Brisk-Walking Session
Thirty minutes of brisk, purposeful walking (RPE 4-5). One of the most sustainable ways to hit guideline minutes and raise CRF. Default 30 min; add an interval-walk variation to progress.
The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.
- 1Brisk Walk3 min easy walk to warm upStart relaxed and lengthen the stride.Slot: low-intensity / base volumeNamed by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
3 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for low-intensity / base volume. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
CyclingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationSwimmingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationWalkingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration - 2Brisk Walk24 min brisk @ RPE 4-5 (able to talk, not sing)Add gentle hills or an incline treadmill to progress.Slot: continuous moderateNamed by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
7 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for continuous moderate. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Brisk walkingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot · dose in durationCyclingCompared in the review4 papers put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationHIIT (generic)Compared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in durationModerate continuous (MICT)Compared in the review4 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationNordic walkingCompared in the review5 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationSwimmingCompared in the review2 papers put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in duration - 3Brisk Walk3 min easy walk cool-downSlow the pace to finish.Slot: post-activityNamed by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
5 options for this requirement
These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for post-activity. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.
Ballistic stretchingCompared in the review1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose unit not statedDynamic stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × timeCannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in duration and this option's in sets × time. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.
PNF stretchingCompared in the review3 papers put it in this slot · dose in durationStatic stretchingCompared in the review8 papers put it in this slot · dose in duration
Safety, and where each line comes from1 reported by the review's sources12 product safeguard (app-authored)5 source silent
Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.
Who should modify or avoid this
- Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Pregnancy and severe musculoskeletal disorders or other severe health issues such as cardiovascular diseasesSR04.4 · canon row 842, contraindications field · Implementing intelligent physical exercise training at the workplace: health effects among office workers—a randomized controlled trial · studied: WHAT: Supervised high-intensity Intelligent Physical Exercise Training (IPET) for 1 hour every week; recommended 30 minutes of moderate-intensity physical activity 6 days a week during leisure. HOW: Supervised by instructors…
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Increase pace/hills gradually if deconditionedFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Almost all adultsFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. A heart, lung or metabolic condition, or medication that affects heart rate, changes what is appropriate here.
Prerequisites
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for beginner level. Equipment: none. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.
Hazards and adverse events
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: Choose even surfaces and supportive footwear; slow down if dizzy or short of breath.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no adverse events for this practice. Some of them report adverse events for other interventions the same review pooled, which are not shown here because they are not about this practice.
Progression and regression
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Brisk Walk: regress with Casual-pace walk; Shorter intervals with seated rest and progress with Incline walk; Nordic walking; Walk-jog intervals.From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.
Stop conditions
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop if you feel chest pain or pressure, faintness, unusual breathlessness for the effort, palpitations, or pain in a joint that changes how you move.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.
When to seek supervision or clearance
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Chest pain, pressure, or unusual shortness of breath during exertionFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Fainting, dizziness, or palpitations with exerciseFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Known or suspected cardiovascular, metabolic, or renal disease without medical clearanceFrom this routine’s block record, written by this app.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart or lung condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, diabetes on medication, or symptoms on exertion; start at a lower intensity than the routine states if you are new to exercise.
- Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
- Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it
Walking is one of the modalities in the underlying pooled evidence (37 studies): sufficiently-dosed aerobic activity at guideline volumes like the one shown above produced an average VO2max gain of about 4.9 mL/kg/min, plus blood-pressure and body-mass improvements. That finding is about adequate dosing generally producing fitness gains, not about this exact frequency and duration being an established minimum - which is why the note above calls this specific number a design choice, not a research-backed one.
- Pace by feel: RPE 4-5, able to talk but not sing comfortably.
- If you're deconditioned, build pace and hills gradually rather than starting at that effort.
- The easy warm-up and cool-down aren't part of the studied dose - they ease you in and out of the brisk segment.
- Add gentle hills or incline once the flat pace feels easy; that's a progression cue, not a claim from the evidence.
What the evidence says
This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.cardio.modality-agnostic-fitness) studied: many forms of exercise, walking among them, with cardiorespiratory fitness as the outcome. Oja 2018 (meta-analysis with meta-regression, 37 studies, 2001 participants) reports clinically substantial improvements in body mass, BMI, body fat, systolic and diastolic blood pressure, fasting glucose and VO2max with walking, and that any exposure within the studied dose range is likely to be beneficial. Haynes 2019 (randomised trial) reports that both land-walking and water-walking improve cardiorespiratory fitness in previously sedentary older adults, in support of the recommendation that 150 min/week of moderate-intensity exercise produces improvements in fitness in previously sedentary older individuals. Azimkhani 2025 (meta-analysis, 51 studies, 3152 participants) reports that structured exercise interventions, regardless of type, are effective for improving cardiorespiratory fitness in older adults. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.cardio.modality-agnostic-fitness).
- Agreement
- The review summary this entry was written from does not say whether its sources agree at this claim. Direction recorded for 14 of 16 sources; not yet recorded for the rest. A review summary is the written synthesis this entry was first built from; it is not one of the sources counted here.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- A source states a certainty rating for 4 outcomes.
- Authors
- Sources share authors: Pekka Oja (first author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (16)
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness, physical function, mental health, fat mass reduction.
- How it measured it
- Expired gas analysis (cardiorespiratory fitness), sit-stand test or SF-12 (physical function), Geriatric Depression Scale and SF-12 (mental health), DXA (fat mass reduction).
