Wellness Routines
← Routines
12 sources: 1 cohort study, 5 meta-analyses, 5 randomised controlled trials, 1 systematic review
Strength Training · 30–50 min · 2-3x/week

Bone-Health Strength Program

A weight-bearing routine using progressive moderate-to-high loads on compound lifts that stress the hips and spine, the sites most relevant to bone density. The default duration is flexible. Caution: if you have diagnosed osteoporosis or vertebral fracture risk, get medical clearance and coaching before heavy or loaded spinal-flexion work; progress load gradually.

How often: 1–6.3 sessions/week · trial frequency reported by the sources of the review summary this routine was written from (10 of 13 sources named by SR01.6 state one) · planning default: 2-3x/week · the review report’s bottom line: as little as 1 session/week produces gains
When: any time · the sources state no time of day; the planner's slot is a default
The time slot is a planning choice: a swap can keep it.

The evidence applies to the practice, not to these particular steps — they are one way to carry it out.

  1. 1
    Barbell Back Squat
    3 sets x 6-10 reps, ~2-3 min rest
    Axial loading for hips and spine.
    Slot: squat / knee-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 90 s rest
    3 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for squat / knee-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    12 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Smith machine exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
  2. 2
    Trap-Bar Deadlift
    4 sets x 5-8 reps, ~2-3 min rest
    Hip-dominant loading; neutral spine.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's doseObserved in 3 papers · 2–4 sets1 paper reports 6–10 reps1 paper reports 60–120 s rest
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  3. 3
    Barbell Overhead Press
    3 sets x 6-10 reps, ~2 min rest
    Loads the upper spine and shoulders.
    Slot: vertical push
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose1 paper reports 3 sets1 paper reports 6–15 reps1 paper reports 180 s rest
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for vertical push. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Bench press
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot (inferred by the extraction, not stated in the paper) · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Overhead press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  4. 4
    Barbell Bent-Over Row
    3 sets x 8-12 reps, ~90 sec rest
    Posterior chain and posture.
    Slot: hinge / hip-dominant
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    6 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for hinge / hip-dominant. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Deadlift
    Compared in the review
    22 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Glute bridge
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Hip thrust
    Compared in the review
    9 papers put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Kettlebell exercise
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose unit not stated
    Evidence and how-to
    Leg press
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
    Romanian deadlift
    Compared in the review
    5 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  5. 5
    Step-Up
    2 sets x 8-12/leg, ~90 sec rest
    Weight-bearing single-leg loading.
    Slot: single-leg / lunge
    Named by a Round-2 reviewMeets the finding's dose
    2 options for this requirement

    These are the practices the completed Round-2 reviews name for single-leg / lunge. The evidence rating on this routine belongs to the practice and its dose, not to any one of these. Choosing one changes what you read on this page only — it is not saved on any session in your week, and it never changes what the routine prescribes. To keep a choice, make it on the session itself in My Week.

    Split squat / RFESS
    Compared in the review
    1 paper put it in this slot · dose in duration

    Cannot be used here: This step's dose is measured in sets × reps and this option's in duration. Converting between them is not something the research says, so the swap is refused rather than converted.

    Evidence and how-to
    Step-up
    Compared in the review
    2 papers put it in this slot · dose in sets × reps
    Evidence and how-to
  6. 6
    Farmer's Carry
    3 sets x 20-40 m, ~90 sec rest
    Axial and grip loading.
    Slot: carry / loaded gait
    Scaffold: app-designed stepApp-designed prescriptionthe finding states sets per muscle group per week, across every session; this step is in one session, so it contributes toward forearms, trapezius, core or gluteals and the week is compared where its sessions are known — the programme chooser and the planner; the finding states reps, which this step does not carry; the finding states %1RM, which this step does not carry; the finding states no rest for this.
    No option on this bench from any review

    No completed Round-2 review has named a practice for carry / loaded gait that an extraction row placed in it. That is a gap in the knowledge base, not in this step: the step’s own exercise stands, and there is nothing yet to swap it for.

