Wellness Routines
← Routines
10 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 1 randomised controlled trial, 5 systematic reviews
Neuromotor (Balance/Agility/Coordination) · 20–40 min · 2-3x/week, 8-12 weeks

Coordination & Dual-Task Session

Combines coordination drills with cognitive-motor dual-tasking, which trains the divided-attention demands of real-life falls. Use a clear, familiar space.

How often: 1–6 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (2 of 10 sources named by SR10.3 state one) · planning default: 2-3x/week, 8-12 weeks · the review report’s bottom line: 2–3 sessions per week (modal prescription)
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Marching with Opposite Arm Swing
    60s x 2
    Coordinate opposite arm and knee.
    Slot: coordination / cross-body sequencing
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionBelow the finding’s stated duration ≥120 per week (this routine’s is 40–120); session length (batch 27's derivation) and frequency are not this batch's to change.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for coordination / cross-body sequencing that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  2. 2
    Cross-Crawl (Contralateral March)
    60s x 2
    Hand to opposite knee; support if unsteady.
    Slot: coordination / cross-body sequencing
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionBelow the finding’s stated duration ≥120 per week (this routine’s is 40–120); session length (batch 27's derivation) and frequency are not this batch's to change.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for coordination / cross-body sequencing that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  3. 3
    Ball Toss Against Wall
    30 catches x 2
    Track the ball; vary height.
    Slot: coordination / cross-body sequencing
    Scaffold: app-designed stepMeets the finding's dose
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for coordination / cross-body sequencing that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

  4. 4
    Square-Stepping Pattern
    2-3 patterns
    Clear mat; support nearby for older adults.
    Slot: gait and stepping
    Named by a Round-2 reviewApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states duration, which this step does not carry; the finding states sets, which this step does not carry; the routine's reps is outside the range the finding's sentence describes, and the sentence states no floor or ceiling.
    7 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for gait and stepping. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Gait training
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Multicomponent programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    What the review holds
    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Perturbation training
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Square-stepping
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    3 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
  5. 5
    Dual-Task Walking
    2-3 min continuous
    Add a counting/naming task; slow if either falters.
    Slot: dual-task
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionBelow the finding’s stated duration ≥120 per week (this routine’s is 40–120); session length (batch 27's derivation) and frequency are not this batch's to change.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for dual-task. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration
    What the review holds
  6. 6
    Dual-Task Standing Balance
    30s x 2 per side
    Tandem stance plus mental task; support within reach.
    Slot: dual-task
    Named by a Round-2 review (by reading)App-designed prescriptionBelow the finding’s stated duration ≥120 per week (this routine’s is 40–120); session length (batch 27's derivation) and frequency are not this batch's to change.
    4 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for dual-task. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Otago Exercise Programme
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Tai Chi
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in repetitions

