Wellness Routines
← Routines
8 sources: 5 meta-analyses, 1 randomised controlled trial, 2 systematic reviews
Strength Training · 65 min slot · 3-4x/week

Hypertrophy-Focused Full Body

A muscle-building session emphasizing 8-15 rep sets taken ~0-2 reps from failure, accumulating 10-20 hard sets per muscle across the week. The default duration can be adjusted.

How often: 2–3 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (5 of 10 sources named by SR02.1 state one) · planning default: 3-4x/week · the review report’s bottom line: 3×/week (most common protocols, as reported)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Barbell Back Squat
    4 sets x 8-12 reps, ~2 min rest
    Quads/glutes.
    Slot: squat / knee-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescription1 paper reports 90 s restthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward quadriceps, gluteals, adductors or erector spinae and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for squat / knee-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    12 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Smith machine exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Incline Dumbbell Press
    4 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest
    Chest.
    Slot: horizontal push
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward pectorals, deltoids or triceps and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Push-up
    Compared in the review
    7 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    One-Arm Dumbbell Row
    4 sets x 10-12/arm, ~90 sec rest
    Back.
    Slot: horizontal pull
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward latissimus dorsi, rhomboids or biceps and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal pull. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bent-over row
    Described in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Inverted row
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Suspension-trainer exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Romanian Deadlift
    3 sets x 8-12 reps, ~2 min rest
    Hamstrings/glutes.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward hamstrings, gluteals or erector spinae and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Dumbbell Lateral Raise
    4 sets x 12-20 reps, ~45 sec rest
    Side delts.
    Slot: isolation
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward deltoids and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    7 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for isolation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Biceps curl
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Calf raise
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Side plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Triceps extension
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Dumbbell Biceps Curl
    3 sets x 10-15 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Biceps.
    Slot: isolation
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescription1 paper reports 4 setsthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward biceps and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    7 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for isolation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Biceps curl
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Calf raise
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Side plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Triceps extension
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  7. 7
    Triceps Pushdown
    3 sets x 10-15 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Triceps.
    Slot: isolation
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward triceps and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    7 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for isolation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Biceps curl
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Calf raise
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Side plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Triceps extension
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
  8. 8
    Leg Curl
    3 sets x 10-15 reps, ~60 sec rest
    Hamstrings.
    Slot: isolation
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward hamstrings and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
    7 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for isolation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Biceps curl
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Calf raise
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Isometric hold
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Side plank
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Triceps extension
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
Muscle mapping: app-authoredThis session’s volume: SR02.1 and SR02.P4 state ≥10 and ≤20 sets per muscle group per week, across every session in the week. This session contributes 4 for quadriceps, 7 for gluteals, 4 for adductors, 7 for erector spinae, 4 for pectorals, 8 for deltoids, 7 for triceps, 4 for latissimus dorsi, 4 for rhomboids, 7 for biceps and 6 for hamstrings. One session is not a week: the comparison against that figure is made on the programme page and in the planner, where the week's sessions are known. Counted this way: every set counted in full toward each muscle the catalogue names as primary; secondary muscles are not recorded anywhere in the records and are not counted. The finding states no rule for counting a set that trains more than one muscle, so the outcome could differ under another. Under a direct-only count — sets from a step whose slot names the muscle, which in the slot vocabulary is the isolation slot alone — this session contributes 4 for deltoids, 3 for triceps, 3 for biceps and 3 for hamstrings; nothing for quadriceps, gluteals, adductors, erector spinae, pectorals, latissimus dorsi and rhomboids. The muscle mapping is app-authored: every exercise in the catalogue carries evidence_source component_library, and no review states one.