Muscle mapping: app-authoredThis session’s volume: SR01.P3 states ≥4 sets per muscle group per week, across every session in the week. This session contributes 9 for quadriceps, 12 for gluteals, 3 for adductors, 3 for erector spinae, 4 for hamstrings, 13 for trapezius, 3 for deltoids, 3 for triceps, 3 for latissimus dorsi, 3 for rhomboids, 3 for biceps, 3 for forearms and 3 for core. One session is not a week: the comparison against that figure is made on the programme page and in the planner, where the week's sessions are known. Counted this way: every set counted in full toward each muscle the catalogue names as primary; secondary muscles are not recorded anywhere in the records and are not counted. The finding states no rule for counting a set that trains more than one muscle, so the outcome could differ under another. Under a direct-only count — sets from a step whose slot names the muscle, which in the slot vocabulary is the isolation slot alone — this session contributes nothing. The muscle mapping is app-authored: every exercise in the catalogue carries evidence_source component_library, and no review states one.
Sets per muscle group, and the steps behind each
  • quadriceps · 9 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 3 (squat / knee-dominant), Trap-Bar Deadlift 4 (hinge / hip-dominant), Step-Up 2 (single-leg / lunge)
  • gluteals · 12 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 3 (squat / knee-dominant), Trap-Bar Deadlift 4 (hinge / hip-dominant), Step-Up 2 (single-leg / lunge), Farmer's Carry 3 (carry / loaded gait)
  • adductors · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 3 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • erector spinae · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Back Squat 3 (squat / knee-dominant)
  • hamstrings · 4 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Trap-Bar Deadlift 4 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • trapezius · 13 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Trap-Bar Deadlift 4 (hinge / hip-dominant), Barbell Overhead Press 3 (vertical push), Barbell Bent-Over Row 3 (hinge / hip-dominant), Farmer's Carry 3 (carry / loaded gait)
  • deltoids · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Overhead Press 3 (vertical push)
  • triceps · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Overhead Press 3 (vertical push)
  • latissimus dorsi · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Bent-Over Row 3 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • rhomboids · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Bent-Over Row 3 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • biceps · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Barbell Bent-Over Row 3 (hinge / hip-dominant)
  • forearms · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Farmer's Carry 3 (carry / loaded gait)
  • core · 3 sets (0 counting only the steps whose slot names it): Farmer's Carry 3 (carry / loaded gait)
  • SR01.P3: “Volume: A practical minimum of >=4 hard sets per muscle per week yields substantial hypertrophy in ~15-20 min sessions (Mang 2026, […]); optimization ranges cluster at ~10 sets/week minimum (Bernardez-Vazquez et al. 2022) up to 12-20 sets/week for trained lifters (Baz-Valle et al. 2022), with diminishing returns thereafter (Hamaide et al. 2025) and a disputed counterproductive ceiling >15 sets (Barbalho et al. 2019).”
  • […] marks our own earlier grade or verdict wording, removed from the quotation.
Safety, and where each line comes from
4 reported by the review's sources19 product safeguard (app-authored)4 source silent

Each line below says where it comes from. “Reported by the review’s sources” is the source’s own words about adverse events or contraindications. “Product safeguard” is written by this app, not by the research. “Source silent” means the studies behind this routine report nothing on that point, which is not the same as saying it carries no risk.

Who should modify or avoid this

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute contraindications include serious cardiovascular disease, lower limb injuries/disease, use of walking aids, use of certain medications, previous testosterone-altering treatment, and smoking. Relative contraindications might include regular aerobic exercise, previous strength training experience, and BMI >37.
    SR01.6 · canon row 18, contraindications field · Strength Training Improves Metabolic Health Markers in Older Individual Regardless of Training Frequency · studied: WHAT: Whole-body strength training with 2–5 sets, 4–12 repetitions per exercise, and 7–9 exercises per session. Training frequency varied: one, two, or three times per week. Intensity was approximately 70-90% 1-RM for upper and lower limb…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Those with diagnosed osteoporosis or prior fragility fractures should train under professional guidance to choose their loading and avoid high-risk spinal flexion.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Older adults and post-menopausal women aiming to protect bone.
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Designed for generally healthy adults. Not a rehabilitation programme: an injury, a joint condition or a medical restriction on lifting changes what is appropriate here.

Prerequisites

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Written for intermediate level. Equipment: barbell, dumbbell. Warm up before the working sets, and learn each movement at a light load or short range before adding effort.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on prerequisites or starting level.

