Push / Pull / Legs - Push Day
The push day of a PPL rotation covering all pressing muscles with ~4-8 sets each. Run 3x or 6x weekly depending on recovery. The listed duration is a default.
The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.
- 1Barbell Bench Press4 sets x 6 reps, ~1 min restHorizontal push.Slot: horizontal pushNamed by a Round-2 reviewAmount from the reviewObserved in 5 papers · 2–4 setsObserved in 3 papers · 6–12 repsObserved in 2 papers · 60–180 s restthis step's sets were raised from 3 to 4, which is inside the 2–4 sets its option's 5 papers state, so the number is the papers' and not this app's.
4 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Bench pressCompared in the review24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsIsometric holdCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Suspension-trainer exerciseCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 2Barbell Overhead Press3 sets x 8-12 reps, ~2 min restVertical push.Slot: vertical pushNamed by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescription1 paper reports 3 sets1 paper reports 6–15 reps1 paper reports 180 s restthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward deltoids, triceps or trapezius and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
2 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for vertical push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Bench pressCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in sets × repsOverhead pressCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps - 3Incline Dumbbell Press3 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec restUpper chest.Slot: horizontal pushNamed by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward pectorals, deltoids or triceps and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; an earlier rule raised this step from “3 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest” by comparing one session against that weekly figure; the comparison is withdrawn and the number stands, because lowering a prescription is a dose change; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
4 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Bench pressCompared in the review24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsIsometric holdCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Suspension-trainer exerciseCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 4Dumbbell Lateral Raise4 sets x 12-15 reps, ~60 sec restSide delts.Slot: isolationScaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward deltoids and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
7 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for isolation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Biceps curlCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsCalf raiseCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsHip thrustCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedIsometric holdCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PlankCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Side plankCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedTriceps extensionCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 5Triceps Pushdown3 sets x 10-15 reps, ~60 sec restTriceps.Slot: isolationNamed by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward triceps and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
7 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for isolation. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Biceps curlCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsCalf raiseCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsHip thrustCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not statedIsometric holdCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PlankCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Side plankCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not statedTriceps extensionCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated - 6Chest Dip2 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec restChest/triceps; reduce depth if shoulders hurt.Slot: horizontal pushNamed by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward pectorals, triceps or deltoids and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; an earlier rule raised this step from “2 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest” by comparing one session against that weekly figure; the comparison is withdrawn and the number stands, because lowering a prescription is a dose change; the finding states no reps or rest for this.
4 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for horizontal push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Bench pressCompared in the review24 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × repsIsometric holdCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
Suspension-trainer exerciseCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
Sets per muscle group, and the steps behind each
- pectorals · 9 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Bench Press 4 (horizontal push), Incline Dumbbell Press 3 (horizontal push), Chest Dip 2 (horizontal push)
- triceps · 15 sets (3 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Bench Press 4 (horizontal push), Barbell Overhead Press 3 (vertical push), Incline Dumbbell Press 3 (horizontal push), Triceps Pushdown 3 (isolation), Chest Dip 2 (horizontal push)
- deltoids · 16 sets (4 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Bench Press 4 (horizontal push), Barbell Overhead Press 3 (vertical push), Incline Dumbbell Press 3 (horizontal push), Dumbbell Lateral Raise 4 (isolation), Chest Dip 2 (horizontal push)
- trapezius · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Overhead Press 3 (vertical push)
- SR02.P4: “Volume (as reported): practical targets cluster at ≥10 sets/week/muscle group, with a 12–20 set/week band cited as optimal for hypertrophy (Bernárdez-Vázquez et al. 2022; Baz-Valle et al. 2022; Korotych 2024); more yields diminishing returns.”
Safety, and where each line comes from18 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent
Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.
Who should modify or avoid this
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Deconditioned individuals should start with the lower dose and build gradually.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Healthy adults of any age seeking an efficient, well-rounded program.From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.
Prerequisites
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: barbell, bodyweight, dumbbell, machine. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.
Hazards and adverse events
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bench Press: Use a spotter or safety pins when training near failure.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Overhead Press: Keep ribs down and avoid overarching the lower back.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest Dip: Avoid excessive depth if it causes shoulder pain.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.