Sets per muscle group, and the steps behind each
  • quadriceps · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 4 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • gluteals · 7 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 4 (squat / knee-dominant), Romanian Deadlift 3 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • adductors · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 4 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • erector spinae · 7 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 4 (squat / knee-dominant), Romanian Deadlift 3 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • pectorals · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Incline Dumbbell Press 4 (horizontal push)
  • deltoids · 8 sets (4 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Incline Dumbbell Press 4 (horizontal push), Dumbbell Lateral Raise 4 (isolation)
  • triceps · 7 sets (3 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Incline Dumbbell Press 4 (horizontal push), Triceps Pushdown 3 (isolation)
  • latissimus dorsi · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): One-Arm Dumbbell Row 4 (horizontal pull)
  • rhomboids · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): One-Arm Dumbbell Row 4 (horizontal pull)
  • biceps · 7 sets (3 counting only the steps whose slot names it): One-Arm Dumbbell Row 4 (horizontal pull), Dumbbell Biceps Curl 3 (isolation)
  • hamstrings · 6 sets (3 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Romanian Deadlift 3 (hinge / hip-dominant), Leg Curl 3 (isolation)
  • SR02.1: “Practical volume targets from […] reviews cluster at ≥10 sets/week/muscle for hypertrophy (Bernárdez-Vázquez et al. 2022 umbrella review; Currier BS et al. 2026) and 12–20 weekly sets as an optimal band (Korotych 2024; Baz-Valle et al. 2022), while higher-volume programs also maximized lean body mass gains in aging adults (Peterson et al. 2011; Peterson et al. 2004).”
  • SR02.P4: “Volume (as reported): practical targets cluster at ≥10 sets/week/muscle group, with a 12–20 set/week band cited as optimal for hypertrophy (Bernárdez-Vázquez et al. 2022; Baz-Valle et al. 2022; Korotych 2024); more yields diminishing returns.”
  • […] marks our own earlier grade or verdict wording, removed from the quotation.
Safety, and where each line comes from
2 reported by the review's sources19 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: diagnosed type I diabetes mellitus, arrhythmia, noncontrolled hypertension, major orthopedic musculoskeletal conditions, use of dietary supplements or drugs with anabolic effects
    SR02.1 · canon row 3, contraindications field · Molecular signatures underlying heterogenous hypertrophy responsiveness to resistance training in older men and women: a within-subject design. · studied: WHAT: Unilateral knee extensions with 1 set and 4 sets of 8-15 repetition maximum (RM) with 60-90 seconds interval between sets. HOW: Supervised by an experienced exercise physiologist; progressive resistance training with load adjustments.
  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with acute or chronic cardiovascular, musculoskeletal, or respiratory diseases Relative: Individuals with certain health conditions may need medical clearance
    SR02.1 · canon row 288, contraindications field · Means of strength training in the structure of health training for young men. · studied: WHAT: Strength training 3 times a week; light training for soleus muscle hypertrophy; heavy training for calf muscle hypertrophy; multi-joint exercises after isolated ones for pectoral hypertrophy; weight-lifting training; recommended…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)High volume must be matched by recovery, sleep and nutrition to avoid overuse.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Adults specifically prioritizing muscle growth.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: barbell, dumbbell, machine. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Back Squat: Use safety pins or a rack; keep the spine neutral.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Romanian Deadlift: Stop lowering when the back can no longer stay flat.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Back Squat: regress with Goblet Squat; Leg Press; Bodyweight Squat and progress with Front Squat; Pause Squat; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Incline Dumbbell Press: regress with Machine Chest Press; Flat Dumbbell Bench Press and progress with Incline Barbell Press; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)One-Arm Dumbbell Row: regress with Seated Cable Row; Band Row and progress with Heavier load; Barbell Row.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Romanian Deadlift: regress with Dumbbell Romanian Deadlift; Kettlebell Deadlift and progress with Deficit RDL; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dumbbell Lateral Raise: regress with Lighter load; Band Lateral Raise and progress with Heavier load; Cable Lateral Raise.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dumbbell Biceps Curl: regress with Lighter load; Band Curl and progress with Heavier load; Incline Curl.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Triceps Pushdown: regress with Lighter load; Band Pushdown and progress with Heavier load; Overhead Triceps Extension.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Leg Curl: regress with Lighter load and progress with Heavier load; Nordic Curl.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Persistent joint or tendon pain beyond normal soreness
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of under-recovery with stalled progress
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Progressive overload and adequate protein round out the approach.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.training-volume) studied: weekly set volume and its relation to hypertrophy and strength. Bernárdez-Vázquez 2022 (umbrella review) states that at least 10 sets per week per muscle group is optimal for hypertrophy; Baz-Valle 2022 (meta-analysis) reports no significant difference beyond 12 to 20 weekly sets for quadriceps and biceps hypertrophy in trained young men, and more than 20 sets more effective for the triceps; Peterson 2011 (meta-analysis) reports resistance exercise effective for lean-mass gains in aging adults, particularly with higher-volume programs (mean 1.1 kg); Lixandrão 2025 (randomised trial) reports four sets more effective than one for hypertrophy in medium and high responders. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.training-volume).