Hazards and adverse events

  • Reported by the review's sourcesAbsolute: Individuals with CNS injuries, alcohol abuse, diabetes, musculoskeletal disorders, neurodegenerative diseases, or cancer
    SR01.6 · canon row 5, adverse events field · Strength gains after 12 weeks of resistance training correlate with neurochemical markers of brain health in older adults: a randomized control 1H-MRS study · studied: WHAT: The intervention involved a 12-week resistance training program with four lower body exercises: leg extension, leg curl, leg press, and calf raises. Each session consisted of three sets of 6-10 repetitions at 70-85% of 1 repetition…
  • Reported by the review's sourcesNo adverse events occurred throughout the training programme.
    SR01.6 · canon row 14, adverse events field · Effects of once- versus twice-weekly eccentric resistance training on muscular function and structure in older adults: a randomised controlled trial · studied: WHAT: Eccentric resistance training using a recumbent stepper ergometer at 50% of maximum eccentric force. HOW: Supervised by an experienced researcher, with adjustments made bi-weekly to maintain intensity. WHERE: University Health and…
  • Reported by the review's sourcesOne male subject from EX1 was injured with back pain during strength testing and withdrew from the study.
    SR01.6 · canon row 18, adverse events field · Strength Training Improves Metabolic Health Markers in Older Individual Regardless of Training Frequency · studied: WHAT: Whole-body strength training with 2–5 sets, 4–12 repetitions per exercise, and 7–9 exercises per session. Training frequency varied: one, two, or three times per week. Intensity was approximately 70-90% 1-RM for upper and lower limb…
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Back Squat: Use safety pins or a rack; keep the spine neutral.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Trap-Bar Deadlift: Keep the spine neutral and brace before each rep.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Overhead Press: Keep ribs down and avoid overarching the lower back.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bent-Over Row: Keep the spine neutral; avoid rounding under load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.

Progression and regression

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Back Squat: regress with Goblet Squat; Leg Press; Bodyweight Squat and progress with Front Squat; Pause Squat; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Trap-Bar Deadlift: regress with Kettlebell Deadlift; Romanian Deadlift and progress with Heavier load; Conventional Deadlift.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Overhead Press: regress with Dumbbell Shoulder Press; Machine Shoulder Press and progress with Push Press; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Barbell Bent-Over Row: regress with Seated Cable Row; One-Arm Dumbbell Row and progress with Pendlay Row; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Step-Up: regress with Lower box; Bodyweight Step-Up and progress with Higher box; Heavier load.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Farmer's Carry: regress with Lighter load; Shorter distance and progress with Heavier load; Longer distance.
    From the exercise catalogue, written by this app.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on how to progress or regress it.

Stop conditions

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Stop the set if you feel sharp or joint-localised pain, dizziness, chest discomfort or a sudden loss of control of the load; finish a set short rather than with broken form.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report no stop conditions.

When to seek supervision or clearance

  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Diagnosed osteoporosis or prior fragility fracture
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Acute back pain or suspected fracture
    From this routine’s block record, written by this app.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Get clearance from a clinician before starting if you have a heart condition, uncontrolled blood pressure, a recent injury or surgery, or are pregnant; ask a qualified coach to check your form on any lift you have not done before.
  • Product safeguard (app-authored)Signs of a medical emergency (chest pain or pressure, trouble breathing, fainting, sudden weakness or numbness) mean 911 or your local emergency services; thoughts of self-harm or suicide mean the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This app does not diagnose, treat or give personalised medical advice.
  • Source silentThe sources behind this routine's finding report nothing on supervision or clearance.
How to do it

The review summary this routine was written from includes a bone line: progressive resistance training improved muscle strength and femur and hip bone mineral density in older adults, with a pooled mean difference of 2.77% in bone mineral density - a population-level result the review summary this routine was written from itself hedges as probable rather than established. This particular selection of squat, trap-bar deadlift, overhead press, row, step-up and carry, at these sets and reps two to three times a week, is one product-designed way to load the hips and spine; the review summary this routine was written from doesn't separately validate that format, and it establishes no dose-response, so the numbers above are a design choice.