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in repetitions. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    VR / exergaming
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for balance
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    What the review holds
Safety, and where each line comes from
2 reported by the review's sources23 product safeguard (app-authored)4 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with major medical or physical conditions, those fully dependent on an assistive device, those with dementia Relative: Those with recent participation in similar exercise programs
    SR10.3 · canon row 2842, contraindications field · Effects of Dalcroze Eurhythmics Exercise Versus Multicomponent Exercise on Physical and Cognitive Function, and Falls in Older Adults: The EPHYCOS Randomized Controlled Trial · studied: - WHAT: Dalcroze Eurhythmics (DE) exercise program involving multitask exercises with music; multicomponent exercise program (MULTI) incorporating balance, functional, and strength training. - HOW: DE was delivered once weekly in a group…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop or simplify if the mental task makes movement unsteady; keep support nearby.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Applies broadly to the populations listed in population_tags.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for adults who can stand unaided. A recent fall, a balance or vision condition, or a fear of falling changes what is appropriate here and calls for support within reach.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: ball, floor-mat, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Reported by the review's sourcesOne serious adverse event was reported - an injurious fall resulting in a wrist fracture during a MULTI group-based exercise session
    SR10.3 · canon row 2842, adverse events field · Effects of Dalcroze Eurhythmics Exercise Versus Multicomponent Exercise on Physical and Cognitive Function, and Falls in Older Adults: The EPHYCOS Randomized Controlled Trial · studied: - WHAT: Dalcroze Eurhythmics (DE) exercise program involving multitask exercises with music; multicomponent exercise program (MULTI) incorporating balance, functional, and strength training. - HOW: DE was delivered once weekly in a group…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Marching with Opposite Arm Swing: Fall risk: keep support handy; gentle coordination entry drill.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cross-Crawl (Contralateral March): Fall risk: single-leg loading each step—keep support nearby for unsteady individuals.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ball Toss Against Wall: Fall risk: low when standing on two feet; add balance challenge only with support nearby.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Square-Stepping Pattern: Fall risk: pattern focus can distract from footing—keep a clear mat and support nearby for older adults.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dual-Task Walking: Fall risk: attention is divided—use a clear, familiar path and supervise higher-risk individuals.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dual-Task Standing Balance: Fall risk: combining balance and cognition raises sway—keep support within reach.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Marching with Opposite Arm Swing: regress with Fingertip support; Lower knee lift; Slower pace and progress with Higher knees; Faster cadence; Add a counting task.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cross-Crawl (Contralateral March): regress with Hold a support with one hand; Slower tempo; Smaller knee lift and progress with Faster tempo; Add a backward elbow-to-knee variation; Eyes closed briefly.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ball Toss Against Wall: regress with Larger, softer ball; Stand closer; Slower tosses and progress with Smaller ball; Toss while standing on one leg (dual-task); Add a clap before catching.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Square-Stepping Pattern: regress with Shorter patterns; Hold a rail; Slower pace and progress with Longer/complex patterns; Faster tempo; Recall pattern from memory.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dual-Task Walking: regress with Walk beside a rail; Simpler task (count up by 1s); Shorter distance and progress with Harder cognitive task; Add turns or obstacles; Carry an object while talking.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dual-Task Standing Balance: regress with Easier stance (feet together); Simpler task; Fingertip support and progress with Harder stance; Add ball toss; Eyes closed intervals.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you lose balance without support to hand, feel dizzy or lightheaded, or cannot recover a stumble in one step; sit down and rest before continuing.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Two or more falls in the past 12 months, or any fall with injury
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Dizziness, lightheadedness, or fainting during standing or movement
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)New or worsening unsteadiness, neurological symptoms, or numbness in the feet
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Fear of falling severe enough to restrict daily activity
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have fallen in the past year, have a condition affecting balance or vision, or feel unsteady on your feet; do the first sessions with someone present.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Dual-task drills pair a balance or walking task with a cognitive one, counting backward, naming words, catching a ball.
  • Begin with easy combinations near support and increase either the motor or mental load gradually, never both to the point of unsteady movement.
2–3×/week, 20–40 min, ≥8–12 weeks
The evidence behind this practice doesn't establish a dose-response relationship, so this specific frequency and duration is a reasonable design choice, not a research-backed number.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.neuromotor.concept-dual-task) studied: combined motor-cognitive and dual-task training in older adults, with gait, balance and cognition as the outcomes. Li 2022 (meta-analysis, 22 studies, 1,091 participants) reports that exercise-cognitive combined training improved gait speed (MD 0.06 m/s) and balance (SMD 0.38), with simultaneous training also improving functional mobility. Yu 2023 (systematic review, 23 studies, 1,585 participants) reports significant improvements in gait, strength, mobility and balance and reduced fear of falling compared with general physical or cognitive training alone. Levin 2017 (systematic review, 19 studies) reports that its evidence suggests combined exercise and cognitive training, particularly as a dual task, could improve basic cognitive and motor functions. Qian 2026 (meta-analysis, 10 trials, 690 participants) reports a small but significant overall cognitive benefit of exercise games (g 0.135) and calls the evidence preliminary, with the evidence base for clinical populations limited and inconclusive. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.neuromotor.concept-dual-task).