Key sources
randomised controlled trialMolecular signatures underlying heterogenous hypertrophy responsiveness to resistance training in older men and women: a within-subject design.M. Lixandrão, M. Bamman, K. Lavin et al. (2025) · Journal of applied physiology · 10.1152/japplphysiol.00052.2025 · full text
systematic reviewResistance Training Variables for Optimization of Muscle Hypertrophy: An Umbrella ReviewRoberto Bernárdez-Vázquez, J. Raya-González, D. Castillo, M. Beato (2022) · Frontiers in Sports and Active Living · 10.3389/fspor.2022.949021 · full text
meta-analysisA Systematic Review of The Effects of Different Resistance Training Volumes on Muscle HypertrophyEneko Baz-Valle, C. Balsalobre-Fernández, Carlos Alix-Fages, J. Santos-Concejero (2022) · Journal of Human Kinetics · 10.2478/hukin-2022-0017 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
8 sources: 5 meta-analyses, 1 randomised controlled trial, 2 systematic reviews
Agreement
The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 3 of 8 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
Authors
Sources share authors: M. Peterson (first author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (8)
randomised controlled trial · 2025
Lixandrão et al. (2025) — Molecular signatures underlying heterogenous hypertrophy responsiveness to resistance training in older men and women: a within-subject design.
What it measured
Quadriceps muscle cross-sectional area (qCSA) for muscle hypertrophy.
How it measured it
Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) using ImageJ software.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2022
Bernárdez-Vázquez et al. (2022) — Resistance Training Variables for Optimization of Muscle Hypertrophy: An Umbrella Review
What it measured
1. Muscle hypertrophy via muscle thickness, cross-sectional area (CSA), and lean body mass (LBM). 2. Measurement methods not specified; typically involves imaging techniques or body composition analysis. 3. No secondary outcomes mentioned. 4. Compared different resistance training variables for effects on hypertrophy.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
umbrella review (review of reviews)
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 4,784 participants across 178 studies
meta-analysis · 2022
Baz-Valle et al. (2022) — A Systematic Review of The Effects of Different Resistance Training Volumes on Muscle Hypertrophy
What it measured
Muscle hypertrophy through direct measurements of muscle thickness and cross-sectional area.
How it measured it
Ultrasound, a validated method.
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2024
Lyristakis et al. (2024) — THE INFLUENCE OF RESISTANCE TRAINING VARIABLES ON MUSCLE STRENGTH: A SYSTEMATIC REVIEW AND META-ANALYSIS
What it measured
Muscle strength (chest and quadriceps)
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2024
Korotych (2024) — Means of strength training in the structure of health training for young men.
What it measured
Effect of strength training on functional capabilities, physical condition, and health in young men.
How it measured it
Comprehensive indicators of physical characteristics, anthropometry, muscle function, and biochemical parameters related to strength training.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = not reported participants across 9 studies
meta-analysis · 2011
Peterson et al. (2011) — Influence of resistance exercise on lean body mass in aging adults: a meta-analysis.
What it measured
Change in Lean Body Mass (LBM)
How it measured it
Hydrodensitometry, whole body air plethysmography, and Dual energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA)
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1328 participants across 49 studies.
meta-analysis · 2004
Peterson et al. (2004) — MAXIMIZING STRENGTH DEVELOPMENT IN ATHLETES: A META‐ANALYSIS TO DETERMINE THE DOSE‐RESPONSE RELATIONSHIP
What it measured
Maximal strength gains. 2. HOW was it measured? Through a meta-analysis using effect sizes calculated as standardized mean differences. 3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Not mentioned. 4. COMPARED TO: Different training intensities, frequencies, and volumes to determine optimal dose-response.
How it measured it
Through a meta-analysis using effect sizes calculated as standardized mean differences. 3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Not mentioned. 4. COMPARED TO: Different training intensities, frequencies, and volumes to determine optimal dose-response.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = not reported participants across 37 studies
meta-analysis · 2025
Pelland et al. (2025) — The Resistance Training Dose Response: Meta-Regressions Exploring the Effects of Weekly Volume and Frequency on Muscle Hypertrophy and Strength Gains.
What it measured
Muscle Hypertrophy and Strength Gain
How it was read
read in full text
Hypertrophy-Focused Full Body