  • Squat and trap-bar deadlift carry most of the loading here: brace before every rep, keep the spine neutral through the lift, and set the safety pins in the rack on the squat so you can bail out of a rep.
  • Row and overhead press are where form drifts under load - hinge to about 45 degrees with a flat back and no rounding on the row, and keep the ribs down instead of arching the low back on the press.
  • Step-ups and carries: whole foot on the box, drive through the heel without pushing off the trailing foot; on the carry stand tall and braced with even steps rather than rushing the distance.
  • Add load in small increments across months rather than week to week, and drop to the regressions (goblet squat, kettlebell deadlift, machine press, cable row) as soon as technique starts breaking down instead of grinding out the barbell version.
  • If you have diagnosed osteoporosis or a previous fragility fracture, get medical clearance and hands-on coaching before loading these, and avoid loaded rounding of the spine. Stop and get checked for acute back pain rather than training through it.
2-3 sessions per week · progressive moderate-to-high loads targeting hips and spine · 1-3 sets of major weight-bearing compound lifts · 30-50 min per session
The evidence behind this practice doesn't establish a dose-response relationship, so this specific frequency and duration is a reasonable design choice, not a research-backed number.
What the evidence says
The evidence is inherited from the practice this routine implements. Any duration is allowed; the label shows where you land against the studied dose.

This practice is one way to carry out what the sources on the concept entry (phys.strength.broad-health-benefits) studied: resistance training and outcomes beyond strength and size, bone among them. Pimenta 2019 (systematic review) reports that 72% of studies showed changes in bone mineral content or density with resistance training, and that resistance training improved bone mineral content or density, muscle strength and lean mass across ages and sexes. Radaelli 2024 (meta-analysis) reports that a low volume of resistance training improved physical function and lean body mass in healthy older adults, and Straight 2016 (meta-analysis) that resistance training improved lower-extremity muscle power in adults aged 50 and over. The full account, source by source, is on the concept entry this practice links to (phys.strength.broad-health-benefits).