Key sources
randomised controlled trialEffects of Dalcroze Eurhythmics Exercise Versus Multicomponent Exercise on Physical and Cognitive Function, and Falls in Older Adults: The EPHYCOS Randomized Controlled TrialM. Hars, N. Fernandez, François Herrmann et al. (2024) · Advances in Biology · 10.1002/adbi.202400089 · full text
meta-analysisEffect of Exercise Cognitive Combined Training on Physical Function in Cognitively Healthy Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.Qiuhong Li, Bingyan Gong, Yiran Zhao, Chao Wu (2022) · Journal of Aging and Physical Activity · 10.1123/japa.2021-0475 · abstract only
systematic reviewEffects of exergames and cognitive-motor dual-task training on cognitive, physical and dual-task functions in cognitively healthy older adults: an overview.Matthieu Gallou-Guyot, S. Mandigout, L. Bherer, A. Perrochon (2020) · Ageing Research Reviews · 10.1016/j.arr.2020.101135 · abstract only
Each source is shown by its own study design.
10 sources: 4 meta-analyses, 1 randomised controlled trial, 5 systematic reviews
Agreement
Direction recorded for 1 of 10 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
How the sources were read
Some sources are based on abstracts, not full texts.
What each source measured and concluded (10)
randomised controlled trial · 2024
Hars et al. (2024) — Effects of Dalcroze Eurhythmics Exercise Versus Multicomponent Exercise on Physical and Cognitive Function, and Falls in Older Adults: The EPHYCOS Randomized Controlled Trial
What it measured
Gait variability under dual-task conditions at 12 months.
How it measured it
Electronic pressure sensitive walkway (GAITRite) using the coefficient of variation (CV).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2022
Li et al. (2022) — Effect of Exercise Cognitive Combined Training on Physical Function in Cognitively Healthy Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
What it measured
Physical function (gait speed, balance, functional mobility)
How it was read
based on the abstract, not the full text
What the review says it includes
Systematic review and meta-analysis (of RCTs)
Studies and participants, as stated
22 studies, 1,091 participants
systematic review · 2020
Gallou-Guyot et al. (2020) — Effects of exergames and cognitive-motor dual-task training on cognitive, physical and dual-task functions in cognitively healthy older adults: an overview.
What it measured
Cognitive, physical and dual-task functions
How it was read
based on the abstract, not the full text
What the review says it includes
Overview of systematic reviews/meta-analyses
Studies and participants, as stated
18 reviews
systematic review · 2017
Levin et al. (2017) — The beneficial effects of different types of exercise interventions on motor and cognitive functions in older age: a systematic review
What it measured
Improvements in motor and cognitive functions.
How it measured it
Not explicitly detailed.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
Systematic review of 19 studies
Heterogeneity, as stated
Heterogeneous intervention protocols and test batteries
systematic review · 2023
Yu et al. (2023) — Effects of Combining Physical and Cognitive Training on Older Adults’ Physical Performance and Functional Abilities: A Systematic Review
What it measured
Improvement in physical performance and functional capacity (gait, strength, mobility, balance, falls).
How it measured it
GAITRite Electronic Walkway, Functional Gait Assessment, Wearable Physiology, Wearable Accelerometers, Photocell System, Matscan floor mat, Falls Efficacy Scale International.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
Systematic review of 23 studies
Studies and participants, as stated
N=1,585 participants across 23 studies
meta-analysis · 2024
Luo et al. (2024) — The effectiveness of multicomponent exercise in older adults with cognitive frailty: a systematic review and meta-analysis
What it measured
Cognitive function, frailty status and other health-related outcomes
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
What the review says it includes
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
11 trials; 2222 participants
meta-analysis · 2026
Qian et al. (2026) — Evaluating the cognitive impact of exergames on community-dwelling older adults beyond laboratory settings: a systematic review and meta-analysis
What it measured
Cognitive effects of exercise games (global cognition, memory, executive function, attention, processing speed)
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
What the review says it includes
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
10 RCTs; 690 participants (mean age 74 years)
systematic review · 2025
Liang et al. (2025) — The efficacy versus evidence quality of multicomponent exercise for cognitive health in older adults: an umbrella review
What it measured
Cognition (global cognitive function, executive function, memory, attention/processing speed) plus evidence quality
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
What the review says it includes
Umbrella review of systematic reviews with/without meta-analysis (AMSTAR-2, GRADE)
Studies and participants, as stated
27 systematic reviews
systematic review · 2024
Kong et al. (2024) — Effects of exercise interventions on physical, psychological and social outcomes in frail older adults: An overview of systematic reviews.
What it measured
Physical, psychological and social outcomes
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
What the review says it includes
Overview of systematic reviews (PRISMA)
Studies and participants, as stated
17 systematic reviews (methodological quality moderate to critically low)
Heterogeneity, as stated
Exercise interventions had positive effects on most physical outcomes and depression, but inconsistent effects on cognitive function and quality of life; quality of evidence for most outcomes was low and very low
meta-analysis · 2023
Silva et al. (2023) — Does Multicomponent Training Improve Cognitive Function in Older Adults Without Cognitive Impairment? A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.
What it measured
Global cognitive function (MMSE/MoCA) and Trail-Making Test performance
How it was read
screened only, not extracted
What the review says it includes
Systematic review and meta-analysis of RCTs
Studies and participants, as stated
10 RCTs in review; 6 (166 participants) in meta-analysis
Heterogeneity, as stated
Multicomponent training increased global cognitive function (SMD=0.58, 95% CI 0.34–0.81, I²=11%, P<.001); decreased TMT-A time (MD=−6.70, 95% CI −10.19 to −3.21) and TMT-B time (MD=−8.80, 95% CI −17.59 to −0.01, P=.05)
Coordination & Dual-Task Session