Wellness Routines
← Routines
Research gap
Flexibility · 12 min slot · most days

Older-Adult Gentle Mobility

Shorter holds (20–30s) and support for balance. Use a wall or chair as needed. Goal is maintaining everyday range and confident movement, not maximal flexibility.

How often: most days · planning default, not from the research
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.
Not yet in the evidence base — this is a reasonable way to work toward the goal, not a recommendation a review has confirmed. See “Evidence status” below for what a review would need to confirm.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Standing Hamstring Stretch (Foot Elevated)
    hold 20–30s x 2 per side
    Foot on a low step, hold support.
    Slot: standalone mobility session
    Named by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 minno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    14 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for flexibility
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Standing Calf Stretch (Gastrocnemius)
    hold 20–30s x 2 per side
    Hands on the wall for balance.
    Slot: standalone mobility session
    Named by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 minno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    14 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for flexibility
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Doorway Chest / Pec Stretch
    hold 20–30s x 2
    Gentle, upright posture.
    Slot: standalone mobility session
    Named by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 6 papers · 2–30 setsObserved in 3 papers · 5–30 minno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    14 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for flexibility
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Cat-Cow (Spinal Flexion-Extension)
    6–8 slow cycles
    Or seated if the floor is hard to access.
    Slot: standalone mobility session
    Named by a Round-2 reviewObserved in 7 papers · 2–15 repsno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    14 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for flexibility
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Controlled Neck Rotations & Nods
    6–8 each direction
    Slow; stop with any dizziness.
    Slot: standalone mobility session
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    14 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for flexibility
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in repetitions and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Ankle Dorsiflexion (Knee-to-Wall)
    hold 20–30s per side
    Supports balance and gait.
    Slot: standalone mobility session
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionno finding maps to this routine's block, so nothing states these numbers.
    9 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for standalone mobility session. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Ballistic stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Dynamic stretching
    Compared in the review
    4 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × time
    Evidence and how-to
    Foam rolling
    Compared in the review
    6 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Hold-relax
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Pilates
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    PNF stretching
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Static stretching
    Compared in the review
    14 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Strap-assisted
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Yoga for flexibility
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × time and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
Safety, and where each line comes from
23 product safeguard (app-authored)6 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Screen for osteoporosis, joint replacements, dizziness; use support and avoid ballistic movement.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Older adults, including those newer to exercise.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Hypermobility, a recent injury or surgery, or a bone-density condition changes what is appropriate here.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no contraindications or population restrictions.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: mat, none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Hamstring Stretch (Foot Elevated): Keep the supporting knee soft; hold a wall for balance if needed.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Calf Stretch (Gastrocnemius): Keep the rear heel planted; ease off with Achilles pain.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Doorway Chest / Pec Stretch: Avoid overstretching if you have shoulder instability; keep it gentle.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cat-Cow (Spinal Flexion-Extension): Keep it pain-free; reduce range if either direction aggravates the back.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Controlled Neck Rotations & Nods: Avoid fast circles or cranking; stop with dizziness or tingling.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ankle Dorsiflexion (Knee-to-Wall): Keep the heel planted and the knee tracking over the toes.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Hamstring Stretch (Foot Elevated): regress with Lower the foot to floor height; Keep a soft bend in the stretched knee and progress with Raise the support higher; Add ankle dorsiflexion to bias the calf/nerve line.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Standing Calf Stretch (Gastrocnemius): regress with Shorten the stance; Reduce the lean and progress with Step the rear foot further back; Use a slant board or step edge.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Doorway Chest / Pec Stretch: regress with Lower the arm height; Reduce the forward lean and progress with Raise the elbows to bias the lower pec fibers; Single-arm version for a deeper stretch.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Cat-Cow (Spinal Flexion-Extension): regress with Reduce the range; Perform seated in a chair and progress with Add segmental control vertebra by vertebra; Add gentle side bends.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Controlled Neck Rotations & Nods: regress with Smaller range; Support the head lightly and progress with Add a brief hold at end range; Combine directions into a slow arc.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ankle Dorsiflexion (Knee-to-Wall): regress with Move the foot closer to the wall; Hold support for balance and progress with Move the foot further from the wall; Add a gentle end-range hold.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel sharp pain, numbness, tingling or a pulling sensation in a joint rather than a muscle; stretch to mild tension, never through pain.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sharp or radiating pain during stretching, stop and consult a clinician.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Sudden loss of range of motion or joint instability, seek a physical therapist.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Numbness, tingling, or a recent injury, get medical clearance first.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Frequent dizziness, falls, or unexplained joint pain, consult a clinician.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Ask a clinician or physiotherapist before starting if you have a joint that dislocates, a recent injury or surgery, osteoporosis, or nerve symptoms in a limb.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
  • Keep a wall, chair or counter within reach for every standing item and actually use it - the support is part of the routine, not a fallback.
  • Hamstring: heel on a low step (floor height is fine to start), soft knee on the supporting leg, hinge from the hips until you feel it behind the thigh. Hold steady for 20-30 seconds - no bouncing at end range on any of these.
  • Calf and knee-to-wall are the two most relevant to stride and steadiness: keep the rear heel planted as you lean into the wall, and on knee-to-wall drive the knee out over the toes with the heel down, working just short of where it lifts.
  • Doorway chest stretch stays gentle - lower the arms on the frame if your shoulders feel unstable, and stand tall rather than leaning hard through the doorway.
  • Neck: slow turns and small nods only, no fast circles or heavy overpressure, and stop at any dizziness. Cat-cow can be done seated in a chair if getting to the floor is awkward, with the same small, slow range.
  • Check with your clinician about which of these suit you if you have osteoporosis, a joint replacement, or you've been getting dizzy or falling - and keep strength and balance work alongside this, since stretching doesn't cover either.
Evidence status
Not yet in the evidence base

No internal review in this library has asked this specific practice’s question yet, so there are no cited studies here. It’s included as a way to work toward the goal — not because a review has confirmed it works as described.

What a review would need to answer: Does stretching improve range of motion and daily function in older adults?

Older-Adult Gentle Mobility