Key sources
randomised controlled trialStrength gains after 12 weeks of resistance training correlate with neurochemical markers of brain health in older adults: a randomized control 1H-MRS studySamrat Sheoran, Wouter A. J. Vints, Kristina Valatkevičienė et al. (2023) · GeroScience · 10.1007/s11357-023-00732-6 · full text
randomised controlled trialResistance training enhances delayed memory in healthy middle-aged and older adults: A randomised controlled trial.Kieran J. Marston, J. Peiffer, S. Rainey-Smith et al. (2019) · Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport · 10.1016/j.jsams.2019.06.013 · full text
randomised controlled trialEffects of once- versus twice-weekly eccentric resistance training on muscular function and structure in older adults: a randomised controlled trialB. Baxter, A. Baross, D. Ryan, Stepan Tkadlec, A. D. Kay (2024) · Scientific Reports · 10.1038/s41598-024-59788-9 · full text
Each source is shown by its own study design.
12 sources: 1 cohort study, 5 meta-analyses, 5 randomised controlled trials, 1 systematic review
Agreement
sources not comparable. Direction recorded for 9 of 12 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
The claim's outcome
Outcome not yet recorded
Certainty
No source states a certainty rating.
What each source measured and concluded (12)
randomised controlled trial · 2023
Sheoran et al. (2023) — Strength gains after 12 weeks of resistance training correlate with neurochemical markers of brain health in older adults: a randomized control 1H-MRS study
What it measured
Peak torque (PT) of knee extension and flexion; neurometabolite ratios (tNAA/tCr, tCho/tCr, Glx/tCr, mIns/tCr) in hippocampus, sensorimotor, and prefrontal cortices.
How it measured it
Isokinetic dynamometer for PT; proton magnetic resonance spectroscopy (1H-MRS) for neurometabolites.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2019
Marston et al. (2019) — Resistance training enhances delayed memory in healthy middle-aged and older adults: A randomised controlled trial.
What it measured
1. Cognitive function (delayed verbal memory) via CogState computerised battery (validated tool). 2. Secondary outcomes: Maximal muscle strength via 1RM test; Body composition. 3. Compared to non-exercising control group and baseline.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
Its conclusion, in its own words
“12 weeks of intense resistance training improves delayed verbal memory irrespective of training design (i.e., high-load vs. moderate-load).”
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2024
Baxter et al. (2024) — Effects of once- versus twice-weekly eccentric resistance training on muscular function and structure in older adults: a randomised controlled trial
What it measured
Lower-limb muscle power, strength, and size.
How it measured it
Muscle power: 10-repetition sit-to-stand (STS) test; Strength: dynamometry for RTD, contractile impulse, and knee extensor torque during MVIC, and eccentric lower-limb force on a recumbent isokinetic stepper ergometer; Muscle size: real-time two-dimensional B-mode ultrasonography.
How it was read
read in full text
randomised controlled trial · 2019
Ihalainen et al. (2019) — Strength Training Improves Metabolic Health Markers in Older Individual Regardless of Training Frequency
What it measured
Body composition (fat mass, lean mass), inflammation markers (IL-6, hs-CRP), lipid profile (HDL, LDL, triglycerides), glycemic profile (glucose, insulin, HbA1c), and blood pressure.
How it measured it
Dual X-ray absorptiometry for body composition; commercial immunoassay techniques for blood markers; automated device for blood pressure.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2021
Schumann et al. (2021) — Compatibility of Concurrent Aerobic and Strength Training for Skeletal Muscle Size and Function: An Updated Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Maximal strength, explosive strength, and muscle hypertrophy.
How it measured it
Specific tests: isometric and isoinertial measurements for maximal strength, jump tests or isometric rate of force development for explosive strength, and objective measurements like ultrasound or MRI for muscle hypertrophy.
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis, systematic review
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 1090 participants across 43 studies
cohort study · 2025
Pamart et al. (2025) — Association between muscle strength gains and biventricular cardiac remodeling in response to high-intensity resistance training in healthy untrained males: a longitudinal study
What it measured
Association between muscle strength gains and biventricular cardiac remodeling.
How it measured it
Muscle strength: Con-Trex isokinetic dynamometer and field-based 1-RM tests; Cardiac remodeling: three-dimensional transthoracic echocardiography (3DTTE).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
systematic review · 2019
Pimenta et al. (2019) — BONE HEALTH, MUSCLE STRENGTH AND LEAN MASS: RELATIONSHIPS AND EXERCISE RECOMMENDATIONS
What it measured
Bone mineral content/density (BMC/BMD), muscle strength, body composition.
How it measured it
Laboratory tests (e.g., DXA for BMC/BMD), validated strength tests (e.g., 1RM), body composition analysis.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2022
Lundberg et al. (2022) — The Effects of Concurrent Aerobic and Strength Training on Muscle Fiber Hypertrophy: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
What it measured
Hypertrophy of type I and type II muscle fibers.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Worsened
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 300 participants across 15 studies
meta-analysis · 2023
Wang et al. (2023) — Effect of resistance training on local muscle endurance in middle-aged and older adults: A systematic review with meta-analysis and meta-regression.
What it measured
Local muscle endurance (LME)
How it measured it
Via maximal repetitions during an isotonic test
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review with meta-analysis
Heterogeneity, as stated
LIMITATIONS: Moderate heterogeneity and publication bias;
meta-analysis · 2016
Straight et al. (2016) — Effects of Resistance Training on Lower-Extremity Muscle Power in Middle-Aged and Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials
What it measured
Lower-extremity muscle power via leg press (LP) and knee extension (KE).
How it measured it
Quantified in watts, likely using a laboratory test or objective measurement tool.
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
meta-analysis · 2024
Radaelli et al. (2024) — Effects of Resistance Training Volume on Physical Function, Lean Body Mass and Lower-Body Muscle Hypertrophy and Strength in Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis of 151 Randomised Trials
What it measured
Physical function (fast walking speed, timed up and go, 6-min walking tests), lean body mass, lower-body muscle hypertrophy, lower-body muscle strength (knee extension and leg press 1-RM, isometric muscle strength, isokinetic torque).
How it measured it
Standardized tests (validated).
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
Improved
How it was read
read in full text
What the review says it includes
systematic review and meta-analysis
Studies and participants, as stated
N = 6306 participants across 151 studies
randomised controlled trial · 2019
Werner et al. (2019) — Effects of a 12-Week Resistance Training Program on Arterial Stiffness: A Randomized Controlled Trial
What it measured
Arterial stiffness indices
How it measured it
Validated measurements
Direction it states for the claim's outcome
No effect
Its conclusion, in its own words
“chronic resistance training does not appear to influence central arterial stiffness, regardless of training volume and load.”
How it was read
read in full text
Bone-Health Strength Program