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review with meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 628 participants across 9 studies.
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Heterogeneity in study populations (healthy and clinical conditions).
- What it measured
- CRF (maximal oxygen uptake, peak oxygen uptake, oxygen uptake), muscular strength and endurance (5-STS, 30/60-STS), blood lipid profiles (TC, HDL-C, LDL-C, triglycerides), body composition (BMI, body fat percentage).
- How it measured it
- Laboratory tests for CRF and blood lipids; validated tests for muscular strength and endurance; anthropometric measurements for body composition.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 414 participants across 11 studies
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Inability to perform subgroup analyses due to small number of studies and heterogeneity.
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Heterogeneity of exercise protocols.
- What it measured
- Health-related parameters (lipid profile, blood pressure, quality of life, gait, fatigue, perception of pain) and physical fitness outcomes (strength, balance, cardiorespiratory fitness, anthropometrics, flexibility).
- How it measured it
- Meta-analysis using Review Manager software
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review with meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = not reported participants across 62 studies
- What it measured
- Body fat percentage (BF%), maximal oxygen uptake (VO₂max), and peak oxygen uptake (VO₂peak).
- How it measured it
- Standard methods for each measure, though specific tools are not detailed.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 2,201 participants across 51 studies.
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Methodological heterogeneity in measurement techniques and participant characteristics
- What it measured
- Cardiopulmonary exertion (VO2max, VO2peak, VO2mean), heart rate (HRmax, HRpeak, HRmean), respiratory exchange ratio (RER)
- How it measured it
- Cardiopulmonary exercise test (CPX) on a treadmill (validated laboratory test), oxygen consumption measurement during Exerheart (validated method)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Body mass, body mass index, body fat, systolic and diastolic blood pressure, fasting glucose, VO2max, waist circumference, waist-to-hip ratio, total cholesterol, HDL cholesterol, LDL cholesterol, triglycerides.
- How it measured it
- Standardized mean differences (SMD) between intervention and control groups.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- Its conclusion, in its own words
- “Walking still remains firmly a 'best buy' for public health.”
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review with meta-analysis and meta-regression
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 2001 participants across 37 studies
- Heterogeneity, as stated
- Low heterogeneity limiting power to detect dose-response relationships
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness via VO2max.
- How it measured it
- VO2max is a validated measure of cardiorespiratory fitness.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = not reported participants across 4 studies
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF) via VO2max.\n2. HOW was it measured: Åstrand one-point sub-maximal test on a bicycle (validated method).\n3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Body composition, blood pressure, blood lipid profile.\n4. COMPARED TO: Control group (CG) and baseline measurements.
- How it measured it
- Åstrand one-point sub-maximal test on a bicycle (validated method).\n3. SECONDARY OUTCOMES: Body composition, blood pressure, blood lipid profile.\n4. COMPARED TO: Control group (CG) and baseline measurements.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- VO2max, fat mass, resting heart rate
- How it measured it
- Standardized mean differences (SMD) between post-intervention values in randomized groups
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review with meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = not reported participants across 69 studies
- What it measured
- 2-h post-OGTT glucose, maximum oxygen consumption (VO2 max), and power output at the end of the GXT.
- How it measured it
- Laboratory tests: GXT for VO2 max and power output, OGTT for glucose levels, HOMA for insulin sensitivity.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Maximal oxygen uptake via maximal graded exercise test on a treadmill.
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test using a treadmill; validated method.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (VO2max)
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test (typically, but not explicitly mentioned)
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Cardiorespiratory fitness (CRF)
- How it measured it
- Standardized mean difference (SMD) in meta-analysis
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 569 participants across 12 studies
- What it measured
- Oxygen consumption via VO₂ peak.
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test (VO₂ peak test), which is a validated measure.
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Maximal oxygen consumption (VO2max)
- How it measured it
- Breath-by-breath gas analysis during an incremental treadmill test (validated laboratory test)
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Maximal/peak oxygen uptake (VO2max/peak) and the 6-min walk distance (6-MWD)
- How it measured it
- Laboratory test for VO2max/peak; 6-MWD measured by having participants walk as far as possible in six minutes
- Direction it states for the claim's outcome
- Improved
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review and meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 3152 participants across 51 studies
Certainty ratings the sources state (4)
- Rating, as the source states it
- Moderate
- Framework
- not named by the source
- Applies to
- AUTHOR CONCLUSION: "Moderate certainty of evidence indicated that exercise snacks improved cardiorespiratory fitness in physically inactive adults."
- Stated by
- Rodríguez et al. (2025)
- Rating, as the source states it
- Low
- Framework
- not named by the source
- Applies to
- Low certainty of evidence for most outcomes.
- Stated by
- Rodríguez et al. (2025)
- Rating, as the source states it
- Low
- Framework
- not named by the source
- Applies to
- LIMITATIONS: Low quality of evidence;
- Stated by
- Pessôa et al. (2023)
- Rating, as the source states it
- low
- Framework
- not named by the source
- Applies to
- PRACTICAL RECOMMENDATIONS: Pilates should be administered for at least 1440 minutes (equivalent to 2x-week for three months or 3x-week for two months) to have a significant effect on CRF; results should be interpreted with caution due to low quality evidence.
- Stated by
- Pessôa et al. (2023)