Acute Static Stretching Before Strength and Power Efforts: What the Sources Studied
Reviews and trials of a static stretch performed immediately before a maximal strength, power or speed effort. The sources' conclusions are not yet recorded in this library, so this entry states no effect.
None, informational content.
- Persistent joint pain or sudden loss of range of motion, refer to a physician or physical therapist.
What the evidence says
The sources on this entry studied static stretching performed immediately before maximal strength, power and speed efforts. Six are syntheses: Warneke 2024 (meta-analysis, 48 studies), Kay 2012 (systematic review, 106 studies), Šimić 2013 (meta-analysis, 104 studies; 962 participants for maximal muscle strength, 195 for muscle power and 1072 for explosive muscular performance), Chaabène 2019 (systematic review), Behm 2016 (systematic review) and a second Warneke 2024 meta-analysis. Four are randomised trials: Blazevich 2018, Colosio 2020, Guo 2025 and Matta 2025. The sources' conclusions are not yet recorded in this library, so this entry states no effect, in either direction, on strength, power or speed.
- Static stretching always ruins performance, the deficit is small and mostly from long holds.
- Any pre-exercise stretch hurts you, short holds plus dynamic work minimize it.
- Pre-exercise static stretching causes large, lasting strength loss.
- Agreement
- Direction recorded for 0 of 10 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
- Authors
- Sources share authors: K. Warneke (first author of 2 sources).
What each source measured and concluded (10)
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = [not reported] participants across 48 studies
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = [not reported] participants across 106 studies
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- meta-analysis
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N = 962 participants for maximal muscle strength, 195 for muscle power, and 1072 for explosive muscular performance across 104 studies.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
- How it was read
- read in full text
Each source below is shown with its study design and a link to the original study, or, where it is not a completed research paper, with what kind of record it is; those are not counted. This is the audit trail.
Why do some records show a record type instead of a study design?
A study design is shown for a completed, peer-reviewed paper. A registered protocol, a preprint, a conference abstract, a referee report or a book chapter has not been through peer review as a finished paper, so it is labelled for what it is, and it is counted in no source count. Where a record could not be confirmed as a completed paper at all, it says so rather than guessing. They all stay in the list, and their DOI still resolves, because the count of what was screened is part of the audit trail.
- Protocol / registration A registered plan for a review or trial, not its results.
- Preprint Posted by its authors before peer review.
- Conference abstract A conference summary rather than a peer-reviewed paper.
- Peer-review report A referee's report on a paper, not the paper itself.
- Guideline / position stand A recommendation derived from evidence, which is a step further from the data than the evidence itself.
- Book chapter A chapter in a scholarly book rather than a journal paper.
- Type not recorded Our record does not say what kind of publication this is, so it is counted in no source count. That is a gap in our data, not a judgement about the research.