Combined Physical and Cognitive Programs: What the Reviews Compared
Reviews of multidomain programs: two-thirds of multidomain trials showed cognitive improvement (Castro 2023), programs combining cognitive training with physical exercise were reported as particularly effective (González 2025), and mind-body exercise, cognitive training and physical exercise showed positive effects against passive controls (Seok 2024).
What the evidence says
The sources are reviews and meta-analyses of multidomain programs, cognitive training, physical activity and digital technology in older adults. Castro 2023 (systematic review) reports two-thirds of multidomain studies (10 of them, 9,439 participants) showed improvement in cognition and five reported no improvement, and concludes that at-risk older adults benefit from multimodal lifestyle changes which may prevent or delay decline; González 2025 reports multimodal interventions combining cognitive training with physical exercise as particularly effective; Coley 2022 reports 19% of trials showed a clear beneficial effect, with a multidomain lifestyle intervention and antihypertensive treatment (which reduced dementia incidence by 50%) the two large trials with significant effects, and that many smaller trials were not designed or powered to detect long-term effects on dementia-relevant outcomes; Seok 2024 (network meta-analysis) reports positive effects against passive controls for mind-body exercise (SMD 1.384), cognitive training (1.269), non-invasive brain stimulation (1.242) and physical exercise (0.977), and concludes that non-pharmacological interventions may enhance global cognition; James 2024 reports medium- and long-term programs combining non-aerobic exercise with multi-domain cognitive interventions as “most effective for stimulating neuroplasticity and countering age-related decline”, with outcomes that may transfer to daily activities; Berardi 2025 (narrative review) reports that in mild cognitive impairment “multimodal approaches are superior” to single-domain strategies; Kramer 2007 (narrative review) reports physical activity enhances cognitive and brain function; Khalil 2025 reports greater walking amount and intensity associated with larger hippocampal volume; Engeroff 2018 reports moderate and vigorous leisure physical activity associated with executive function and memory but not attention or working memory; Navarro-Ramos 2025 reports positive effects of VR-based cognitive training on attention and executive function; Benge 2025 (meta-analysis) reports digital technology use associated with reduced risk of cognitive impairment (OR 0.42).
- Myth: Brain training alone is the way to protect cognition. Actually: González 2025 reports multimodal programs combining cognitive training with physical exercise as particularly effective, and Engeroff 2018 reports leisure physical activity associated with executive function and memory.
- Does not diagnose, treat, or cure any disease or injury
- Not a substitute for individualized medical or physical-therapy advice
- Results vary between individuals; no guaranteed outcome
- Agreement
- Direction recorded for 0 of 11 sources; not yet recorded for the rest.
- The claim's outcome
- Outcome not yet recorded
- Certainty
- No source states a certainty rating.
- How the sources were read
- Some sources are based on abstracts, not full texts.
What each source measured and concluded (11)
- What it measured
- Cognitive function.
- How it measured it
- Validated cognitive tests.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What it measured
- Improvements in executive functions, attention, and memory.
- How it measured it
- Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE) and other validated instruments.
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- Systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N=3202 participants across 12 studies
- What it measured
- Global cognition.
- How it measured it
- MMSE, MoCA, RBANS, CAMCOG, Mattis Dementia Rating Scale, ADAS-Cog (validated).
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- Meta-analysis of 61 RCTs
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N=not reported participants across 61 studies
- What it measured
- Hippocampal formation volume changes.
- How it measured it
- Objective measurements (e.g., accelerometers, activity trackers).
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- Systematic review of 12 studies
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N=12 studies
- What it measured
- Cognitive function.
- How it measured it
- Neuroimaging techniques (objective).
- How it was read
- read in full text
- What the review says it includes
- Systematic review of 1,060 studies
- Studies and participants, as stated
- N=1,060 studies; participants not reported
- What it measured
- Domain-specific cognitive function in old age
- How it was read
- screened only, not extracted
- What the review says it includes
- Systematic review of cross-sectional and longitudinal studies
- Studies and participants, as stated
- 23 studies included (9 cross-sectional, 14 longitudinal); from 14,294 articles screened
- What it measured
- Change in cognition following multidomain lifestyle intervention
- How it was read
- based on the abstract, not the full text
- What the review says it includes
- Systematic review (PRISMA)
- Studies and participants, as stated
- 15 studies (n=9,439 participants in the 10 studies showing improvement)
- What it measured
- Cognitive impairment and cognitive decline / dementia diagnosis in relation to digital technology use
- How it was read
- based on the abstract, not the full text
- What the review says it includes
- Meta-analysis and systematic review
- Studies and participants, as stated
- 136 papers met inclusion; 57 in meta-analysis; 411,430 adults
- What it measured
- Influence of physical activity/exercise on cognition, brain function and brain structure
- How it was read
- screened only, not extracted
- What it measured
- Cognitive decline and quality of life
- How it was read
- screened only, not extracted
- What it measured
- Cognitive decline, brain plasticity (MRI), and activities of daily living
- How it was read
- screened only, not extracted
- What the review says it includes
- Scoping review (PRISMA-ScR) of randomized controlled trials
- Studies and participants, as stated
- 70 studies included
Every source below is shown with its study design and links to the original study. This is the audit trail.
“Abstract only” means the review read that paper’s abstract, not its full text; “screened only” means it was included at re-screening and not extracted. Both stay in the trail with their DOI, because how a source was read is part of the audit.