Progression and regression
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bench Press: regress with Dumbbell Bench Press; Machine Chest Press; Push-Up and progress with Close-Grip Bench Press; Pause Bench Press; Heavier load.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Overhead Press: regress with Dumbbell Shoulder Press; Machine Shoulder Press and progress with Push Press; Heavier load.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Incline Dumbbell Press: regress with Machine Chest Press; Flat Dumbbell Bench Press and progress with Incline Barbell Press; Heavier load.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Dumbbell Lateral Raise: regress with Lighter load; Band Lateral Raise and progress with Heavier load; Cable Lateral Raise.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Triceps Pushdown: regress with Lighter load; Band Pushdown and progress with Heavier load; Overhead Triceps Extension.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest Dip: regress with Assisted Dip (machine or band); Bench Dip and progress with Weighted Dip.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.
Stop conditions
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.
When to seek supervision or clearance
- Product safeguard (app-authored)New or worsening joint pain that persists beyond normal sorenessFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest pain, dizziness or breathlessness during exertionFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
- A full-body routine trains every major muscle group in each session; an upper/lower split divides the week by region, and push/pull/legs divides it by movement pattern.
What the evidence says
This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.repetition-tempo) studied: program-design choices compared at matched volume. Ramos-Campo 2024 (meta-analysis) reports no significant difference in strength or muscle growth between split and full-body routines when training volume is equated; Rosa 2022 (meta-analysis) concludes that whole-muscle hypertrophy is similar between multi-joint and single-joint training; Coleman 2022 (meta-analysis) concludes that its findings would seem to indicate that drop sets and traditional sets are both viable options for muscular adaptations, and that drop sets may provide a more time-efficient alternative; Schoenfeld 2015 (meta-analysis) concludes that a fairly wide range of repetition durations can be employed if the primary goal is muscle growth. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.repetition-tempo).
- Agreement
- The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 5 of 13 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
- Authors
- Sources share authors: B. Schoenfeld (senior author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (13)
- What it measured
- Strength performance via 1RM bench press and lower limbs; cross-sectional area of elbow extensors, elbow flexors, vastus lateralis; lean body mass.
- How it measured it
- Validated one-repetition maximum test for strength; ultrasound, DXA, anthropometry, bioelectrical impedance for muscle mass.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- No effect
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 392 participants across 14 studies
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Heterogeneity in methods used to quantify muscle mass
- What it measured
- Muscle hypertrophy of the limb muscles
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- No effect
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Maximal muscle strength and muscle power.
- How it measured it
- Pre/post-test between-subject standardized mean differences (SMDs).
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 491 participants across 17 studies
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Heterogeneity in variable resistance approaches.
- What it measured
- Muscle strength and hypertrophy.
- How it measured it
- Muscle strength: isometric or dynamic tests; Muscle hypertrophy: ultrasound, CT, MRI.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- No effect
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Strength development or strength gains
- How it measured it
- Not explicitly detailed
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- No effect
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Muscle size, muscle strength, endurance
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- No effect
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Muscle strength (isometric and isokinetic), muscle power (e.g., countermovement jump, squat jump, depth jump, and long jump), and sprint speed (10-30 m sprint).
- How it measured it
- Through various exercises and tests as indicated by the types of strength and power assessments mentioned.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis, systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 853 participants across 41 studies
- What it measured
- Muscle strength and muscle hypertrophy
- How it measured it
- Laboratory tests or standardized assessments (validation not explicitly mentioned)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Hypertrophic response to resistance training (RT)
- How it measured it
- Measured morphologic changes via biopsy, imaging, and/or densitometry (validated laboratory tests)
- Its conclusion, in its own words
- “a fairly wide range of repetition durations can be employed if the primary goal is to maximize muscle growth.”
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Dynamic muscular strength via 1 RM test.
- How it measured it
- Validated 1 RM test.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis, systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 509 participants across 15 studies
- What it measured
- Muscle hypertrophy of the quadriceps and biceps brachii.
- How it measured it
- Direct measures using cross-sectional area and muscle thickness.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 119 participants across 6 studies
- What it measured
- Muscle hypertrophy
- How it measured it
- Raw data (mean and standard deviation) from pre-intervention and post-intervention
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Muscle strength, hypertrophy, and power output.
- How it measured it
- Quantitative measurement using standardized mean differences (SMDs).
- How it was read
- read in full text