 2026 (meta-analysis) reports that low-intensity endurance training improved aerobic fitness, with a large effect on relative VO2max (ES 0.94). Crowley 2022 (umbrella review, 179 studies) reports that both LIT and HIT are effective for improving VO2max, with the apparent differences between them either small, trivial or inconclusive. Milanović 2015 (meta-analysis, 28 studies, 723 participants) reports large improvements in VO2max from both endurance training and HIT, with the gains greater following HIT. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.cardio.intensity-zones).

Key sources
meta-analysisEffectiveness of High-Intensity Interval Training (HIT) and Continuous Endurance Training for VO2max Improvements: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Controlled TrialsZ. Milanović, G. Sporiš, M. Weston (2015) · Sports Medicine · 10.1007/s40279-015-0365-0 · full text
meta-analysisTraining Mode Comparisons on Cardiorespiratory, Body Composition and Metabolic Profile Adaptations in Reproductive Age Women: A Systemic Review and Meta-AnalysisJ. M. Aparecido, C. S. Frientes, G. L. Martins et al. (2022) · Obesities · 10.3390/obesities2020018 · full text
meta-analysisEffects of Low‐Intensity Endurance Training on Aerobic Fitness and Risk Factors of Cardiometabolic Health in Working‐Age Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta‐AnalysisOlli-Pekka Nuuttila, Pekka Matomäki, J. Raitanen, Harri Sievänen, T. Vasankari (2026) · Scandinavian Journal of Medicine & Science in Sports · 10.1111/sms.70208 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
5 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 1 systematic review
Agreement
consistent for this claim. Direction recorded for 2 of 5 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (5)
meta-analysis · 2015
Milanović et al. (2015) — Effectiveness of High-Intensity Interval Training (HIT) and Continuous Endurance Training for VO2max Improvements: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Controlled Trials
What it measured
Maximal oxygen uptake (VO2max)
How it measured it
Laboratory test (typically measured through treadmill test or cycle ergometry)
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 723 participants across 28 studies
meta-analysis · 2022
Aparecido et al. (2022) — Training Mode Comparisons on Cardiorespiratory, Body Composition and Metabolic Profile Adaptations in Reproductive Age Women: A Systemic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF), weight (kg), body fat mass (%), plasma glucose (fasting), and lipid levels.
How it measured it
Spirometry for CRF, body composition analysis for weight and body fat, blood samples for glucose and lipid levels. The measurement tools are validated.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 459 participants across 11 studies
meta-analysis · 2026
Nuuttila et al. (2026) — Effects of Low‐Intensity Endurance Training on Aerobic Fitness and Risk Factors of Cardiometabolic Health in Working‐Age Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta‐Analysis
What it measured
Aerobic fitness (VO2max, VT1), cardiometabolic health indicators (systolic and diastolic blood pressure, cholesterol levels, triglycerides, glucose), body composition (fat mass, fat-and bone-free mass).
How it measured it
VO2max: graded exercise test on a cycling ergometer; Blood pressures: mercury manometer; Blood samples: enzymatic assays; Body composition: DXA and CT scans.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
Enrolled: N = 120; Analyzed: N = 90
meta-analysis · 2019
Williams et al. (2019) — A Multi-Center Comparison of O2peak Trainability Between Interval Training and Moderate Intensity Continuous Training
What it measured
VO2peak
How it measured it
Indirect calorimetry from a graded exercise test to volitional fatigue on a cycle ergometer or treadmill (validated laboratory test)
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 677 participants across 18 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Heterogeneity of participants and training approaches
systematic review · 2022
Crowley et al. (2022) — The Effect of Exercise Training Intensity on VO2max in Healthy Adults: An Overview of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
What it measured
VO2max
How it measured it
Laboratory test (validated)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
umbrella review (review of reviews)
Studies and participants, as stated
N = not reported participants across 179 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Methodological considerations such as heterogeneity, small-study bias, and overlap between studies.
Long Slow Distance